Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Social Norms, Social Change I da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
1,064 classificações
268 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC

Aug 05, 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Social Norms, Social Change I

por Andreas T

Apr 13, 2019

Great course.

Looking forwards for part 2.

por sonia c

Apr 14, 2019

a very interesting course.. thank you

por Cinthia T C G

Apr 08, 2019

Excelente curso, muy orientado a mis necesidades profesionales.

por Damini B

Apr 09, 2019

An important course that gives you a framework to understand and analyse social norms by the leading scholar in the field. This is the future of social change.

por Leonardo J T

Apr 10, 2019

Excellent

por ABDI I R

Mar 12, 2019

awosame

por Michael T D

Mar 06, 2019

It is a very educative course that provides the learner with the technical lens, and gives ways problems could be solved best. I'm hoping to start the part 2 soon.

por Wael G F S

Dec 22, 2018

Good Course

por ISMAEIL M S

Dec 09, 2018

Great course

Provides very important information about human behavior in all its forms

And how to measure behavior

it is fun

por 유정서

Mar 10, 2019

very good!

por Carmen M M

Jul 11, 2018

This is an excellent theoretical base for understanding social norms and the complex dimension to be considered in assessing impact on behavior. The lectures are well delivered and compel one toward further reading.

por Hassan A A

Sep 11, 2018

Thank your

por Byunggyu P

Aug 29, 2018

The course systematically delves into the elements that constitute our actions and the motivations behind them. It not just explains what social norm is but also teaches ways to diagnose it properly and eventually change it for the better. It's fortunate beyond belief that Prof. Bicchieri of University of Pennsylvania, together with Coursera, has determined to open this great resource to the public nearly for free: The content, obviously made possible through years of toils, agonies, and experiences of Dr. Bicchieri, is significantly useful and critically insightful to anyone interested in human behaviours, community development and social change. Beware, however, that the contents within the course aren't well organised: You'll surely have to neatly put these lessons into the right place on your own for easier digestion. Moreover, I was less satisfied with the examples Prof. Bicchieri uses to explain the concepts. I felt there's much space for its improvement as the examples mentioned are more often confusing than not.

por Hafþór L

Oct 16, 2018

This course is really worth your time and opens new world to your and everyone else's behaviour

por Lorena G N V

Oct 21, 2018

What a fascinating subject! I could dedicate myself to this!

por Sami M A Q

Oct 21, 2018

excellent

por Hannah A M G

Nov 04, 2018

This is a very useful and informative course for me, especially in my line of work in research and public administration. I hope more people could take this course and appreciate the process of understanding and perhaps changing social norms.

por ANANT S

Aug 04, 2018

Very good course...........Good Experience...........Easy to Operate it online...........Well Drafted

por Kirti S

Jul 21, 2018

I found this course very informative and useful. The way the course is structured and delivered made it easy to understand the various terms and definitions. The examples given and regular recapping of terms with more examples and comparative examples made it so clear to understand. Thank you Prof. Bicchieri.

por Natia J

Jul 22, 2018

Excellent course. Enjoyed so much! Thank you!

por Mausumi S

Sep 06, 2018

The Course is a proper insight of Social Norms and SocialChange.

por Saurabh D

Mar 26, 2018

very comprehensive!

por Hitesh T

Sep 20, 2016

Nice compilation of lectures and case studies

por Brenda

Jan 07, 2017

This is an extremely useful course. There is an effective blend of lecture, quizzes, case studies, essays, and student discussion. The content is highly relevant. I highly recommend this course.

por Saori G

Dec 02, 2017

One of the best courses I have taken online. A must if working for outreach programmes in the humanitarian field.