Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Social Norms, Social Change I, Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
763 classificações
192 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

por BB

Jan 07, 2017

This is an extremely useful course. There is an effective blend of lecture, quizzes, case studies, essays, and student discussion. The content is highly relevant. I highly recommend this course.

por SG

Nov 09, 2017

This course is both informative and practical! It manages to convey the complexity of social norm analysis and measurement while remaining accessible to students with no prior knowledge.

Filtrar por:

182 avaliações

por Lilen Quiroga

Feb 10, 2019

It has been one of the best and most useful courses I have taken in my life. Without doubt, I will be able to put this knowledge into practice in my work.

por Isabella Guabello

Feb 05, 2019

The course is really interesting and helpful in identify the key components of norms and how to measure them to trigger a change. The videos are clear and the readings are complementary to videos. However, the last lecture is too long, in my opinion, and it would have been more feasible if splitted on two weeks. Moreover, there is scarce or no feedback, both on interventions on the forum and after the quizzes. I understand a person can undertake the quizzes several times, I would rather suggest to set a given number of attempts and after that a feedback on the mistakes, or some kind of guidance in understanding the errors. Overall, a very useful course. I will definitively take the second part!

por Kagimu Musa

Feb 02, 2019

Awesome

por Maria Angeliki Mitsaki

Jan 31, 2019

Really interesting subject, well presented, even better explained, quite complete as a first touch with this topic. I felt like it put an order in my mind on things I already knew or had noticed happening around me and helped me a lot about how to use them consciously.

por Mohamed Anwar Salih Mohamed

Jan 29, 2019

I suggest this course to my all colleagues b/c will give us a lot of solutions for our community problems , thank you for this chance

por

Jan 29, 2019

The professor explain so clear, but the content is so productive and fruitful.

Thank you so much Sir!!

por Basudev Mahapatra

Jan 28, 2019

It's a very useful course to understand the society and various dynamics of social change.

por Aswathy Chandragiri

Jan 25, 2019

I really liked the course. I was enlightening. I have a simple suggestion. Whenever we do the test, after we pass, we do not get to see the answers for the question that we have not answered correctly. As we cannot repeat the test that we have passed, it will be good if you can tell us the answer for the question we have wronged. Thank you.

por Roy Hayek

Jan 25, 2019

Perfectly constructed course. It opened my eyes to whole set of new perspectives. I highly recommend this course. The professor is very expressive and detailed in her explanations and her techniques are very well adapted to an online experience and to beginners in this field. Best of luck!

por Kimberly Nicolson

Jan 23, 2019

Very well organized. I like how she reviews each concept and gives examples.