Chevron Left
Voltar para Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential da instituição Universidade McMaster

4.8
estrelas
6,574 classificações
1,857 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Melhores avaliações

LV

May 01, 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

TM

Feb 12, 2018

I really enjoyed the first course, Learn 2Learn. The female professor is great but the boring old guy should have been kicked out of the course, as he do not provide anything of value for the course.

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

por Ana K d C S d L

Sep 25, 2017

Excellent, well researched ,engaging, action oriented Mooc. It has the right balance of information, good quiality videos, well thought out quizzes and helpful activities to promote long term learning and attitude change. Great for starting a career change , broadening your horizon or starting a new learning lifestyle. Thank you very much, Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski!

por Suporn P

Apr 27, 2020

This is the first MOOC course that engaged me throughout the entire journey and I was able to complete the course within a week. The instructor introduces interesting concepts that are useful for breaking through obstacles in learning, uses simple words to explain complex concepts, and reiterates the concepts with small quiz throughout the course. Highly recommended.

por Nicole M

Jul 08, 2017

I LOVED this course. Each week I learned something new. The insights and additional resources help jumpstart my motivation. The course started at an ideal point in my learning. Since taking the course I have seen improvement in my study habits and I have the tools and resources for when my motivation is at a low point. I can't wait to see a continuation for Mindshift

por Stephen G

Jun 05, 2017

Another well presented MOOC by Barb. It exposes and breaks down learning difficulties that are personal, common and not generally given definitive answers and simplifies responses that capture complex concepts.

If you are looking to take on a MOOC on a foreign subject or subject that you are not that passionate about (yet), this would be a good MOOC to take first.

por Sarah s

Apr 14, 2020

one of the best courses i have ever taken

makes your mind blow !!

highly recommended

. . . . . . . . .. . .. . .. . . .. . .. . . . . . . .... .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . .. . . .. . .. .. . .. . . .. . . . .. . . .. . . . .. .. . . . . . . .. . . . . . .. . . . .. . . . ... . . ... . ... . . .. . . .. . . .. . . .. . . . . .. . . .. . . . .. .

por Christopher G

Apr 29, 2020

Loved this MOOC. Second best after Learning How to Learn (which is the first part in this series). If you liked/loved that MOOC, you will love this MOOC too. It builds on concepts established in that one and adds a little bit more. I have experienced a mindshift while taking this course and you will too as long as you are paying attention and have an open mind!

por Anel A

May 01, 2017

Barbara and her team are amazing. I can relate so much to many examples given in this course from how we can feel when learning something new to how we can refrain a stressful feeling to keep going with a positive learning experience. I highly recommend this course to gain confidence in our abilities and keep our brains fresh to learn how to learn new skills.

por Nikhil N P

Aug 24, 2019

This course and its predecessor (LHTL) teaches one, invaluable techniques to improve learning and remember for a longer duration and be more creative. These techniques can be implemented in our daily lives very easily and makes us more confident and helps us to overcome our fears and sense of inadequacy due to poor memory retention or poor learning technique.

por Gabriel T

Dec 18, 2017

It's been a remarkable gain to find out I was already using some of the concepts presented here for a long time without knowing, and of course to discover some of the new, complementary once. I find this course to be very effective on your thinking behavior , especially if it is done in completion to their related MOOC : Learning How to Learn. Good Job guys.

por Adilvane

Sep 20, 2017

This class was fantastic for my kids and me. Some of the videos I had to call my daughter (7th grade) to watch and take notes on how to better knowledge received in class and online. I also had the opportunity to take some of the tips to my nephew, he is a senior high school and doing some online classes, and some of the tips from Barbara were just amazing.

por Aimee R

Apr 05, 2020

Great information! The material in this course is fairly easy to digest, but you really have to think about where you are in your life and your own situation to get the most from the lessons. I really enjoyed the more-scientific lectures about the functions of the brain and how to maximize your memory. This definitely gave me a new perspective on learning!

por Miriam R B

May 08, 2020

Thank you so much to our dearest teachers and also to the people behind this great MOOC! This is really helpful and amazing! Most of all, learnings are very useful in real life but ofcourse we must take an action and use our learnings. As said if you don't use it, you'll lose it. Happy to take the opportunity of learning these online courses. God bless.

