Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Social Norms, Social Change I da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
1,071 classificações
271 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC

Aug 05, 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Social Norms, Social Change I

por Mohamed A S H

Jun 24, 2017

Thanks

por Desiree B

Oct 01, 2017

Overall a great course. The lectures where clear and there was a good ballance in reading and listening material. In the future I would like to see a wider diversity of examples used instead of mainly child marriage and OD.

por cengiz y

Jul 17, 2017

Great course.

Nevertheless it should be improved further. Examples are not sufficient to understand the concepts and processes to deal with identifying problems for pluralistic ignorance and how to use vignettes.

thanks for the course, in any case it is very beneficial for the people who are from the outside of the field. Thank you!

por Sezin I

Jan 09, 2017

I enroll the course just for listening videos and following the readings,

I really enjoyed it, and learned it, it gives another perspective to see the whole community

thanks a lot

por Natasha

Feb 06, 2017

The course is very detailed, with a strong methology and useful examples. Nevertheless, it wasn't always simple to follow and the last week was very demanding.

por PHUONG T

Dec 03, 2017

Very useful course to understand about social norm and how to measure it.

por Massimo I

Aug 09, 2017

I found the course very informative and well-structured. However, I would have a appreciated more external resources as well as more case studies, not only in rural areas and villages in the developing world. A reference to the role of social norms and social change in large cities and the role of social media, for example, would have made the course even more relevant.

por Jacqui H

Sep 10, 2017

Excellent introduction to the concepts and applications of Bicchieri's social norms theory. I also appreciated very much the grounding in practical examples, and the combination of graded questions and practical questions for us to consider how to apply the theory in our own lives.

por Janina G O S

Aug 17, 2017

The course was difficult but it helped broaden my horizon on how to bring about positive change. Thank you!

por eslam s k

Jun 04, 2017

very useful thanks a lot

por Christina

Sep 06, 2017

I loved it and would take another course from Cristina.

por Rik d G

May 21, 2017

Great course, sometimes a bit hard to follow

por Mahesh J

Nov 08, 2016

It was a good course even though it was a bit theoretical. Its a great start for someone who has no background in social norms. I am glad I took this course though

por Miho W

Sep 14, 2017

Well designed and informative course. It was very interesting. There are a lot of theories at the beginning, which tires you out a little, but there are also some practical courses towards the end -i wish more time was spent on the practical part to walk us through how to measure social norm. Examples were relevant, although it would be good if there was a way to further engage students in discussions. Overall, very happy with the course, and I definitely learnt a lot!

por Mai M A E L

Jul 05, 2017

It's useful , it help me to know more about spreading of any norm,custom ,etc and help me to know ways of distinguish it and helping people to differentiate between good and bad one .

por Furqan A

Aug 15, 2017

Very god course especially for the Development practitioners.

por Luke G

Feb 07, 2017

Very nice and informative, and practically useful! Thanks Cristina

por Morgan S

Jul 28, 2017

I found a lot of the information repetitive, so there were times where I felt like it was redundant and disliked hearing the same information repeated multiple times. However, the information I learned was useful and helpful. I just think the course could have been more concise.

por Nadya

Jan 18, 2018

Denied Certificate after successful completion of the course.

por Annu K

Apr 22, 2017

It's really very useful curse. Thanks for taking me in this course.

por Zaid A

Jul 29, 2017

Well laid out, easy to follow.

por Kelli S

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent ideas with real-world examples. Repetition of concepts was a bit too frequent and made the course significantly longer than it needed to be. The last section in week 4 jumped from 5-8 minute videos to 15-18 minute videos, which felt like it was cramming things together. A slight alteration in pacing would be beneficial. The cyclical structure of idea generation and building is great, just a bit too repetitive. Quizzes mid-video really highlight main points and focus the attention. Overall, a fascinating and deeply educational course.

por Ricardo R I

Oct 09, 2016

It's very useful. I think at first lectures there is neccesary a synopsis about the concepts and their classification or relation, because as you deep the relation is more confused.

por Candra P

Apr 25, 2017

It was great to learn the course with a simple quiz within the video presentation, it helps us to understand the material clearly. Despite the new unfamiliar terms so sometimes I need to open my note back, but Ms. Bicchieri explanation using flow chart really helped me. This is very interesting yet important for my work in the development program, thank you.

por Peerada N

Feb 27, 2017

I don't work in social field or anything that has to do with UNICEF, but despite that, I find this course greatly interesting and what I received from it surprisingly exceeded my initial expectations. I find the knowledge from this course useful not only for social workers, but also for community-oriented researchers, or anyone who would like to understand or make a change in a community. Most of this course is an introduction to technical terms, gradually introducing us how to look at certain behaviours of people in any communities, helping us know what such behaviours are made of and how we should start in order to make a change to it. Things I find especially interesting are actually in the last week of the lecture, where the professor had introduced to me tips and tricks for measuring outcomes and making surveys that could actually get quality information - something I never knew how to do and had never expected to know and realise that it would matter so much.

As for the downside, it may be either because I am not familiar with terms in the social and humanity fields or because English is not my mother language, but I find that the professor sometimes uses words too sophisticated, when in reality I thought it would be better if she could have used simpler terms and vocabularies both in the video and the readings - sometimes I find myself becoming confused by her excess uses of fancy words and stretching something that could be briefly explained too much for my liking. Sometimes I even get to finally understand what she meant in the parts where there are examples, which is one of the things I like about the course, too.

Overall, this course was an eye opener for me. I had a very pleasant time learning and am already enrolling for the second course!