Chevron Left
Voltar para Emoção e Cognição Canina

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Emoção e Cognição Canina da instituição Universidade Duke

4.7
estrelas
3,458 classificações
1,057 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Dog Emotion and Cognition will introduce you to the exciting new study of dog psychology, what the latest discoveries tell us about how dogs think and feel about us, and how we can use this new knowledge to further strengthen our relationship with our best friends....

Melhores avaliações

LT

Aug 04, 2019

Great course with a lot of new information, not just about dogs but even domestication of other species, including humans. The predictability of aggression in humans would be an interesting next topic

RR

May 20, 2020

This course was very informative and interesting. Even people without dogs as pets and having an interest towards pets can take up this course. By doing so, we get to understand ourselves better.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 1,047 Avaliações para o Emoção e Cognição Canina

por Tina V

May 01, 2020

I have been working with rescue and shelter dogs for the last 8 years. This course was so very insightful. Sometimes we think that the dog is difficult to work with and not a good learner, but perhaps the dog is thinking differently than we expect them to. I will assess situations differently now. I have also enjoyed working with my own adopted pup within the Dognition games. Thank you!

por Lindsey W

May 13, 2020

This course was a lot of fun. I was sad when it was over. I wish there were more courses in this topic. I had read Brian Hare's book, The Genius of Dogs, a couple years ago and wanted to explore more about canine cognition. This course reviews many ideas in his book with some additional topics. I would highly recommend reading his book for more details on the experiments and researchers.

por María G G

May 06, 2020

Un curso muy interesante. Entiendo que tiene la finalidad de presentar la metodología y el programa que presenta el libro y me siento muy agradecida de que haya sido ofreciendo esta propuesta didáctica realmente enriquecedora. Eso denota gran profesionalidad y ética en las personas que lo han organizado.

Enhorabuena! Participaré en el programa y buscaré el libro segurísimo.

Abrazos!

por Onkar S

Jan 22, 2017

While very canine in its specialization, the course keeps one aware of similarities we share with most sentient beings and marvel at forces and decisions of countless of our ancestors have taken to make us the species we are and also make us aware of the responsibilities towards our plant which provided te perfect conditions and others who share our home. Thank you for your work.

por Scott A

Jun 08, 2020

I absolutely loved it. I found Brian Hare's enthusiasm infectious. I loved the background to evolution and the comparative studies with different animals. As someone who has worked as a dog trainer for a number of years, this course has been like a software update for my brain. Now I need to figure out how to apply what I have learned for the better of the dogs that I meet.

por Meenakshi S

Jan 23, 2017

This course was not only absolutely fascinating, it gave me a scientific perspective that I had not previously acquired throughout the rest of my education, training and experience as a professional dog trainer. I now always consider and apply the principles of cognition to my evaluation, training and behavior modification of dogs. I look forward to the future of this research.

por Joanne N

Aug 13, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, and Dr. Hare's lectures were very informative and interesting. The course was well-organized and paced nicely. I did buy the text even though it was not required, and I was very glad that I did because it is very well-written and filled with great information. I would highly recommend this course to others. Thank you for offering it.

por Kerlley d S B

Jan 15, 2019

Estou gostando bastante do curso, tem muitas informações importantes que irão me auxiliar bastante no meu trabalho com cães.

Eu só gostaria que tivesse esse curso também em forma de pós-graduação (especialização).

Obrigada Duke University e Coursera por me darem essa bolsa e esse maravilhoso curso sobre os nossos queridos e amados cães!

Deus abençoe todos vocês!

por Vaishni S

Jun 23, 2020

This was a fun class to complete over the summer and especially when stay at home orders were in place. I have a dog so it was interesting how I could almost figure out what goes on in his head when doing certain activities. The quizzes were short and easy to follow along. They were also extremely helpful when wanting to add more information to your notes!

por Nicole G

Sep 15, 2015

This is a great class so far. I am enjoying taking a new look at dogs. It has been especially interesting looking at my dogs in a new way and applying what I have learned. I have found the incorporation of real life cognition experiments with apes and foxes a very interesting part of the course. I hope to be able to take more classes from Duke University.

por Hanno H

Jan 26, 2017

This course is interesting and easy to follow. I was aware of his work through some of the articles he mentions throughout the course and would especially suggest this course as potentially interesting to people who have been reading some of the scientific literature (including Dr. Hare's publications). Well done, I would take a follow up course any time.

por Marco A

Dec 21, 2015

Very good course,

it gives an overview on some important aspects of dog (and human) evolution and cognition. Important work is going on at Duke University at the Dog Cognition Lab.

