Chevron Left
Voltar para Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Creative Writing: The Craft of Style da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
645 classificações
175 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Your style is as unique and distinctive as your face, your voice, except that you can choose it, you can can work on it, enhance it. In this course we will introduce aspiring writers to the art of putting pressure on written language. We will study the use of metaphor and imagery, and demonstrate how clarity, grace, and inventiveness in word choice are imperative to a story’s success. Writers will emerge with the revision skills essential to all writers of good stories and good prose....

Melhores avaliações

MS

Apr 19, 2016

Great class for the content I needed. I audited this class and benefited from the theory discussion and practical exercises. The class guided me to improve my writing style which was my ultimate goal.

LR

Dec 18, 2018

Lessons were well done, good mix of teaching and illuminating discussion between accomplished writers. Exercises are creative and well thought out. Feedback from classmates is generally helpful.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

por Jillian K

Dec 06, 2017

This course was an excellent blend of basics and simple intense assignments to practice the conc

por Ibrahim N

Mar 08, 2017

Very interesting and educating course. I am very happy that I had a chance to learn something about creative writing from the writer such Salvator Scibona.

por Andreea S

Dec 20, 2017

I had a lot of fun and learned so much! I enjoyed every video of this specialisation, every assignment, all the feedback, and the delivery of each instructor. Thank you so much!

por Ajay C

Nov 20, 2017

Very informative. The assignments are interesting and exciting.

por Sonia F

Sep 04, 2017

I think this has been my favourite of the courses up until now. I love the way Scibona expresses himself and involves the students with his passion for style and persuasive narrative!

por Emily F

Jun 21, 2016

This was a great class. I really learned a lot ... this is the type of class that will change someone as a writer. The quotes, the diagrams, the instruction, the assignments, the book recommendations ... everything was great. Thank you!! =)

por Matthew H

Nov 08, 2017

I really enjoy this guy's style. No pun intended! His conversational and sincere delivery keep you engaged.

por Casey

Mar 23, 2016

Excellent class for learning prose and editing. I wish there was a class to learn even more about the craft of style, an advanced class.

por Laura G

Oct 01, 2016

Excellent course! I appreciated the instructor's enthusiasm for the topic, and found his lectures thoughtful, interesting and enjoyable. I had several "ah-ha" moments, where things I had learned before but never solidly grasped came into sharper focus. (For example, the concept of "no ideas but in things," which Professor Scibona explains very well.) I think my writing will be greatly improved by putting into practice the things I learned in this class. I would love to see a "Part 2" that delves more deeply into the topics covered, and covers other aspects of the craft of style.

por Liliane M

Mar 09, 2018

I cannot the learning of this specialisation enough. So far it has been an amazing journey, which I could never had taken on my own. It has opened my eyes to an entire new universe. I have had my convictions turned upside down. Thank you all.

por Valerie H

May 26, 2018

Great course! Salvator is very engaging and knowledgeable. Would love to take a course from him in person.

por salima h

Mar 23, 2016

wonderful course, clear assignments, informative lectures. of all the classes this one changed my writing the most. I thought it would be the most extraneous of the series. I thought the plot and character class would be more important but in fact, just paying attention to style helped the movement of my stories - it forced things to happen, it forced a plot, it forced a character to do things. Scribona's advice is practical - use more nouns and verbs, pay attention to how you describe the world through the eyes of the characters, learn how to edit and so on. He helped me finally get a handle the POV i use all the time in writing, but never really understood, and so I used it badly.

Some of the other classes in the specialization were too heady, and not practical. But most importantly, Scribona's love for the written word was so apparent during the lectures that it elicited the same reverence in the students.

por Warren P

Sep 28, 2017

I think Salvatore did a great job of showing us how to think about style, both our own and that of other great writers. It was an enjoyable process for me and I am grateful for the opportunity to learn these new skills.

por Ana C O G

Jul 09, 2018

You surely need an advanced level of English to improve your skills.

por Amanda C

Apr 08, 2018

This course set me on the path to writing a story that I can be proud of.

por Zsuzsanna J

May 16, 2016

It is a very interesting course, but I think it is difficult to understand if somebody is not English speaker. However, I recommend this course to everybody who likes writing and wants to know more about style and text editing. The teacher is excellent, his explanations are clear. The exercises are funny and I could learn from them.

por Max H

Jul 07, 2017

i love his way of teaching. very educational and pedagogical. I'm a visual learner and this catered to me more than the other craft courses

por Federico B S

May 30, 2018

This is the best course of the series. His exercises are challenging and really push you to grow as a writer. Also, the materials on the forum really help you get a better sense of what he wants. I loved it.

por Jack H

May 16, 2018

As were all of the preceding modules, this was extremely informative, encouraging and rewarding. I cannot count the number of times I had started to write something and never finished it. I have had some really good ideas, and I've had a lifetime of really exciting experiences, yet they are bits of scrap paper in long-lost boxes. No more !! Now I carry notebooks and pencils everywhere I go. I number the pages, write and make illustrations constantly. I am trying to remember and resurrect the old stories and poems and am diligently trying to do the same with new things. These Wesleyan courses have been a turning point for me. The instructors seem like old friends, even though we've never met. Wonderful program.

~Jack Hayes

por Joan K C

Dec 20, 2017

One of my favourites in the Specialization. Inspiring!

por Fernanda B

Oct 25, 2017

I never thought I'd learn so much about things I thought I knew. Thank you.

por James D R

May 06, 2018

I have been absolutely delighted with the content provided in this course. The ideas suggested by the lecturer and his guests have been very beneficial to me.

The course has far exceeded my expectations.

por Amanda Y H

Feb 12, 2018

My favorite of the four courses in this specialization! While many people may be fantastic at what they do, they are not always great at teaching it, but this is not the case with Salvatore Scibona. He is a fantastic teacher and I learned so much from taking his course. Not only do I now have insight into everything I read (I find myself constantly analyzing other writers' work), I also feel that I have the tools to compose my writing efficiently and intriguingly. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who loves to write fiction!

por Matthias N Y

Mar 28, 2018

You have awaken my passions of writing. Your assignments helped me to improve. Could you please send me your email contact for further chat and details.

Many thanks.

por Barb B

Apr 25, 2017

Wonderful course! Really opened my eyes to new ideas.