Chevron Left
Voltar para Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Creative Writing: The Craft of Style da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
946 classificações
272 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Your style is as unique and distinctive as your face, your voice, except that you can choose it, you can can work on it, enhance it. In this course we will introduce aspiring writers to the art of putting pressure on written language. We will study the use of metaphor and imagery, and demonstrate how clarity, grace, and inventiveness in word choice are imperative to a story’s success. Writers will emerge with the revision skills essential to all writers of good stories and good prose....

Melhores avaliações

MS
18 de Abr de 2016

Great class for the content I needed. I audited this class and benefited from the theory discussion and practical exercises. The class guided me to improve my writing style which was my ultimate goal.

LR
17 de Dez de 2018

Lessons were well done, good mix of teaching and illuminating discussion between accomplished writers. Exercises are creative and well thought out. Feedback from classmates is generally helpful.

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de 266 Avaliações para o Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

por Bridgit

19 de Nov de 2018

Great tutors. Thank you!

por Lech B

30 de Mar de 2016

Great, short and sweet.

por Pradhusha C

19 de Nov de 2020

It was very useful

por Josipa B

8 de Jun de 2018

Very useful stuff

por Bishwaksen B

1 de Fev de 2018

Very very helpful

por Deleted A

3 de Set de 2016

Best course ever!

por SAIBAL C

14 de Jan de 2021

Great experience

por Tim J

26 de Mai de 2017

Excellent class!

por Patricia R

16 de Mai de 2017

I love it! great

por Amy G K

29 de Jan de 2017

Awesome class!!

por Yunus Ç

17 de Jul de 2020

Thanks for all

por LE M D

19 de Nov de 2020

Thank Teacher

por FORERO P D A

20 de Jul de 2020

Great tecaher

por Judy W W J

26 de Mar de 2019

Great course.

por Hui J H

29 de Mai de 2019

Thank you!

por Julian M

5 de Ago de 2017

Thank you!

por Daniel C

20 de Mai de 2017

Great job!

por Iris R

28 de Jun de 2016

Thank you.

por Priyam G

7 de Jul de 2020

Thank you

por Carreen P

23 de Nov de 2017

Fabulous!

por Sana N

20 de Out de 2020

Amazing

por Michael J J

21 de Dez de 2016

amazing

por Ada

21 de Jan de 2018

I enjoyed Salavatore's lessons, video and reading materials. I have ended up following the thread started in the videos and researching more from those rather modest starting points .

The better a video lesson is the more I am left feeling it could have been even more, given a little more, a longer, less compacted teaching/learning curve.

Most importantly, direct input and/or contact with the professors would be beneficial, as ell as getting reviews and feedback from QUALIFIED STAFF.

This aspect of the course had not been made clear before signing up, I found out about it while doing the first of four courses, accepted it and carried on through all 4. Having anyone read our work is great and hard to come by, but having a professional, at least from time to time - now that is what learning is really about.

Way back when I was still a student in London I remember noticing the beginnings of this trend in the university I was at: "peer feedback" and "peer learning" became all the rage, the new buzz words. And yes they are very important elements of the learners experience, but they should complement, rather than substitute the process.

It is so very convenient to have learners teaching one another, both in an online as well as presential course, not the least because it decreases the time and money spent on a qualified teachers. The fact that this details is overlooked in the course description shows that it is a sensitive topic and that it might put a number of potential learners off.

The course has value and brings satisfaction as well as surprising (self) revelations. Therefore it can afford to be more transparent.

To cut this short, why not re-introduce the qualified staff and make this an even more valuable experience? Paying for a course should not leave learners feeling we are being saved on by an educational institution or that only paying a little more would afford us teacher feedback.

por Marisela M

15 de Jan de 2017

I liked the course very much. For a foreign speaker, though, I found it particularly challenging. The nuances of words are particularly important when dealing with matters of style, and I struggled through the exercises, which I found a bit more "abstract" than those in preceding courses of this series. Maybe it was just self-consciousness... In any case, because I encountered this struggle, the course was helpful in making me think about how do I want to pursue my next steps in the process of creative writing -- should I continue in English, or should I try, instead, to do it in my native language? I am sure this is a question that many other students have asked themselves. I shouldn't conclude without saying that I do recommend the course, in any case.

por Michael H

2 de Set de 2016

This is the fourth class I've taken in the Creative Writing specialization program. As a whole, I enjoyed the class, with only a few notes to make. As with the other classes in the specialization, I feel the curriculum could be expanded upon, perhaps with assigned readings to help illustrate the points made in the lectures. Another thing I wish to note, albeit a minor one, is that the videos in this course particularly feel a bit cut up. It seems like several takes were combined into one video, which makes the overall presentation feel a bit jerky in comparison to other courses in the program.