Chevron Left
Voltar para Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Creative Writing: The Craft of Style da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
946 classificações
272 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Your style is as unique and distinctive as your face, your voice, except that you can choose it, you can can work on it, enhance it. In this course we will introduce aspiring writers to the art of putting pressure on written language. We will study the use of metaphor and imagery, and demonstrate how clarity, grace, and inventiveness in word choice are imperative to a story’s success. Writers will emerge with the revision skills essential to all writers of good stories and good prose....

Melhores avaliações

MS
18 de Abr de 2016

Great class for the content I needed. I audited this class and benefited from the theory discussion and practical exercises. The class guided me to improve my writing style which was my ultimate goal.

LR
17 de Dez de 2018

Lessons were well done, good mix of teaching and illuminating discussion between accomplished writers. Exercises are creative and well thought out. Feedback from classmates is generally helpful.

Filtrar por:

226 — 250 de 266 Avaliações para o Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

por Sandy B

12 de Nov de 2020

The instructor gives clear examples and good interviews on writing style. I expected it would cover different styles of writing, but was challenged to see that the things I thought of as grammar are important pieces of the story puzzle. How and where you use them matters.

I had one late submission and had to advocate for reviews after completing all four weeks. It can be frustrating, but II was not alone in it. The courses encourage peers to support each other and they do. Taking the time to read through extra submissions was an opportunity to internalize more of what I learned. Thank you.

por Freddie d M

17 de Jun de 2020

The video's were all great and the exercises were really quite helpful. They all felt like they pushed me to try something a little outside of what I might be used to. The main issue with this and all the other courses is the feedback. It's extremely frustrating to give detailed feedback for pieces to quite often get very innane responses(or on more than a few occasions a single word). I know many of the people aren't native English but some moderation for the feedback would be great, perhaps in the same vain as the assignment.

por Marilyn G

11 de Abr de 2020

While the subject matter was useful it was not always easy for me to follow the lectures / discussions. I know online learning can be challenging so I can only imagine that online teaching is extremely challenging as well. I did like the variety in presentation methods that Salvatore used and I also liked the various lessons we were assigned. However, I got very limited feedback from my peers in this course, moreso the others. Thank you for the opportunity for me to share your knowledge! I learn a lot.

por Christine W

13 de Nov de 2018

I really enjoyed this class and got out of it exactly what I put into it. The only thing I disliked was the exercise where where the subject matter was specified and I had to write about that particular matter rather than creating my own. I get that the entire point of the exercise was to execute what the gist of the lesson was, but personally, I prefer to write about my own content rather than being restricted to A reacts to B and what is C.

por Tania R F

26 de Nov de 2019

This was an interesting course that challenged me in many ways.. The only complaint I have is that it was too short; the concept can be difficult to understand (at least for me), so I would have liked it better if it extended to 6, or even 5 weeks, but I guess the system has been designed this way.

Prof. Scibona is a passionate lecturer, and definitely made me think outside the box...

Thank you Wesleyan University and Coursera!

por Melissa C

18 de Mar de 2016

Great course on the application of style in fiction writing. Professor does reference a few books for further understanding and example. He explains things well and in a concise way, sometimes with the use of simple diagrams. Very effective and useful assignments and topics. The only drawback is that auditing students cannot receive peer review internal to the course.

por Keith G

21 de Out de 2019

I found this to be a very useful course. My only reservation is that some of the assignments were open to interpretation, so the peer reviews I received (and gave) were in some cases given from a different point of view from that of the author. That reduced the value of the feedback and therefore of the course itself.

por Andrea G G

15 de Jul de 2020

I really enjoyed taking this course! The teacher is great! I've learnt a lot about using the right words and understanding what is relevant for the reader to know. The only problem is related to the feedbacks, as not every peer take it as seriously as they should.

por Sahara Z F

16 de Ago de 2020

The course is very good although I did have a problem with someone plagiarism my work. Besides that, the course offers some excellent tips and tricks. I think Coursera should install a plagiarism detector for all the assignments in the site though.

por Esther M

11 de Nov de 2016

I made comments in the discussion board which I think would help with the assignments. I would like to see the idea of "style" communicated a little better, but I haven't seen the fifth course yet to know where it's all supposed to finish.

por Dorothy

8 de Abr de 2020

Very good course, emphasizing brevity and clarity in writing. Main issue is that very few seem to be enrolled so reviews can be hard to get if you don't submit early. I found the other courses, reviews were relatively easy to get.

por Anne M

13 de Jan de 2021

I enjoyed the course. There are some drawbacks... the peer reviews and discussion are not useful but the videos have a lot of good info and the writing exercises are fun and good practice.

por Emmanuel A

19 de Dez de 2016

I felt this course was slightly tough. When it comes to the degree of strictness in passing, I had my share. I thank God I finally passed, though some peers are very hard to convince.

por Richard R

8 de Mai de 2017

Interesting and helpful short talks on various aspects of writing style. Would be great if the course was offered as a more comprehensive version. What it touches on, it does well.

por Anjali R

7 de Fev de 2021

The course was very useful, with great teaching, illuminating conversations with various writers, and interesting assignments.

por Kartik S

23 de Abr de 2018

It was kind of fast and some tasks were really difficult compared to the other courses but it was a good learning experience.

por Konstantin T

22 de Set de 2016

Having completed all four CW modules, I feel this was a tad "inferior" to Character. High quality overall, as always.

por Nyema J

9 de Ago de 2018

This has certainly improved my approach to writing with focus on word efficiency and precision

por Angela K

11 de Fev de 2021

This whole specialization was amazing! Amy Bloom, Salvatore Scibona you are great tutors!

por Karl Z

23 de Fev de 2017

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=1854329571516504&id=100008184375757

por Claretta T W

1 de Mai de 2016

This course helped me in my writing. I enjoyed the feedback and the exercises.

por Keira O

30 de Out de 2020

I think this a great course. Precise and full of "glamorous" recommendations.

por Jennifer

3 de Jun de 2019

the idea are well presented and i think have made me a stronger writer.

por arya k s

1 de Mai de 2018

Its a great course to learn the craft of language and how to use it.

por Sophie S

24 de Ago de 2018

The exercises were really great. The lessons weren't very helpful.