Chevron Left
Voltar para Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential da instituição Universidade McMaster

4.8
estrelas
9,360 classificações
2,719 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Melhores avaliações

EC

Aug 27, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I am 64-years-old and this course taught me that you can learn anything new no matter what age you are. I am now broadening my passions and learning is a lot more fun.

LV

May 01, 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

Filtrar por:

226 — 250 de 2,705 Avaliações para o Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

por Lisardo P G

May 07, 2017

Another outstanding MOOC by Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Terrence Sejnowski. Very instructive, motivating and inspirational. The course is mainly composed by catchy videos that are succinct, really funny, and in most cases, helpful and revealing. The tasks to be done are easy and they do not take too much time to be completed.

Definitely recommended.

por Jorge B C

Jul 13, 2020

Applause, for making this inspirational MOOC to everyone. This made my life change my point of view from different perspectives and I am so happy that one by one, I am now discovering the answers to my questions in life. I can't wait to be a mentor of someone or some people that will also be inspired like me. Kudos to these instructors! #Mindshift

por Vidhi V

Aug 31, 2020

Mindshift is one of the best MOOCs I have attended and I am glad that I chose this apart from many others as this has given me a completely new perspective to whole new world of possibilities. I must congratulate Barbara for brilliant presentation and be able to keep the learner hooked on the MOOC. There was no reason for not completing this one!

por Fiona R

Oct 30, 2017

This course is really appropriate for all levels of learners. I feel it helps to have some business experience to appreciate the context Barb provides around changing careers, but it would certainly be excellent exposure for those early or later in their careers as well. Superb organization and execution. Not a minute wasted. Highly recommend.

por Felicia V

Jul 30, 2017

A suitable MOOC for everyone served in bite size pieces. All the materials are taught in a metaphor and sometimes pictures, which makes it easier to grasp. Definitely one of the best MOOCs of all time and I don't regret any second from learning this. I never thought 4 weeks of taking this course would broaden my perspectives on how to see things.

por Rocío G R P

Aug 07, 2020

Esté es un curso fuera de serie, de verdad se aprenden aspectos que por mucho tiempo los tenemos como prejuicios y acá nos hacen ver que las cosas no son como la pensábamos, el aceptar que no tener una memoria privilegiada puede ser una gran ventaja cambia totalmente el panorama de querer aprender, es un excelente curso y altamente recomendable.

por nishi t

Aug 06, 2020

I positively loved this course. It has helped me introspect, reduced my anxiety and made me a happier person. Concepts of pomodoro, diffused thinking, mastering pie & T of skills, value of persistence with flexibility have imbibed in me a hunger for lifelong learning. It has given me skills to become a good mentor and delivering professional.

por KETAN B

May 25, 2020

Course is crafted in an amazing and addicting manner.It is the course that one should necessarily take to develop one's personality. Taught in such a wonderful manner that even dozens of words won't do justice how well this course is organised and how interesting it has been made with the help of excellent illustrations, analogies and metaphors

por Niklas K

Mar 22, 2020

After "Learning how to learn" it was impossible to have a better MOOC in the same field. It is a great course - especially for people who are not learning right now or who wants to improve his/her learning style/skills.

And obviously Barb and Terry are awesome. Watch 30 sec of the first video and you will fall in love with their teaching style.

por Devina I C

Jun 24, 2020

Lots of useful and practical knowledge I can learn from this course related to how we learn, develop capabilities, and unlock potentials. If I may suggest, it'd helpful not to only use videos as the medium but to explore different formats like articles or podcasts to complement the materials. Overall, it's an interesting and insightful course!

por Luann T

Apr 02, 2019

I feel much more confident in my ability to become a better learner, better student, and better person overall, and that is pretty amazing. It will take practice to put these new tools into effect, but I have several MOOCs I'm planning to sign up for that will give me plenty of practice time toward perfection. I highly recommend this course.

por TAREK

Apr 12, 2020

Its my first e-learning experience and which see it exceptional and very beneficial. Many thanks for all of who contributed and worked hard to make this course a successful one specially for those who work behind the scenes. I'm happy and cheerful to have this awesome course added to my achievements. Special thanks to Barb and Terry - Tarek

por Thales P

Oct 28, 2017

Very good course. The course is very well presented, engaged and memorable content that I expect it will serve me well my future career and MOOC learning. The techniques applied by presenters are very good and help keep attention on the course.