Dr. Hare is a very inspired person and scientist and his willing to share and go further in research and understanding about humans and canines is involving.

Highly recommended

.

por Amanda T

Jun 02, 2016

I am an ameteur dog trainer and this helped me out considerably in ways I can improve my interactions with my own dogs to make my training sessions be more productive. I'll be raising a litter of puppies soon and am looking forward to watching them grow and develop their own cognitive profiles so that I can make sure they all go to the best fit homes.

por Kelly H

Jul 29, 2019

Wonderful introductory course to dog emotion and cognition. Dr. Hare was a wonderful teacher, explaining challenging concepts in a very approachable way. Many experiments are references, as well as real world practices making the data and science approachable. Dr. Hare also puts much of the principals we're taught into action by the end of the class.

por Richard N

Feb 05, 2020

Enjoyed the lecture and content of the course. I learned a great deal as well as helped confirm what I already knew. Really liked the comparison with other species including humans. Animal behavior has been my passion. I was fortunate to have worked with Dian Fossey in 1974 at Karisoke Research Center studying the behavior of mountain gorillas.

por Goh C H

Aug 17, 2020

I learnt a lot about dogs and other animals. Very fruitful learning experience. Dr. Hare provided a lot of useful information supported with data from Dognition. I also have a better understanding of myself and how I should train my dog in the future. Course material is just about right, the quiz reinforced what was being said during the video.

por Gary F

Jan 26, 2019

Course was very informative, well presented, and covered a lot of topics with detailed information which creates new ideas for ways of training that use their own higher abilities of learning. Course can help trainers understand what they already know, one method does not work on all dogs by demonstrating that dogs learn in many different ways.

por Lucia H

Jul 17, 2020

I learned a lot in this class. Now I understand what my dog is capable of doing. I might have set unreasonable expectations on my dog before I took this class. My dog has a Dognition profile. This class also helps me understand her profile better and understand the reason behind each games. Thank you, Dr. Hare and the Duke team.

por James G

Sep 20, 2016

I love, love, love this course. Recommend it for any dog lover or those interested in how dogs think and our utterly unique relationship with them. In my years of college and online classes, this is the most interesting course I have ever taken. Highly recommend the book too. I couldn't put it down. Dr. Hare does an amazing job.

por Tyler B

Oct 02, 2016

Absolutely a great course! It was a bit strong on the advertising in the beginning but after the first few lectures this significantly decreased. Dr. Hare is one of the leading researchers in dog cognition, and he also goes into a the cognition of a number of other animals. It was a very interesting course and I highly recommend it.

por Jana R B

Aug 16, 2016

This is a GREAT course and complements my B.A. in Human Psychology. I've fostered dogs for decades and have always wanted to take some classes to learn more about dog psychology. Your professors and knowledge base are of incredible assistance, and I appreciate this opportunity to get certified and add this to my resume'. Thank you!

por Joanne F

Oct 10, 2019

This was a fabulous course. I do diagnostic testing with young autistic children and their testing is very similar to some of these tests. I'm familiar with much of the primate research but this body of knowledge was new and exciting for me. I am also a dog owner, so it was interesting in that sense too! thanks for a great course.

por Marie-Christine B

Sep 27, 2017

Enseignement top qualité qui propose aussi un élargissement de sa réflexion personnelle et qui offre des perspectives d'amélioration et d'innovation dans la relation que l'on a avec ses chiens. Dognition est un formidable laboratoire d'idées, ergonomique et accessible. L'ouvrage "The genius of dogs" est aussi une belle découverte.

por Amy L

Dec 10, 2017

Incredibly fascinating and exciting course! I've feel so well informed on the new revelations of dog behavioural science and compelled to continue to read more on the subject.

I cannot recommend this course highly enough, it is engaging, well delivered and has great materials.

Thank you, Dr Hare, see you in the dognition data.

por Cristián G

Sep 22, 2015

I´d found this course really good, I have a litle bit experience with dog training throw the years experience with my dogs and internet videos, but this approach never have it before, I thanks to Dr. Ohara for the great course he made for Coursera I definitely apply dognition games to my dogs and the dogs of my friends. Saludos