Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Social Norms, Social Change I da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
1,071 classificações
271 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC

Aug 05, 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Social Norms, Social Change I

por Vivek R

Aug 27, 2019

It's a wonderful experience of mine as it was my first online course. The way the things have been taught was awesome. Clear Voice, subtle statements with a bunch of examples to elaborate. Subtitles to make it more clear. Regular assessment. Everything!

por Graziella D A B

Sep 19, 2019

Thank you so much

por SEHRISH S K

Aug 31, 2019

one of the most helpful and comprehensive course I have taken online. material and relevant examples made it more inreresting.

por Habib H

Sep 20, 2019

Very informative to learn basic concepts of Socials Norms and Social Change theories

por Mijannur R G

Sep 02, 2019

Madam Cristina Bicchieri your teaching style is mindblowing. I really love your teaching and the course. Thanks for the online opportunity.

por MD. A R H

Nov 02, 2019

I have come up with in and outs of social expectation, norms and behaviour responsible to create or abandon these norms. Helped me a lot.

por Ahmed T

Oct 14, 2019

Insightful, thank you.

por Dean M

Sep 29, 2019

Learned a lot from the class and looking forward to Part 2

por Tofail A

Sep 06, 2019

Excellent way of learning in collective approach with examples. I am enjoying the course.

por Jacob A M

Sep 10, 2019

I was much interested and have learn many concepts in this course. The course very excellent

por Eman S

Sep 11, 2019

very beneficial course, specially for me to understand the different terms of social norms and social change in different communities

por Excellence T D

Oct 13, 2019

For a first time user, fresh to this information, it was stimulating and exciting to be learning how to identify social norms etc. and how to measure various aspects to effect change.

por peter a

Oct 25, 2019

Great!

por Pablo G

Nov 14, 2019

Very interesting and useful course. People should learn about this, so better programming oriented to behaviour change could be developed.

por Oluoma M U

Nov 15, 2019

Very awesome course! Am grateful for the opportunity.

por Pete B

Mar 20, 2019

Good presentation, accessible reading material, and all easy to digest - but the final lecture on measuring was sort of long...

por Rahul K

Apr 01, 2019

I must say that, It is a really well structured and detailed program. It helps me to understand the nuances of the society in regard of the situation and practices that occurs due to the social norms. I would highly recommend this course to all people who wants to work on the ground with people.

por Jacqui H

Sep 10, 2017

Excellent introduction to the concepts and applications of Bicchieri's social norms theory. I also appreciated very much the grounding in practical examples, and the combination of graded questions and practical questions for us to consider how to apply the theory in our own lives.

por Janina G O S

Aug 17, 2017

The course was difficult but it helped broaden my horizon on how to bring about positive change. Thank you!

por eslam s k

Jun 04, 2017

very useful thanks a lot

por Christina

Sep 06, 2017

I loved it and would take another course from Cristina.

por Rik d G

May 21, 2017

Great course, sometimes a bit hard to follow

por Mahesh J

Nov 08, 2016

It was a good course even though it was a bit theoretical. Its a great start for someone who has no background in social norms. I am glad I took this course though

por Luke G

Feb 07, 2017

Very nice and informative, and practically useful! Thanks Cristina

por Morgan S

Jul 28, 2017

I found a lot of the information repetitive, so there were times where I felt like it was redundant and disliked hearing the same information repeated multiple times. However, the information I learned was useful and helpful. I just think the course could have been more concise.