Chevron Left
Voltar para Emoção e Cognição Canina

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Emoção e Cognição Canina da instituição Universidade Duke

4.7
estrelas
3,151 classificações
957 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Dog Emotion and Cognition will introduce you to the exciting new study of dog psychology, what the latest discoveries tell us about how dogs think and feel about us, and how we can use this new knowledge to further strengthen our relationship with our best friends....

Melhores avaliações

LT

Aug 04, 2019

Great course with a lot of new information, not just about dogs but even domestication of other species, including humans. The predictability of aggression in humans would be an interesting next topic

RR

May 20, 2020

This course was very informative and interesting. Even people without dogs as pets and having an interest towards pets can take up this course. By doing so, we get to understand ourselves better.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 945 Avaliações para o Emoção e Cognição Canina

por steven R

May 27, 2017

shameless promotion of the dognotion program for purchase. No real educational value.

por Robert F

Feb 19, 2016

Elegant. This course teaches us how scientists have been able discover the ways in which dogs think and behave and presents those lessons within the broader context of evolution, domestication, psychology, ecology and society. The course reveals surprising and practical insights about how having a better understanding of dogs helps improve our understanding of ourselves, our human history, and contemporary society. The course explains how science helps to correct many of our common misunderstandings about the intelligence of animals, and summarizes how the manner in which we study animal behavior and cognition is changing today. The course is fun. The video lectures are clear and concise. Everything is very well organized and delivered with enthusiasm and clarity. The quizzes are not technical nor particularly challenging but do help with learning the course material. The course has references to optional reading materials and optional activities from dognition.org that you can explore with your own dog at home. I would recommend for anyone interested in animals, psychology, or behavioral science and certainly anyone with a pet dog. I personally enjoyed seeing so many examples of controlled experiments being used to discover new knowledge about the inner workings of animals.

por Melissa V S

May 27, 2018

Hi! I really loved this course, it taught me a lot of things!! I am in a dog obedience course right now and I am planning in becoming a dog trainer. I really appreciated all this knowledge and I congratulate you for this! I am also registered in Dognition and I'm currently making my dog's profile with the games. What really surprised me from this course was that it is an "inclusive" teaching, it does not rule out other ways, but it also highlights the scientific facts you guys have discovered or studied. For example, the clicker part where you suggest there's no evidence that clickers make it easier to train dogs, well in my experience clickers really make things faster, but my experience can't determine that this clicker thing is a law. I think it is very important to use science and also personal experience, and mix different kinds of knowledge to get the best results when working with dogs. We can't reduce dogs into one thing or another. Thank you, again, for offering this and for making me a better professional.

por Leina B

Jun 11, 2020

I am 12 and homeschooled and this course was very fun. I learned a lot and ended up registering for dognition and getting the book (The Genius Of Dogs) which I ended up buying after I had made my way through the majority of the course so I plan to read it by itself versus as a go along and I am looking forward to it.

I would say that this course could be beneficial to any age, I learned a lot of things that I didn't know before and being a dog lover and having a very trainable family dog, I find it makes the course more entertaining and interesting when you have a dog of your own to apply it to. of course this is not necessary, any dog lover would enjoy this course whether they owned a dog or not. I just like knowing that I will benefit from the knowledge wether I choose a career that relates to dog emotion and cognition or not. I highly recommend this course to any age that wants to learn more about how dogs think and process information and how to train dogs and work to their strengths.

por Igor P

Mar 12, 2018

Great course! I learned more than just about my dog's cognitive capabilities. I also completed my dog's profile on DOGNITION. Some tests surprised me, but after all, I agree with the findings. Even more, after completing the course and reading the book (The Genius of Dog) I am able to explain some of my dog's behaviors and get bonded better to my GSD. I am particularly thrilled by the evidence of large cognitive variability within the same species (including different types of intelligence). I also fully support the concept about the citizen science and how more data can be used to find out all kind of interesting results that cannot be infer from small populations.

Thanks Brian and Vanessa for your passion for dogs' cognition and the great effort you put to share your knowledge with all of us. _igor

por Nichtsals U

Jan 11, 2016

I thought it's going to be a little boring - I only took it "for fun", I don't even have a dog or plans or get one, but starting with week 3 and especially week 4 the bigger picture of evolution of humans and animals up to this day alone was worth taking this course. Definitely broadened my mind. Also very valuable were was the information about dog breed profiles and what science can actually tell us about traits like aggressiveness and if they are related to breeds (they are not). If you are looking for concrete dog training tips you won't find them, this course is more about giving an overview of the state of science, but it does so very well IMHO. You can take the course in two afternoons easily - I recommend against doing it over 8 weeks. The videos are short, I watched them at 2 x speed mostly.

por DakotaLynn B

Jan 12, 2018

I should state that I have a higher understanding of dogs than most people.