It's certainly a motivation for taking more MOOC's and pursuing a path for continual improvement.

por George E K

May 20, 2020

First of all, I want to thank Barb Oakley, Terry Sejnowski and the entire team for this good work done. This is my best MOOC. My learning style has change from passive leaner to an active leaner. I am able to think more broadly and I am excited to learn more. This is my first MOOC I have completed because it was very good and interesting.

por Geraldine R

May 06, 2020

I am glad to have taken this course as this was a wonderful supplement to all that I have learned in Learning How to Learn. The content remains comprehensive yet easy and quick to digest as well as apply in my own life. I truly enjoyed the learning process, noted the improved editing, and appreciated the memory tips as well as interviews.

por Vivekanandan S

Feb 17, 2019

I really feel good and having more broad mind.It introduced life long lessons and the many other things for my career.It also helped me to Broaden my passion , think about "What is the Mission" , as the mam Rightly resembles the true meaning fro resilient and courage for practicing MIND-SHIFT .Thank you and all the best for your journey .

por Zai E

Jul 09, 2017

I got so many ideas from this course. Also I developed a better understand on learning and how our minds work. I had already taken Learning How to Learn and this was a wonderful follow up course. I highly recommend this course to people who want to learn something new, want to make a shift in their career, and to teachers/future teachers.

por Kalpesh G

Mar 31, 2020

It is a good course which provides us with the tools and the resources which can aid us while we are planning for a Mindshift i.e some change in thought, or way of doing things or work field.

I would like to thanks Miss Barb Oakley, Mr Terry Sejnowski and the entire Mideshift team to come up with such a unique idea to share to the world.

por Sergey K

Apr 08, 2018

At first sight, course may look simple. The teachers have simple and funny manner explaining the material. Although, behind the curtains of simplicity there are deep topics presented related to learning and finding your own way in current age of information. Everything comes with Barb's personal touch. Thank you. I found it very useful!

por Samiur R

May 25, 2017

This course is very well designed. The instructors are skilled. This course will help anyone who is willing to learn. By doing this course both professionals as well as students can get the help necessary to be successful in their respective field. I enjoyed this course and recommend everyone to do it before doing any other MOOC course.

por Valentina J N

Jul 06, 2020

This course was an eye-opener in many ways. Specially in good ways. Very happy to encounter with this life changing course. I changed my perspectives and I want to apply everything I learned here in my daily life.

Want to congratulate everyone that worked in this MOOC. It was funny and easy to comprehend and learn. Thank you very much.

por Axel J B B

Jun 17, 2020

I liked the course as it helps you develop better and more productive habits and noticing how we should approach the ever-changing society we live in. It also invites us to embrace change by never stopping to learn and acquiring new skills, even in fields that we are not experts on, or that we feel we may have not so much talent in.

por Edoardo C

Jun 25, 2020

Some very positive lessons here. Perhaps contradicting - somewhat - what you would expect from Jack Ma bearing in mind his considerations on how to be successful in your 20s, 30s, 40s and beyond (albeit the financial benefit of learning are not discussed in the course). A great course for the young as well as the "not too young".

por jonah r

Mar 05, 2020

amazing course, interesting, thorough, has great little quizzes that help you understand the key points of the study. in this course there is more than meets the eye, because learning how to change your mindset isn't something you'll hear about till you're 35 or so. so if you've come across this course, give it a try. it's worth it

por George P

Mar 29, 2019

Great follow-up to the Learning How to Learn course. I thought the LHTL course provided more nuts and bolts regarding how to develop skills/practices to learn more effectively, while this course focused more on navigating external challenges to learning and making the best of available learning resources, especially online courses.