Chevron Left
Voltar para IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

Comentários e feedback de alunos de IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts da instituição Google

4.8
2,616 classificações
411 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. Finally, we’ll go through a case study, where we examine the security model of Chrome OS. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

Melhores avaliações

DS

Apr 26, 2018

Great course that is full of useful information and presented in an easy to understand way. It's an awesome beginner course that will add to your knowledge and further your knowledge of IT security.

DS

Aug 17, 2018

This course was insane, all the possibilities, the potential for growth, and the different ways to help protect against cyber attacks. It was truly an eye-opening lesson in security. Thank you.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

por Joseph B

Aug 06, 2018

one of the most poor made courses I have ever had the displeasure of paying for. this course is BAD. and my standards for a good online course are pretty low. some of the various sins this course has to answer for are: 1. giving a definition for hardware standard, then linking to "an external reading if you want to learn more" and the FIRST line of that external reading directly conflicts with what the instructor just said.

2. Those "supplemental readings?" yeah 99% of those are links to wikipedias definition of the given subject. hope you weren't actually trying to learn or something.

3. A wonderful collection of the most aggravatingly non-specific multiple choice quiz questions, in which any of the given answers are true, but they're looking for a specific solution for a nonspecific problem so good luck figuring that out.

4. To compliment the non-specific quiz's they offer a fine selection of non-specific directions to writing assignments. only AFTER you submit your project are you able to find out what they are actually looking for. the most extreme example of this is in the final project directions, which one of my colleagues aptly described as "cryptic"

5. Do you like technical failures? cause they do! smash your face in frustration as the labs fail to grant write permissions to the hardrive you are supposed to be working on, your interactive tests gets garbled all over the screen, (and don't tell me that's a user error, I tried that test on 3 different OS's across 2 different machines) or random "Analyzing Background" messages flicker on and off the instructors face.

But its no big deal, there's always time for a couple political propaganda videos or google product promotion

Tldr: everything I hate about google, condensed into one place.

por Nathaniel L

Apr 28, 2019

Interesting course. I loved covering security policies and digital threats. However, the virtual machines in this course wouldn't give me a grade after numerous, perfect completions. It was extremely upsetting to know that I literally did everything else perfectly, but can't get my grade in two labs. This means that I have to wait an undisclosed amount of time before I can get my certification. I have done everything else.

por Tanner J T P

Apr 17, 2019

These were pretty cool courses that offer a lot of knowledge but the part where that talk about getting you information out to companies to help you start your career is fully true. They send you a survey that you select the companies you would like to share you information with out of they're selection, and that's it. There is no other follow up or anything as far as I've seen but I've been done with the program for workin on four months no with no other leads to helping me start my career. So it's great maybe to help boost a career you're already in but DO NOT TAKE THIS COURSE if you are using it to help START a career. Hope this helps some people out like me looking for a way into the industry.

por Ashley M W

Dec 12, 2018

Very difficult course. The last project/assignment took the longest to complete, but the sens of accomplishment that you feel upon finishing is worth it.

por Edgar R

Dec 10, 2018

A lot of information. Pay attention. Push forward. You'll get it done.

por Rodney S I

Nov 25, 2018

This one was tough, but worth it. The peer review project is best worked on as you go through the course.

por Alonzo W H

Nov 17, 2018

Very tough course with a lot of information on creating the best security possible for an individual computer, or an enterprise. The peer reviewed assignment will make you re-evaluate everything you learned and force you to provide ample detail for each area you are required to supply an answer for. No beginners or intermediate learners will pass the peer review the first time; it is difficult, but because of that I know more than I did after submitting my first peer review! Kudos!!

por Julio F

Nov 15, 2018

It's a good course. They definitely teach you all ground basic concepts. However I WISH they would have involved classes on how to properly set up a router, build a server from scratch, you know things like that. WOULD HAVE BEEN AWESOME!

Overall is a good course if you have no knowledge at all and I would definitely recommend it.

por Cameron M

Aug 19, 2018

While this course has been extremely informative and the instructor is great at explaining the information, I feel like all the courses in this program could implement more screen examples of what will be done in a day to day IT support role. Telling me only helps so much, showing me what you're talking about while this is going would be more helpful. This has, however, encouraged me to look up everything in forums and on youtube.

por Christopher M

Jun 23, 2019

This was the most interesting course in the section. If you put in a lot of work into the projects you will learn a lot from them.

por Menendez, L K

May 10, 2019

This is a very good course for someone who wants to have a good background in IT support and for someone who wants to have a refresher in IT.

por KAMIL J S

Apr 25, 2019

Good content.

por Bright I M

Apr 21, 2019

The best thing ever! This course has increased my confidence in real world and up-to-the-second skills for job readiness

por Isaac S

Jan 07, 2019

Many technical issues regarding labs and no explanations or feedback for important and critical issues.

por Fernando S

Nov 24, 2018

I learned so much more from this course. More than 2 years of courses at a college. Thank you to those who worked on putting this course together.

por Pratyush P

Nov 21, 2018

The first week of the course was quite good. However, starting with Week 2, the explanations became quite vague, and too technical.

If the information provided is vague, it should be about non-technical concepts. If the information is technical, it should be explained in detail and broken down to the learner. I expected great things going into this course, since it's being taught by Google.

I saw that the course didn't necessarily require prior knowledge from the previous 4 courses, but it would help if I had a background in IT. I cannot understand many concepts in this course even though I'm an IT graduate (and a good one). I expect math, visuals and demonstrations to be part of my course material when I'm enrolled in such a technical course. I didn't get enough of any of those.

The instructor is nice, knowledgeable, and friendly, and I don't know if I can solely blame him for this, but I didn't have enough supplementary info provided to me about the things I was learning. The links in our reading assignments were sometimes too technical and required additional research to understand. Maybe I'm too unintelligent for this course, I don't know, but I can't complete this course and claim to be someone who understands IT security. I wish you good luck in improving this course.

por Jakiela H

Sep 23, 2018

The course was very information and easy to follow I am not fond of the peer reviewed assignment, because I am done with this course, but I have to wait until someone grades my final peer assignment to be done with the complete course. I had to resubmit my final peer assignment three times, because my peers were not giving me any credit for recommendations that I clearly wrote. I appreciated the criticism, but I strongly believe that it is unfair to give someone no credit for something they they did do. In addition, there is no detailed rubric given prior to completing the final peer graded assignment.

por Iona G

Jul 14, 2018

The course contents are really good but I didn't feel that the final assignment fit the contents .

por Alexey M

Mar 30, 2018

This course is overloaded by formal theory. Attempts to explain complex concepts in simple language are weak. Practice is absolutely not enough. Also, final assignment is confusing: while it declares to create some description of real working system, it's goal is "just write down every technical term you heard".

It's a formal course, not about learning, just memorizing some tech terms.

por Cesar R M C

Jun 26, 2019

Definitely worth taking. It's challenging and achievable.

por Thubelihle D N

Jun 26, 2019

I thought i knew how to keep my computer secure , but after this course i realized the moment i open my browser , i am under attack i should not just click on anything i see

por Bria B

Jun 25, 2019

Was a little difficult, but I succeeded! The only issue that I had was on week 6. The assignment sample was locked and did not show until after you passed the graded assignment. I was not sure what all was needed until my assignment was graded.

por Greg J

Jun 25, 2019

A great final project, forced students to think and plan an overall all encompassing review of information from the course content.

por Rachael L D

Jun 24, 2019

Excellent course and instructor. Overall great experience.

por Naja M P

Jun 19, 2019

more specification when it comes to assignments