In the beginning, for several lectures, I knew everything already and was disappointed, thinking I wouldn't learn much of anything, but as the course progressed, I learned far more than I could have hoped for. This course not only goes over cognitive function of dogs, but also evolution and includes information on Chimpanzees, Bonobos, Foxes, Wolves and even Humans! I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in evolution, cognition, dog training, animal domestication, wolf and dog social hierarchy, fast mapping, intelligence, dog breed differences (including size differences), bsl, pitbull, dog bites, dog agression, dog behavior, or just for some fun games to play with your dog!

por Michelle M B

Apr 03, 2016

This course is for you if you love dogs, and/or are interested in the science of animal behavior. Dr. Hare's presentations are interesting, informative and fun. I loved his use of scientific studies, videos, and Russian history (yes!) to get his points across. His book (optional) and the dog games (also optional) only add more depth to his lectures, but don't feel you need to buy the book and/or the games...you can take the online course and do just fine (but hopefully you'll want to read more, and participate as a citizen scientist, after taking the online course!). I will recommend this class to my canine_enthusiast friends, as I found Dr. Hare's class to re-evaluate how I look at the thought processes of dogs. This course is time well-spent!

por Kathryn M K

Jan 08, 2016

This course is fun to take, and it opened my eyes to a lot of research findings about dogs, people, and other animals. The material is presented in a way that's interesting and easy to follow, even though the ideas that the course covers are far from simple. I like that the course goes into the history of the science about animal cognition. I also like the way it debunks old-hat ideas about intelligence in animals, ranging from ants through apes, wolves and dogs, to humans. A big side-benefit is that the course has made me think in new ways about human society and human achievements, and the evolving shape of our relationships with one another and our capabilities. It has also validated my positive feelings about the dog in my family.

por Rosie E

Jun 13, 2020

I'm so glad that I found this course when quarantine had just started in my country. Learning so many new and exciting things about dogs, became a beautiful and educational escape for me during this crazy time. I'm sure I'll never forget this experience, mainly because of the way that Dr Hare explained each lecture. He did it in a very fun and exciting way, with videos and very interesting studies that showed me the way into the beautiful world of dog emotion and cognition. I totally recommend taking this course, it changed the way that I see one of my favorite animals in the world (dogs) and it changed the way that I see myself. Thank you for sharing all of your knowledge and your love for dogs Dr Hare!

por tania w

Dec 26, 2019

As a dog trainer I'm hugely interested in the advancement of science in canine cognition and how this can help us advance our training, compassion and understanding of dogs. Dr.Hares course was engaging, very well taught, and fuelled my enthusiasm and admiration of our beautiful dogs. I will participate in Dognition as a result (excited!) and have plenty further reading to do also with regard to studies and papers cited in the course. Science-based dog trainers will learn that there's more to our dogs than classical and operant conditioning. We need to understand and embrace cognition also if we are to advance our ethical relationship with these amazing animals that sleep in our beds. Highly recommneded!

por Mary B

Nov 03, 2019

This course is excellent. I am always interested in the science of dog learning. While I have clicker trained dogs, I do not find it to be a "perfect" method for training all dogs. Everything depends on the individual and understanding more about how dogs learn most definitely helps with creating training plans for each individual. While the course does seem to push dognition, it isn't necessary for understanding or completingleting the course. The course, while covering the science is presented in a manner that allows for people of all levels to understand. I would like more on the science of how dogs learn and will be looking for more on this subject, hopefully from Duke and Dr. Hare.

por Wendy M

Apr 13, 2017

Dog Emotion and Cognition is a clear, well-structured course with some wonderful 'added extras' that really help round out the MOOC experience. Dr Hare's enthusiasm for the subject is infectious and the material presented is more wide-ranging than I had anticipated -- again, adding to the experience. I have learned a fair amount about my dog, which has been fascinating, but have also learned about dog cognition against a wider species-comparative context, which has strengthened my understanding considerably. A superb course (and the accompanying book, The Genius of Dogs, and citizen science website, Dognition, are wonderful too). Thanks Dr Hare, Duke and Coursera!

por Natália d J P C d M

Apr 16, 2020

O Curso DOG EMOTION AND COGNITION é muito interessante porque não aborda apenas a espécie canina, relacionando-a com outras espécies. Apercebe-mo-nos da lógica que levam à realização de certos experimentos e como são realizados os respectivos controlos. Actualmente, vejo a minha cadela também com um outro olhar, paralelo àquele com que sempre a vi. Quero explorar e compreender ainda mais a sua parte cognitiva e juntar-me ao estudo DOGNITION. Também vejo outras espécies de outra forma, nomeadamente os pássaros, que estão tão perto de nós e ainda assim, tão distantes.

