Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Social Norms, Social Change I da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
1,080 classificações
275 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

KL

Jun 26, 2019

the course worth the time spent as there a lot of take away that are basically practical in our communities. I think in a whole I have learnt a lot and hope to undertake similar courses in due time

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Social Norms, Social Change I

por Craig C

Jan 28, 2017

A fantastic course that covers a lot in a short period of time and has wonderful lectures that are easy to understand and follow in the time allocated. I love how you can go back and review lectures and quizzes. Thanks to the lecture for her time and all involved in the production including UNICEF and Penn State.

por Fr N

Jan 24, 2017

Get in and make the most of this. Awesome in 1 word ;)

por Loïc D

Oct 06, 2017

Really great course. Very interesting. Highly recommended for all!

por Mohammad A

Nov 16, 2016

A great course indeed! Excellent lecture together with theory and on field examples!

por Ganga S

Nov 27, 2016

A real eye opener!!!

por Ritsu N

Jun 26, 2017

Very useful course. Gave me a lot of ideas on how to go about designing social change initiatives.

por Leonardo B F

Jun 17, 2017

Incredible!!!! Fantas

por Abhishek S

Dec 07, 2017

Very nice course recommended for Behaviour change professionals.

por Arupa S

Feb 09, 2017

Its an excellent course and a must do for everyone in UNICEF

por Godfred O A

Apr 18, 2017

Excellent program. I really appreciate the new exposure to bring social issues and conditions pertaining to social life.

por Nirina A

Sep 28, 2016

It's very interesting for monitoring the Social Change. I's very useful for implementing the programme

por Camlus O O

Dec 01, 2016

Cristina makes difficult concepts such as randomised response approach to limiting social desirability bias easy. Very easy to navigate, and the Android App is efficient and effective. Lots of new learning too, no recycled content

por Judy G

Jan 09, 2017

Really enjoyed this course, well structured and a good mix of videos and text to read. Only suggestions for improvement would be a) fourth week videos and text got very long and b) having a glossary to refer to that defines all the terms and includes examples (as sometimes got confusing all the different terminology used)

por Sandhya K S

Apr 03, 2017

its really wonderful course.

Its give direction to thinking

por Ngomwegi J D

Mar 17, 2017

very helpful in understanding social behavior and how it is influenced

por Diana M

Sep 04, 2017

I think is a great course, is applicable to any society and very well explain, also Cristina is very nice. I definitely will enroll to part II

por Anil

Aug 12, 2017

Great course for those who have a concern for social change and a non prudential personal normative belief to bring a social change for benefit of all. Greatly structured course and very well explained by

Cristina Bicchieri.

Thanks a lot :-)

por Rajah B

Mar 26, 2018

A brilliant course that organizes the formation of social norms as a science, helping activism aimed at changing negative norms achieve higher success rates. The Professor and Unicef did an amazing job!

por Sára C

Nov 06, 2017

Enjoyable, informative, really interesting.

por FILIPE K R P

Dec 29, 2017

Acting to live in a better world is an important value to me. The framework presented in the course brought to light, in well produced lectures, many components crucial in our behavior. The more importante examples would be, in my opinion, the reference network, normative expectations, conditiontal preference, pluralistic ignorance and social norms. Looking forward to the follow-up course.

por Sarah M

Mar 11, 2018

Brilliant course, interactive and broken down manageable pieces of information. Would highly recommend!

por khaled y a a

Jan 14, 2018

Very wonderful I learned a lot

por Kamrul H

Nov 07, 2017

All the topics are elaborated with real life examples. Also designed to be very interesting. I enjoyed every bit of it while learning new aspects.

por Sourav B

Aug 13, 2017

Extremely val

por Ajay V

Apr 25, 2018

It was a fantastic course that concisely taught the different expectations that we face in society. Whether it may be our own or of society in general.