Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Social Norms, Social Change I da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
estrelas
1,695 classificações
442 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

PE
5 de Mar de 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC
4 de Ago de 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de 431 Avaliações para o Social Norms, Social Change I

por Mohamed A S M

29 de Jan de 2019

I suggest this course to my all colleagues b/c will give us a lot of solutions for our community problems , thank you for this chance

por Eman S

11 de Set de 2019

very beneficial course, specially for me to understand the different terms of social norms and social change in different communities

por Christian I B H

14 de Mai de 2020

Amazing! very useful and complete applied theory for understanding and measure social norms in field. i really enjoy this trip.

por Beverly C

2 de Mai de 2020

Excellent course, and fantastic Lecturer Ms. Cristina Bicchieri made the course interesting and eager to learn. I thank you.

por stacey m

13 de Jun de 2020

I enjoyed the course thought it was really interesting and hard at the same time. would recommended other to do this course.

por Anthony C A

13 de Ago de 2016

I like the course! Very practical! It satisfies my curiosity and interest in answering why people behave the way they do.

por Aksheyaa A

2 de Abr de 2020

As a psychologist and a human rights major, I felt this course was extremely useful to me and will help me in my future!

por Godfred O A

18 de Abr de 2017

Excellent program. I really appreciate the new exposure to bring social issues and conditions pertaining to social life.

por Josyula K L

4 de Mai de 2017

This course was well-paced. The short videos, sprinkled with questions, and interspersed with essays, worked very well.

por Hekmatullah K

27 de Jun de 2020

The course gives you a clear understanding of the social root of the problems and how to do research in solving them.

por Ruby S

4 de Jul de 2017

The course was wonderful to make me understand how open defecation is a social norm and make my facts clear about it.

por Sarah P

6 de Out de 2016

A very fascinating course if you're interested in learning the inner workings of why people behave the ways they do.

por Olha K

16 de Fev de 2017

The course is practically oriented and is connected to the most challenging topics in UNICEF practice. Very useful!

por Melati A A

11 de Abr de 2021

Incridible, this course was really helpful for student who trying to comprehend social norms or sociological major

por Marco C

28 de Mar de 2020

I am a real beginner in this field, I enjoyed the clear explanations of the basic concepts, definitions and tools

por Saori G

2 de Dez de 2017

One of the best courses I have taken online. A must if working for outreach programmes in the humanitarian field.

por Xiaoyu H

25 de Mar de 2019

This course is quite good for me, a beginner of sociology research, to get to know some theory of the society.

por Do Q A

28 de Jun de 2019

As a person who works in the development field, I found the content of this course is interesting and useful!

por Geofrey T

9 de Nov de 2020

The course content was delivered in a way that is user-friendly and easy to navigate through and understand.

por Marzie A

8 de Dez de 2019

Great resource for those designing social surveys/experiment and want to enhance their survey design skills.

por Amr M S R

13 de Dez de 2018

I was a great course and we learned a lot and learned how to work with society in a different waymany thanks

por Nirmal G

28 de Ago de 2019

It is wonderful to learn about how our society and the way people living in it behave;cause and effects.

por Lucy D

18 de Out de 2017

I was evaluating the 'manageability' of these types of courses and found it very 'manageable'! so 10/10!

por Sabrina P

11 de Mai de 2019

Very well structured. It is really useful forpeople working in programs where social norms are involved

por Zark B

7 de Ago de 2020

Good and basic introduction to people who want to learn about how other people act and why they do so.