Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Social Norms, Social Change I da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
1,019 classificações
258 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC

Aug 05, 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Social Norms, Social Change I

por Nirina A

Sep 28, 2016

It's very interesting for monitoring the Social Change. I's very useful for implementing the programme

por Camlus O O

Dec 01, 2016

Cristina makes difficult concepts such as randomised response approach to limiting social desirability bias easy. Very easy to navigate, and the Android App is efficient and effective. Lots of new learning too, no recycled content

por Judy G

Jan 09, 2017

Really enjoyed this course, well structured and a good mix of videos and text to read. Only suggestions for improvement would be a) fourth week videos and text got very long and b) having a glossary to refer to that defines all the terms and includes examples (as sometimes got confusing all the different terminology used)

por Ngomwegi J D

Mar 17, 2017

very helpful in understanding social behavior and how it is influenced

por Olha K

Feb 16, 2017

The course is practically oriented and is connected to the most challenging topics in UNICEF practice. Very useful!

por Малышева Е В

Jun 27, 2018

Крутой и полезный курс! Доступным языком объяснены ключевые темы.

por Kristen P

May 24, 2017

The professor was delightful and the material was presented in a nicely progressive way, with a good variety of videos, stories, and readings.

por Hassan R

Oct 08, 2016

Very informative and well tailored course. Plenty of real life examples, great lecturer and simple language. Thank you!

por Melissa P

May 04, 2017

I loved this course so much! It discussed important topics within Social Norms and Social Change at length, and really strengthened my understanding of each! Thank you so much!

por Mohammad A

Nov 16, 2016

A great course indeed! Excellent lecture together with theory and on field examples!

por Ganga S

Nov 27, 2016

A real eye opener!!!

por Sandhya K S

Apr 03, 2017

its really wonderful course.

Its give direction to thinking

por Leonardo B F

Jun 17, 2017

Incredible!!!! Fantas

por Abhishek S

Dec 07, 2017

Very nice course recommended for Behaviour change professionals.

por Arupa S

Feb 09, 2017

Its an excellent course and a must do for everyone in UNICEF

por Godfred O A

Apr 18, 2017

Excellent program. I really appreciate the new exposure to bring social issues and conditions pertaining to social life.

por Diana M

Sep 04, 2017

I think is a great course, is applicable to any society and very well explain, also Cristina is very nice. I definitely will enroll to part II

por Rajah B

Mar 26, 2018

A brilliant course that organizes the formation of social norms as a science, helping activism aimed at changing negative norms achieve higher success rates. The Professor and Unicef did an amazing job!

por FILIPE K R P

Dec 29, 2017

Acting to live in a better world is an important value to me. The framework presented in the course brought to light, in well produced lectures, many components crucial in our behavior. The more importante examples would be, in my opinion, the reference network, normative expectations, conditiontal preference, pluralistic ignorance and social norms. Looking forward to the follow-up course.

por Sarah M

Mar 11, 2018

Brilliant course, interactive and broken down manageable pieces of information. Would highly recommend!

por khaled y a a

Jan 14, 2018

Very wonderful I learned a lot

por sanjay r

Oct 16, 2017

its an eye opener , please do this course for the pure value of it........i am a better person now, having subscribed to this course.

por Varun K S

Aug 14, 2017

I absolutely cherished whatever I learned through this course. It gave me a perspective to view things from critical, rational and shared perspective.

por Riaz A

Dec 02, 2017

I am grateful to Cristina Bicchieri for her amazing lectures. I enjoyed the lectures and learnt a lot. All those who are interested in social change will surely find the course extremely relevant and useful.

por hadeer K A K

Jun 22, 2018

I love the material and every thing because it makes me think differently