Chevron Left
Voltar para Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Creative Writing: The Craft of Style da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
645 classificações
175 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Your style is as unique and distinctive as your face, your voice, except that you can choose it, you can can work on it, enhance it. In this course we will introduce aspiring writers to the art of putting pressure on written language. We will study the use of metaphor and imagery, and demonstrate how clarity, grace, and inventiveness in word choice are imperative to a story’s success. Writers will emerge with the revision skills essential to all writers of good stories and good prose....

Melhores avaliações

MS

Apr 19, 2016

Great class for the content I needed. I audited this class and benefited from the theory discussion and practical exercises. The class guided me to improve my writing style which was my ultimate goal.

LR

Dec 18, 2018

Lessons were well done, good mix of teaching and illuminating discussion between accomplished writers. Exercises are creative and well thought out. Feedback from classmates is generally helpful.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

por Alan F

Mar 08, 2018

Good course. Liked the reader writer arc lecture.

por Douglas P

Sep 14, 2017

Loved this course. I learned several new tools to call upon in my writing.

por Anastasiia A

Apr 06, 2016

Loved it! Clearly set and inspiring. A charismatic teacher.

por Ole D J

Mar 20, 2018

Awesome course.

Can feel the missing pieces slowly fall together in my writing for every assignment.

So happy this and other related courses were made available on Coursera.

Will mention the author as well as this course in my first book if I manage to get it published.

por Daniel C

May 21, 2017

Great job!

por Ian B

Jun 21, 2017

By far the most useful course in the Creative Writing Specialization. It really helps you revamp your writing by making it leaner and more focused.

por Gicela H y G

Mar 26, 2017

An excellent course dedicated to you developing your voice through tough exercises.

por Patricia R

May 16, 2017

I love it! great

por Lynn C

Oct 27, 2016

Thanks so much! Awesome course!

por Matthew J G

Sep 06, 2017

Out of all of the courses, this one is definitely the most enjoyable to write tasks for.

por Irina A

Aug 11, 2017

It was interesting and educational, teaching me skills about writing I didn't think I needed.

por James D R

May 06, 2018

I have been absolutely delighted with the content provided in this course. The ideas suggested by the lecturer and his guests have been very beneficial to me.

The course has far exceeded my expectations.

por Matthias N Y

Mar 28, 2018

You have awaken my passions of writing. Your assignments helped me to improve. Could you please send me your email contact for further chat and details.

Many thanks.

por Warren P

Sep 28, 2017

I think Salvatore did a great job of showing us how to think about style, both our own and that of other great writers. It was an enjoyable process for me and I am grateful for the opportunity to learn these new skills.

por Ana C O G

Jul 09, 2018

You surely need an advanced level of English to improve your skills.

por Zsuzsanna J

May 16, 2016

It is a very interesting course, but I think it is difficult to understand if somebody is not English speaker. However, I recommend this course to everybody who likes writing and wants to know more about style and text editing. The teacher is excellent, his explanations are clear. The exercises are funny and I could learn from them.

por Federico B S

May 30, 2018

This is the best course of the series. His exercises are challenging and really push you to grow as a writer. Also, the materials on the forum really help you get a better sense of what he wants. I loved it.

por Casey

Mar 23, 2016

Excellent class for learning prose and editing. I wish there was a class to learn even more about the craft of style, an advanced class.

por Liliane M

Mar 09, 2018

I cannot the learning of this specialisation enough. So far it has been an amazing journey, which I could never had taken on my own. It has opened my eyes to an entire new universe. I have had my convictions turned upside down. Thank you all.

por Valerie H

May 26, 2018

Great course! Salvator is very engaging and knowledgeable. Would love to take a course from him in person.

por Joan K C

Dec 20, 2017

One of my favourites in the Specialization. Inspiring!

por Fernanda B

Oct 25, 2017

I never thought I'd learn so much about things I thought I knew. Thank you.

por lisa r

Jun 17, 2016

I am just about to start week three. I am enjoting the close reading exercises, the tutorials are informative and the conversations are very illuminating. Very well set out.

por Elizabeth G

Aug 06, 2017

I am glad I took this last. The assignments are challenging and push me. A lot of learning here!!

por Maria-Isabel C

Dec 06, 2017

I really recommend this course. The content is clear and concrete and has helped me in a great way to understand the bases of what is important in style and what is not. Professor Salvatore Scibona transmits his experience and enthusiasm in a way that is easy to follow. Also the comments and contributions from the other teachers of the Creative Writing course and other writer guests were very useful for my understanding of this subject and practice in writing. The assignments were challenging for me and very interesting exercises.