Chevron Left
Voltar para Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Creative Writing: The Craft of Style da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
1,054 classificações

Sobre o curso

Your style is as unique and distinctive as your face, your voice, except that you can choose it, you can can work on it, enhance it. In this course we will introduce aspiring writers to the art of putting pressure on written language. We will study the use of metaphor and imagery, and demonstrate how clarity, grace, and inventiveness in word choice are imperative to a story’s success. Writers will emerge with the revision skills essential to all writers of good stories and good prose....

Melhores avaliações

MS

18 de abr de 2016

Great class for the content I needed. I audited this class and benefited from the theory discussion and practical exercises. The class guided me to improve my writing style which was my ultimate goal.

LJ

17 de dez de 2018

Lessons were well done, good mix of teaching and illuminating discussion between accomplished writers. Exercises are creative and well thought out. Feedback from classmates is generally helpful.

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de 300 Avaliações para o Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

por Alice L

25 de fev de 2022

The video presentations are excellent. The interviews with the various authors who share their experience and who provided key advice to improve a narrative were invaluable. I found this course especially valuable for tools to help with revision. My only complaint is with the peer review process. With my last assignment for week four in spite of conducting eight reviews of my peers' work, I only received two reviews and one of those reviews did not provide any helpful comments. I also noticed that of the eight narratives that I reviewed, two appeared to be "fake". The submitters did not follow the guidlines for the assignment. Were they spammers or hackers?

por Michael H

2 de set de 2016

This is the fourth class I've taken in the Creative Writing specialization program. As a whole, I enjoyed the class, with only a few notes to make. As with the other classes in the specialization, I feel the curriculum could be expanded upon, perhaps with assigned readings to help illustrate the points made in the lectures. Another thing I wish to note, albeit a minor one, is that the videos in this course particularly feel a bit cut up. It seems like several takes were combined into one video, which makes the overall presentation feel a bit jerky in comparison to other courses in the program.

por Sandy B

12 de nov de 2020

The instructor gives clear examples and good interviews on writing style. I expected it would cover different styles of writing, but was challenged to see that the things I thought of as grammar are important pieces of the story puzzle. How and where you use them matters.

I had one late submission and had to advocate for reviews after completing all four weeks. It can be frustrating, but II was not alone in it. The courses encourage peers to support each other and they do. Taking the time to read through extra submissions was an opportunity to internalize more of what I learned. Thank you.

por Freddie d M

17 de jun de 2020

The video's were all great and the exercises were really quite helpful. They all felt like they pushed me to try something a little outside of what I might be used to. The main issue with this and all the other courses is the feedback. It's extremely frustrating to give detailed feedback for pieces to quite often get very innane responses(or on more than a few occasions a single word). I know many of the people aren't native English but some moderation for the feedback would be great, perhaps in the same vain as the assignment.

por Marilyn G

11 de abr de 2020

While the subject matter was useful it was not always easy for me to follow the lectures / discussions. I know online learning can be challenging so I can only imagine that online teaching is extremely challenging as well. I did like the variety in presentation methods that Salvatore used and I also liked the various lessons we were assigned. However, I got very limited feedback from my peers in this course, moreso the others. Thank you for the opportunity for me to share your knowledge! I learn a lot.

por Christine W

13 de nov de 2018

I really enjoyed this class and got out of it exactly what I put into it. The only thing I disliked was the exercise where where the subject matter was specified and I had to write about that particular matter rather than creating my own. I get that the entire point of the exercise was to execute what the gist of the lesson was, but personally, I prefer to write about my own content rather than being restricted to A reacts to B and what is C.

por Tania R F

26 de nov de 2019

This was an interesting course that challenged me in many ways.. The only complaint I have is that it was too short; the concept can be difficult to understand (at least for me), so I would have liked it better if it extended to 6, or even 5 weeks, but I guess the system has been designed this way.

Prof. Scibona is a passionate lecturer, and definitely made me think outside the box...

Thank you Wesleyan University and Coursera!

por Paula S

14 de jan de 2022

As a writer who hasn't had formal training, this course gave me insight to the craft of style that I haven't had. Very good mix of presentation, reading, assignments. Peer grading is not my favorite (mostly because of having to wait for someone to review my work and the varying effort/quality of those reviews); however, I find good value in having to review other people's work. It solidifies the lesson for me.

por Melissa C

18 de mar de 2016

Great course on the application of style in fiction writing. Professor does reference a few books for further understanding and example. He explains things well and in a concise way, sometimes with the use of simple diagrams. Very effective and useful assignments and topics. The only drawback is that auditing students cannot receive peer review internal to the course.

por Syam M

25 de mar de 2021

Salvatore Scibona is probably the best instructor as far as targeting his course to the beginner students. I really enjoyed the course. One thing I like to see in all these courses is direct review of the instructors instead of peer reviews. While peer reviews help understand, the one that truly matters is the instructor's and that is missing in all these courses.

por Keith G

21 de out de 2019

I found this to be a very useful course. My only reservation is that some of the assignments were open to interpretation, so the peer reviews I received (and gave) were in some cases given from a different point of view from that of the author. That reduced the value of the feedback and therefore of the course itself.

por Andrea G G

15 de jul de 2020

I really enjoyed taking this course! The teacher is great! I've learnt a lot about using the right words and understanding what is relevant for the reader to know. The only problem is related to the feedbacks, as not every peer take it as seriously as they should.

por Le T L H

23 de jun de 2022

I did enjoyed the lessons but I wish the course on Coursera have strict rules for learners who are cheating. They really spoil the course. They didn't give feedback, leaving only one letter like "a", or "b" and they submitted inappropriate works, very annoying.

por Sahara Z F

16 de ago de 2020

The course is very good although I did have a problem with someone plagiarism my work. Besides that, the course offers some excellent tips and tricks. I think Coursera should install a plagiarism detector for all the assignments in the site though.

por Esther M

11 de nov de 2016

I made comments in the discussion board which I think would help with the assignments. I would like to see the idea of "style" communicated a little better, but I haven't seen the fifth course yet to know where it's all supposed to finish.

por Dorothy

8 de abr de 2020

Very good course, emphasizing brevity and clarity in writing. Main issue is that very few seem to be enrolled so reviews can be hard to get if you don't submit early. I found the other courses, reviews were relatively easy to get.

por Anne M

13 de jan de 2021

I enjoyed the course. There are some drawbacks... the peer reviews and discussion are not useful but the videos have a lot of good info and the writing exercises are fun and good practice.

por Emmanuel A

19 de dez de 2016

I felt this course was slightly tough. When it comes to the degree of strictness in passing, I had my share. I thank God I finally passed, though some peers are very hard to convince.

por Richard R

8 de mai de 2017

Interesting and helpful short talks on various aspects of writing style. Would be great if the course was offered as a more comprehensive version. What it touches on, it does well.

por Anjali R

7 de fev de 2021

The course was very useful, with great teaching, illuminating conversations with various writers, and interesting assignments.

por Kartik S

23 de abr de 2018

It was kind of fast and some tasks were really difficult compared to the other courses but it was a good learning experience.

por Konstantin T

22 de set de 2016

Having completed all four CW modules, I feel this was a tad "inferior" to Character. High quality overall, as always.

por Natali G

12 de mai de 2022

T​he lessons were really interesting, but the activities were more description-based rather than style-based.

por Nyema J

9 de ago de 2018

This has certainly improved my approach to writing with focus on word efficiency and precision

por Angela K

11 de fev de 2021

This whole specialization was amazing! Amy Bloom, Salvatore Scibona you are great tutors!