Chevron Left
Voltar para Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential da instituição Universidade McMaster

4.8
3,321 classificações
890 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Melhores avaliações

TM

Feb 12, 2018

I really enjoyed the first course, Learn 2Learn. The female professor is great but the boring old guy should have been kicked out of the course, as he do not provide anything of value for the course.

SN

Jan 18, 2018

Thank you Barbara. It was really enjoyable trip with you in this course. I have found many new learning techniques. Your positive behavior was very encouraging for me to begin a new list of my life!

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

por Sébastien L

Mar 06, 2019

This course is a great follow-up to "Learning How to Learn". It is less focused on practical advice and more on "life advice". On the practical side, I found memory tricks presented by Nelson Dellis to be very useful. All the theory behind how procrastination works was also enlightening. I liked very much the interview with entrepreneur Adam Khoo who gave profound advice and served as a great example of someone who can start from nothing and learn to reach the highest level. All the advice given about career was spot on: general competence vs selective ignorance; read, read and read again to keep shining in your field; broaden your passions; get a mentor... Everything is applicable and motivating. Well done!

por Aleksandar J

Jan 24, 2019

Great course, I feel like there's been a lot of thought about making it, and the ideas are represented in a very clear fashion, in a easily digestible manner. The one thing I would turn down a knotch is animation within videos. The instructors even mention this at one point, that having an instructor look like he/she is about to jump at you should activate the same neural pathways that detect danger, so the goal is to have the learner activated more. To me, this approach was very aggressive at some points and made me feel irritated, hence the -1 star.

por Deleted A

Jul 02, 2018

In general, this was a fascinating course that debunked many of the beliefs I had about learning. I found Professor Oakley's personal anecdotes about switching careers from languages to engineering to be inspiring, since I'm making the same jump. All of the lectures were very high-level, but there were links to more in-depth research papers in the resources section, which was a nice balance. That being said, I think this course could be reduced to two weeks, instead of four. The lectures started to drag towards the end. Certain segments of Week 4 felt more like advertisements for the course than lectures. Other than that, I'd like to see more interviews with career changers and expert learners. The concepts were interesting, but having practical advice from people who have actually changed their mindset and learning habits would be more beneficial.

por José R S

Jun 08, 2018

This course is just fine if you want to spend some relaxed time watching some videos or listening to some general advice on career choice and how to manage your learning process and general life.It's quite easy to pass the assessments and doesn't have much difficulty.I must say, as well, that the teacher Barbara Oakley is pretty nice and that she seems to love what she does and does a great job at presenting the lessons and you feel at ease and very comfortable listening to her, which is always welcome.

por Cecile H

Mar 18, 2018

​‎I expected that I could learn something new from this course, but I found that there is just the same things taught in this course that there is in 'MOOC Learning how to learn'. As Prof. Oakley mentioned, you shouldn't learn something you've understood. It's a bad thing called "overlearning" since it would make me think that I can resolve any problem by what this course taught, but it isn't the case.

por Joshua J

Jun 25, 2019

This course is very inspiring and helpful to anybody who are in a career rut and have been struggling how to continue their career life. This course gave me many new insights on what to do next while in a boring career for 17 years and "jump-starts" again my motivation to learn new things and not to limit myself within my job specialization. The professors were very encouraging and explained the course ideas in a very simple but effective way. I would recommend this to anybody who has a passion on learning and to anybody who want to know some new insights to get them motivated to explore new things beyond their current job.

por Yvonne C

Jun 22, 2019

Excellent course! The central points of this course are very clear, logic and helpful.

por ruihuang

Jun 20, 2019

Useful and beautifully organized.

por Dmytro I

Jun 19, 2019

It's hard to actually review this course because topics covered are very wildly all over the place and on different levels of knowledge. Correct way to handle this course would be to actually divide this course into two - first two weeks that should be called "Advanced learning" and week 3 and 4, that are more about encouraging people to change their lives. And, I believe, these are two totally different topics...

For anyone that wants to learn how to learn Week 2 is a total and absolute MUST listen. Several times...

Weeks 3 and 4 are only for people that wants to change their work life or/and level of work happiness. Important topic, no doubt about it, but to more limited number of people.

So if you enjoyed "Leaning how to learn" - you'll find Week 1 and 2 very useful. Otherwise check this course only if you consider changing you profession or way of work life.

Oh, and too few videos from Dr. Sejnowski. His videos in "Leaning how to learn" were a great contrast to easy-going and fun videos from Dr. Oakley - and for me it really helped to keep my focus on the MOOC.

por John G

Jun 19, 2019

Great

por Yudhidya W

Jun 18, 2019

An excellent MOOC to take. This course gave me insights to trick with problems I am dealing with. Well done.

por Naraphakrasmi B

Jun 17, 2019

It is good for everyone who start online learning . There are a lot of tricks that can help you get more effective learning.

por mukesh k c

Jun 13, 2019

Exceptionally Good

por Ana B

Jun 12, 2019

This MOOC is great and gives you many insights on how to learn, broaden your passions and make career changes. The videos are fun and the teachers play with metaphors to help the materials stick.

por Diego J M R

Jun 12, 2019

Muy provechoso "Cambio de mentalidad" !!!!!!!

por Annanette

Jun 11, 2019

Great course - gave me so much new insight

por krisli h

Jun 10, 2019

While this course doesn't have as many specific aids to the process of learning new skills, it is excellent at showing why broad lifelong learning is a practice that enhances your life.

por Minesh K

Jun 09, 2019

It's one of the best courses I can ever take.

por Tracy-lee

Jun 06, 2019

Excellent course. Very useful techniques shared and presented in a simple but effective manner. Enjoyed the discussion forums.

por Akta S

Jun 05, 2019

great work on memory tips , real life examples.

por Ali W H

Jun 04, 2019

From the first week you will start to know amazing new things and consider change in your way of learning.

por Ahasanul B H

Jun 01, 2019

Josh Ekta Course. Thank you McMaster University Team and Coursera.

por David C

May 30, 2019

Excellent first MOOC!

por Raquel G

May 25, 2019

Lecciones cortas y muy fáciles de comprender.Muy recomendable

por Mike B

May 22, 2019

Packed full of insights and techniques about ways to approach learning and change in your life, both personally and professionally. Fun and easy to follow.