por Alan M

Apr 30, 2020

I found this course to be inspiring and also consolidating what I already knew or already practised. It also reminded me of techniques I had forgotten. I found this presentation style felt "light weight" and didn't seem to be introducing a lot of new material, but after completing it, I could see that I had remembered and practised a great deal. Thanks.

por Ching M J M (

May 07, 2020

Amazing course with a lot of creative, fun and helpful ways in helping learners to better understand course concepts! It teaches a lot of interesting insights that can further educate learners, as well as boosting their confidence! Fantastic usage of illustrations and techniques in helping learners in their study. Great instructors with sense of humor!

por Sripooja M

Feb 20, 2019

Learning how to learn has a great impact on the way I think, I did not want the course to end. When I saw that Mindshift is an add on to LHTL I was very happy as wanted to learn and understand more. LHTL, Mindshift are two great courses! I enjoyed learning lot of intriguing stuff. Thanks to the content makers for providing such well curated content :)

por Lisardo P G

May 07, 2017

Another outstanding MOOC by Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Terrence Sejnowski. Very instructive, motivating and inspirational. The course is mainly composed by catchy videos that are succinct, really funny, and in most cases, helpful and revealing. The tasks to be done are easy and they do not take too much time to be completed.

Definitely recommended.

por Fiona R

Oct 30, 2017

This course is really appropriate for all levels of learners. I feel it helps to have some business experience to appreciate the context Barb provides around changing careers, but it would certainly be excellent exposure for those early or later in their careers as well. Superb organization and execution. Not a minute wasted. Highly recommend.

por Felicia V

Jul 30, 2017

A suitable MOOC for everyone served in bite size pieces. All the materials are taught in a metaphor and sometimes pictures, which makes it easier to grasp. Definitely one of the best MOOCs of all time and I don't regret any second from learning this. I never thought 4 weeks of taking this course would broaden my perspectives on how to see things.

por KETAN B

May 25, 2020

Course is crafted in an amazing and addicting manner.It is the course that one should necessarily take to develop one's personality. Taught in such a wonderful manner that even dozens of words won't do justice how well this course is organised and how interesting it has been made with the help of excellent illustrations, analogies and metaphors

por Niklas K

Mar 22, 2020

After "Learning how to learn" it was impossible to have a better MOOC in the same field. It is a great course - especially for people who are not learning right now or who wants to improve his/her learning style/skills.

And obviously Barb and Terry are awesome. Watch 30 sec of the first video and you will fall in love with their teaching style.

por Luann T

Apr 02, 2019

I feel much more confident in my ability to become a better learner, better student, and better person overall, and that is pretty amazing. It will take practice to put these new tools into effect, but I have several MOOCs I'm planning to sign up for that will give me plenty of practice time toward perfection. I highly recommend this course.

por TAREK

Apr 12, 2020

Its my first e-learning experience and which see it exceptional and very beneficial. Many thanks for all of who contributed and worked hard to make this course a successful one specially for those who work behind the scenes. I'm happy and cheerful to have this awesome course added to my achievements. Special thanks to Barb and Terry - Tarek

por Thales P

Oct 28, 2017

Very good course. The course is very well presented, engaged and memorable content that I expect it will serve me well my future career and MOOC learning. The techniques applied by presenters are very good and help keep attention on the course.

It's certainly a motivation for taking more MOOC's and pursuing a path for continual improvement.

por George E K

May 20, 2020

First of all, I want to thank Barb Oakley, Terry Sejnowski and the entire team for this good work done. This is my best MOOC. My learning style has change from passive leaner to an active leaner. I am able to think more broadly and I am excited to learn more. This is my first MOOC I have completed because it was very good and interesting.

por Geraldine R

May 06, 2020

I am glad to have taken this course as this was a wonderful supplement to all that I have learned in Learning How to Learn. The content remains comprehensive yet easy and quick to digest as well as apply in my own life. I truly enjoyed the learning process, noted the improved editing, and appreciated the memory tips as well as interviews.