Professor bastante interessado e claro na apresentação do curso! Recomendo vivamente.

por Zhou C

Dec 30, 2016

Thanks Professor Hare and Coursera since I do enjoy this amazing course which challenges many stereotypes. For example, dogs evolved from wolves not because of human's intentional domestication but due to "self-domestication" 12 -15000 ago. Also, it is generally regarded that certain breeds of dogs are smarted than other. However, in this course, Professor Hare points out that cognition involves many types of intelligence rather than one and there is even tremendous variation within a dog breed in temperament, behavior and especially cognition. Strongly recommend this course especially when you ca n taste this class with your own dog!

por Mallika K

May 10, 2020

Absolutely fantastic course. Super interesting and so well organized by the professor ofcourse, but also by the app as well. Loved every minute of it and wished it was longer!! Didn't want it to end. Helped me alot since I am a professional Canine Trainer and Behaviourist, and work with Dogs all day and night. So interesting! And Brian Hare is such an amazing professor and human being too. And is so good with explaining his points foward. So humble too! Really happy and glad to have done this course! Looking forward to more interesting courses on Dogs and from Dr. Hare as well! Thank you :)

por Mari T L E

Jun 01, 2020

I really enjoyed this course! The work load was well-distributed such that the content in each week's module was just the right amount for it to be digestible and understandable. I like that the way the lectures were given were in such a manner that it was very easy to understand and that the quizzes were short but can really check if the student listened throughout the lecture. Despite my assumption that I already knew a lot about dogs, I still learned so much more about dogs, which is super cool! Every minute I spent on this module is worth it! Thank you Duke University and Dr. Hare! <3

por Alejandro P

Aug 14, 2015

This course was great, and I'll do the experiments with a friend's dogs. I love dogs, but don't have one. I do have a cat, and would be interested in a similar course about them.

I believe probably cats don't have the same communicative abilities as dogs, as they don't cooperate that much as wolves, but for instance my cat can differentiate between "give me the paw" (where in one hand I have food, the other is an open palm, and he has to inhibit going to the hand of the food and putting his paw in my other palm), and "eat" (going directly to the hand with the food and eat it).

por Maria C J

Jun 13, 2020

The delivery of the data was very engaging, having Dr. Hare deliver the content himself with interspersed slides and visuals. In a concise but information-packed way, this course has opened my mind to the possibilities in which I can improve my relationship with my dog. At the same time, the course has given me numerous other topics to explore. I love how the research on dog cognition is related back and forth with cognition of other species, pointing out opportunities and possibilities in understanding them - and us - better.

por Meghan J

Apr 13, 2016

I really liked this course. I have owned and trained dogs from a very early time in my life. I found it very interesting how dogs evolved from wolves and how that is apparent in dogs today. I typically like courses to be heavy on the science side, but this class was well presented for mid-level people or people who don't have a science background. Of course people will disagree with some of the material but overall it was an interesting class and the book recommended for the class was a good read. Mahalo from Hawaii

por Juan L N

Aug 29, 2017

Wow! I loved every piece of this course! Both the teaching and the content were superb and I couldn't believe how fast I completed this course since I couldn't stop. The content itself follows really logical steps so everything does make absolute sense. Brian is a phenomenal guy, not only because of his outstanding research but he seems like a really cool guy you want to have a beer with! His passion for this topic is contagious and the way he sees the (canine) world is something everyone should be doing more!

por Amber D

Mar 08, 2016

Dr. Hare did a great job explaining the results of experiments and what they mean in laymen terms. The information was well presented, and he is an enthusiastic professor. Although the super science-y stuff at the beginning may be a bit of a turnoff or seem boring for people like me without a science background, it really sets a good foundation for the more conventionally interesting material later in the course. I strongly recommend this course, and the accompanying activities via Dognition.

por Viktoria R

Oct 30, 2016

This course was a positive surprise! Professor Hare is a really good lecturer, you can feel his energy even if it's all recorded and the course is very well structured (and does not take too much time). I'm a dog lover and owner (I have 2 dogs), but I would strongly recommend this course to anyone who is interested in extending ones common knowledge, plus, it is a very interesting topic to bring up when networking as well as a conversations starter!

Thanks for an awesome course!

por Cindy-Estelle S

Apr 25, 2016

I really enjoyed the course. It was divided into clear parts that were short and thus easy to follow anytime during a quick break. It was not too demanding as there were no assignments or things to write. I felt I was learning interesting information. I would have liked more detailed information though on what dogs can and cannot do... perhaps a follow-up course. As I just adopted my dog a month ago from the shelter not sure if I can already use dognition with him.