Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Social Norms, Social Change I da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
estrelas
1,665 classificações
434 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

PE
5 de Mar de 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

KL
25 de Jun de 2019

the course worth the time spent as there a lot of take away that are basically practical in our communities. I think in a whole I have learnt a lot and hope to undertake similar courses in due time

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 423 Avaliações para o Social Norms, Social Change I

por Carlo

27 de Nov de 2016

Socially relevant philosophy and psychology: great material! Crystal clear! Everyone should watch this course.

por Rodrigo S

23 de Jul de 2017

Very good course, helped me to understand some of the social behaviors that I am conditioned in my country.

por Sarah M

11 de Mar de 2018

Brilliant course, interactive and broken down manageable pieces of information. Would highly recommend!

por 鈴木日出海

29 de Jan de 2019

The professor explain so clear, but the content is so productive and fruitful.

Thank you so much Sir!!

por ANANT S

4 de Ago de 2018

Very good course...........Good Experience...........Easy to Operate it online...........Well Drafted

por Ahmed M E

10 de Fev de 2018

Very Important course for all those who work in areas of community development and behavioral change

por Farhad B

23 de Fev de 2020

It was a very nice course.

Thank you, Thank Coursera and Thank dear teacher and UNICEF.

Best Regards

por Godwin K

17 de Set de 2017

It has been enlightening and fulfilling! More of what I should have known 10 years ago! So great!

por Najib a A

1 de Mai de 2020

It is an important course for all workers in social work and leaders of change in their societies

por Musa Y S

30 de Dez de 2019

Dear Professor Cristina Bicchieri just was amazingly present that course for us thank u so much

por Hafþór L

16 de Out de 2018

This course is really worth your time and opens new world to your and everyone else's behaviour

por Shrabanti K

11 de Jun de 2020

This is such an wonderful course i have with an amazing instructor, she is really really good.

por Vertika H S

9 de Ago de 2019

the course really helps one understand the social issues prevalent all across the globe.

por Ayush J

15 de Ago de 2019

Excellent course for development communicators, and social norms change practicioners.

por Salman K

10 de Mai de 2019

The course was really helpful and pedagogy used in the course was very user friendly.

por Dorothy H

11 de Set de 2016

First: University of Pennsylvania and we still have to deal with a heavy accent?

Second: Couldn't tell if all the vocab gone over repeatedly was standard or made up by the prof.

Third: Stilted, repetitive and boring teaching style.

por peter t

1 de Ago de 2017

I found it very difficult to engage with this course which is surprising due to its exciting potential

por Seti S

20 de Jan de 2020

Thank you so much for an eye opening course around a field I had very little scientific knowledge about. Growing up and living in developing countries in East Africa, I am very familiar with problems of FGC (female genital cutting), open defecation, open urination, bribing etc; problems that seemed never ending in spite of diverse attempts by relevant government authorities at ending them.

Fortunately, I have realized now through the course that personal and collective behavior is a complex thing that to eradicate undesirable behavior like FGC one needs a complex approach that targets most importantly both personal & collective behavioral factors.

Besides, when it comes to engaging such problems in future discussions, the scientific basis I have picked up through the course via exposure to relevant scientific language, methods & research work would guide my views on such social problems.

I plan to read the whole course book - Norms in The Wild – Cristina Bichhieri - to reinforce the skills I have so far learned.

Thanks Again

-

por Emmanuella B

15 de Nov de 2020

Very insightful course. I thoroughly enjoyed learning about the subject and it has given me insight into what I want to pursue as a career. I also liked the use of hypothetical examples to illustrate ideas, and then the use of real life situations provided by UNICEF.

My only critique is that I feel as though week four could have been broken down further into another week, making the house a five week course. My reasoning for this is there was a lot of material covered and it took my two days to gather notes and solidify my understanding. Other weeks took me only a day to complete.

Other than that, Well done on the production of such an interesting course. I look forward to studying more courses from the University of Pennsylvania and UNICEF in future

por Becca L

14 de Mai de 2020

Good course! I would recommend this course to anyone with even a passing interest in social behavior! The material is very accessible & engaging. Both the reading material and lectures are brief, straightforward, and high-quality. Some of the quiz questions were surprisingly challenging (not the typical regurgitated Q&A from lecture videos). To get the most out of this course, I suggest participating in every discussion prompt you can. Taking the time to apply the concepts and reviewing others' applications will only reinforce and challenge what you're learning. I am currently working my way through the second course in this series!

por kishor k

12 de Set de 2020

topic was very interesting , the study material is very useful and to understand the basic concepts of the Social Norms . Normative and empirical expectation help to understand the social setup and behaviors of the society , their are need to change the social form with changeling circumstances. there are old unscientific custom in our society which are required to change and allow the younger generation to adopt the moral and scientific methods for their development . free and fair life is important for the growth of individual life , we first and prim objective to develop the civilized society for peace and justice .

por Petra D K

31 de Ago de 2020

The course was very interesting and at a high level. It required more time then advertised though, actually double the amount of time because one cannot pass the tests when only listening to the videos or reading through the texts. This course requires studying of the concepts in order to obtain a clear understanding and be able to implement the concepts in the examples given in the tests. This enabled me to learn a lot and have a good insight in social norms and social change. I will definitely be able to use this in my current and future work related activities. Thanks a lot.

por Erin P

5 de Jul de 2020

This course is a must for public health practitioners (and people from many other fields) working on behaviour change and by the end I was questioning my previous approaches to behavioural analysis. The course was really well structured, building each week while providing a lot of food for thought after each week's sessions. Professor Bicchieri was truly and excellent guide to this field and the insights of the other experts very illustrative. Will definitely be doing part two.

por Winston M N

24 de Set de 2020

A lot of the knowledge i have picked up is new to me, and obviously very absorbing. I was coming into the course from a legal background so i have better grasp of legal and regulatory frameworks. But i know i should aim to gain knowledge and skills in subjects around; i applaud the cause and efforts by professor Christina Bichierry and all the associates in imparting knowledge and skills on 'social norms social change'. Thank you.

por Victoria C

19 de Jun de 2020

An excellent course that was paced well, and very interesting. It caused me to think about of day-today social situations I come across and to analyze them to determine what is happening and why. The guest speakers made it varied and "real" - it was interesting to learn about approaches to activities such as child marriage, cutting and open defecation in other countries. I learned a lot and enjoyed the course.