Chevron Left
Voltar para Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Creative Writing: The Craft of Style da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
658 classificações
177 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Your style is as unique and distinctive as your face, your voice, except that you can choose it, you can can work on it, enhance it. In this course we will introduce aspiring writers to the art of putting pressure on written language. We will study the use of metaphor and imagery, and demonstrate how clarity, grace, and inventiveness in word choice are imperative to a story’s success. Writers will emerge with the revision skills essential to all writers of good stories and good prose....

Melhores avaliações

MS

Apr 19, 2016

Great class for the content I needed. I audited this class and benefited from the theory discussion and practical exercises. The class guided me to improve my writing style which was my ultimate goal.

LR

Dec 18, 2018

Lessons were well done, good mix of teaching and illuminating discussion between accomplished writers. Exercises are creative and well thought out. Feedback from classmates is generally helpful.

Filtrar por:

151 — 172 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

por jjay

Apr 18, 2016

great material

por Karl Z

Feb 23, 2017

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=1854329571516504&id=100008184375757

por Abrar A A

Mar 24, 2018

challenging and engaging

por arya k s

May 01, 2018

Its a great course to learn the craft of language and how to use it.

por Konstantin T

Sep 22, 2016

Having completed all four CW modules, I feel this was a tad "inferior" to Character. High quality overall, as always.

por Claretta T W

May 01, 2016

This course helped me in my writing. I enjoyed the feedback and the exercises.

por Kartik S

Apr 23, 2018

It was kind of fast and some tasks were really difficult compared to the other courses but it was a good learning experience.

por Marisela M

Jan 15, 2017

I liked the course very much. For a foreign speaker, though, I found it particularly challenging. The nuances of words are particularly important when dealing with matters of style, and I struggled through the exercises, which I found a bit more "abstract" than those in preceding courses of this series. Maybe it was just self-consciousness... In any case, because I encountered this struggle, the course was helpful in making me think about how do I want to pursue my next steps in the process of creative writing -- should I continue in English, or should I try, instead, to do it in my native language? I am sure this is a question that many other students have asked themselves. I shouldn't conclude without saying that I do recommend the course, in any case.

por Ellen B G

May 15, 2016

I was helped by the lessons regarding choosing words carefully.

por Ada

Jan 21, 2018

I enjoyed Salavatore's lessons, video and reading materials. I have ended up following the thread started in the videos and researching more from those rather modest starting points .

The better a video lesson is the more I am left feeling it could have been even more, given a little more, a longer, less compacted teaching/learning curve.

Most importantly, direct input and/or contact with the professors would be beneficial, as ell as getting reviews and feedback from QUALIFIED STAFF.

This aspect of the course had not been made clear before signing up, I found out about it while doing the first of four courses, accepted it and carried on through all 4. Having anyone read our work is great and hard to come by, but having a professional, at least from time to time - now that is what learning is really about.

Way back when I was still a student in London I remember noticing the beginnings of this trend in the university I was at: "peer feedback" and "peer learning" became all the rage, the new buzz words. And yes they are very important elements of the learners experience, but they should complement, rather than substitute the process.

It is so very convenient to have learners teaching one another, both in an online as well as presential course, not the least because it decreases the time and money spent on a qualified teachers. The fact that this details is overlooked in the course description shows that it is a sensitive topic and that it might put a number of potential learners off.

The course has value and brings satisfaction as well as surprising (self) revelations. Therefore it can afford to be more transparent.

To cut this short, why not re-introduce the qualified staff and make this an even more valuable experience? Paying for a course should not leave learners feeling we are being saved on by an educational institution or that only paying a little more would afford us teacher feedback.

por Deleted A

Mar 22, 2017

Great, easy way to learn style. Highly recommend.

por Emmanuel A

Dec 19, 2016

I felt this course was slightly tough. When it comes to the degree of strictness in passing, I had my share. I thank God I finally passed, though some peers are very hard to convince.

por Richard R

May 08, 2017

Interesting and helpful short talks on various aspects of writing style. Would be great if the course was offered as a more comprehensive version. What it touches on, it does well.

por Nyema J

Aug 09, 2018

This has certainly improved my approach to writing with focus on word efficiency and precision

por Sophie S

Aug 24, 2018

The exercises were really great. The lessons weren't very helpful.

por Joseph A

Aug 30, 2018

A wealth of information.

por jennifer

Jun 03, 2019

the idea are well presented and i think have made me a stronger writer.

por Kristin L

Mar 06, 2017

The course information was great and the assignments were very helpful. What lost points for the course was not the content provided by Wesleyan, which was good, but the poor effort on the part of many of the fellow students to really work on constructive critiques. For each assignment I had at least one of the three peer reviews that was useless to me to improve my writing, sometimes more. There should be a way to rate critiques so that students can't move on if they don't do the work of critiquing well.

por Yvette H

Oct 24, 2017

It would be helpful to list what the learner should do in an assignment and exclude what they should not do.

por Donald S P

Aug 24, 2018

Less focused than the other four. The focus on facts and things was helpful, but felt less like a revelation.

por Nysha c

Feb 03, 2018

It's ironic that Salvatore Scabona runs the course on economy when he seems unable to follow his own advice. There is an excessive amount of repetition, off topic quotes, lengthy videos about what's coming next and poorly thought through sentences that seem to be an effort to show off his knowledge, rather than impart it. It is stark against Brando's course which is so inspiring and motivating, that I find myself skipping huge sections of Salvatore's videos without losing any of the content. It is a shame, as the rest of the course and all the material is excellent.

por Megan L

May 25, 2017

The lectures were unclear as well as the instructions from the instructor I was disappointed.