Chevron Left
Voltar para Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential da instituição Universidade McMaster

4.8
estrelas
6,831 classificações
1,934 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Melhores avaliações

LV

May 01, 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

TM

Feb 12, 2018

I really enjoyed the first course, Learn 2Learn. The female professor is great but the boring old guy should have been kicked out of the course, as he do not provide anything of value for the course.

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

por SJ O

Sep 25, 2017

The course is really helpful and applicable to real life. Also I'd like to give a big praise to Professor Oakley. I was deeply impressed by her enthusiasm, professionalism, and confidence in what she teaches. Also, I appreciated she used very easy English for learners like me whose mother tongue is not English. Thank you.

por Komal S

Apr 29, 2020

Enrolling in the Mindshift course was one of the best decisions I ever made. I have gained so much knowledge from this course as well as highly pleased with the course content, instructors and workload. The course has impacted me in a positive way and will help anyone who is looking for a positive change in there life!!!

por Argenis Á

May 31, 2018

Awesome course it helps you to understand your brain how it works and how to approach studies habits also something that I loved and is really useful for me 1- How to take advantage of Procrastination 2- If you are or feel a slow learner that is not bad at all. So I encourage you to do this course and don't stop learning

por Vikas K

May 08, 2020

This course have given me a lot of insights about the benefits of being a slow learner, having a bad memory, ways to fight Procrastination, the science behind mind-shifting and ways to climb up the learning ladder in a more efficient manner with the knowledge of hurdles which will eventually come on the way to success.

por Albert K

Mar 13, 2018

Mindshift is a great course. The great benefit is that complex knowledge on brain and learning is outstandingly explained in a way that is simple and intelligible. It helped me a lot to find out more about and foster my own learning. The course is like a greenhouse where dialogue and development are cultivated so w

por Dorian O

Sep 20, 2017

It is the best MOOC I ever have taken. I learned a lot from Barbara Oakley. I really appreciate her great and excellent gift she gave us. I think is a very important course for everybody and it should be taught from schools. In a very concise way the course gives all the tools you need to improve our learning process.

por Weeyaa V

Apr 29, 2020

Mindshift MOOC is la ife-changer. It was able to open my eyes to see that what I saw as potentially bad, be it styles of learning to simple attitudes or behaviors can actually be reversed and in the end be opportunities for bringing about something good not just in my learning or understanding but general ly in life.

por Eric M

May 09, 2020

Anyone who is diving into online learning or MOOCs should take this course first. It's well structured - enough content without being overwhelming and very relevant to self-guided learning. I started using the lessons from Mindshift as I was taking the course and it helped me better learn and retain the information.

por Iván E

Jan 22, 2020

This course was a great follow up for "Learning how to Learn". Barbara Oakley is a great instructor. This course gives you valuable insights on how we should broaden our passions, rather than blindly follow them. Also, how career setbacks can mean new opportunities and how to control our emotions by labeling them.

por Meenal S D

Apr 25, 2020

Mind-shift is an excellent life learning message for everyone, at any age, any stage, any time, from any profession. The mental tricks including reframing are very useful. Superb course content, interesting videos and effective execution in her ever- charming style by Barbara and Terry.

Thank you from my heart.

por Manish D

Sep 03, 2017

Excellent summary about learning throughout one's lifecourse. I personally was already familiar with most of the concepts presented, but enjoyed the course very much nonetheless. The instructors are generally engaging and do a commendable job of bringing the latest research together in an easy-to-digest format.

por Morelca G

Aug 10, 2017

This course was so amazing that I found time to complete it in one week. I look forward to buying the book and looking into further reading. A complete course that motivates you and really gets you hooked on learning more. I've found many ways to learn in a way that is more useful to me, so I am very grateful.

por Mainak S

Jun 04, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course and got many positives. Particularly, I am re-convinced about the benefits of life long learning and the possibility to embrace changes any time in life. Mind shft is possible! Gratitude to Barbara and Terrence and everyone who helped in preparing this MOOC, not the least Phil!

por Valerie G

Oct 15, 2019

This course provides a fun and breezy approach to learning how the mind works and how we respond to various environmental factors when it comes to learning. It has encouraged me a lot in my journey to learn and I dare say that I have improved my ability to learn after applying the principles of this course!

por Kadambari I

Apr 10, 2020

Dr. Barbara is a fantastic trainer! She presents concepts in a fun & engaging manner. This course truly brings out some mindset shifting learning that I'm confident will stick with me for a long time. I thoroughly enjoyed it and finished all lessons in 2 days. Thank you for sharing this experience with us!

por Margarita B

Apr 01, 2020

This is a course that encourages one to look at things differently, shift one's thinking and look at the choices one has been making. It is a valuable course to take as it touches upon a lot of areas that are important in learning and self improvement, and does it in a way that is easy and understandable.

por Prakash M S

Feb 21, 2019

I had a passion for learning. And I try to read and learn anything and everything. As a result I am not 'top-expert' in any particular topic. But this course reassured me that what I do is good for my mental health and everyone should keep learning for knowledge and skill irrespective of their own age.

por Juan D

Feb 17, 2018

Excelente curso, entrega la motivación necesaria con excelentes herramientas para seguir el camino del aprendizaje, de una manera didáctica y entretenida, los profesores, Barbara y Terry, son amigables y su elocuencia hace más fácil comprender el contenido. Sin dudas, deberían cursarlo todas las personas.

por Ma. J L B

Apr 03, 2020

This course is very interesting and helpful. It inspires me to learn more and discover my hidden potentials through mindshift and breakthrough obstacles. In also opens my mind that lifelong learning is really important in our changing environment. Learning is indeed fun, and this course really proves it.

por Felix M

Dec 30, 2019

Cute and entertaining course with many useful bits of knowledge. The course isn't difficult and can be seen as a nice alternative to wasting your time watching Netflix. As the teachers would say: use this course to get your brain into a diffused thinking mode while you are recovering from harder classes.

por Mark K

May 27, 2018

I have learned new things and reinforced some I already knew. I love teaching and learning and this course helps solidify both. This MOOC will encourage you to continue your lifelong learning. Everyone should take this course; teachers, students both young and old, whether for career or self-interest.

por Felipe N

May 08, 2017

This MOOC is wonderfully perfect. I'm putting everything I've learned into the previous MOOC "Learning to Learn" into practice and now with that course I've finalized for have new ideas and thoughts to add into my life and into my professional career. Thank you very much for giving me this opportunity: D

por Sadrina Y

Nov 13, 2019

As a trainer and lifelong learner, I have been a fan of the duo since Learning how to Learn. This course helps keep me in check on why we should give a damn about how we present material to catalyze learning in people we teach. A lot of the subject matter was relevant and her techniques were helpful!

por Santos H

Jun 20, 2017

Amazing course, if you have taken Barbara Oakey's previous course Learning How to Learn and enjoyed it, you will enjoy this one, too. Barbara breaks down many of problems of today and the future with practical and well supported advice that will serve you well for years to come in the information age.

por Gabriella F

Apr 17, 2020

Amazing course and opportunity to get fascinated about learning. I strongly believe this course can change lives in a significant and positive way. Barb is a true mentor, and her life story is inspiring in many ways. Whatever your moment or stage in life is right now, I encourage you to hop on board.