Chevron Left
Voltar para Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Creative Writing: The Craft of Style da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
1,054 classificações

Sobre o curso

Your style is as unique and distinctive as your face, your voice, except that you can choose it, you can can work on it, enhance it. In this course we will introduce aspiring writers to the art of putting pressure on written language. We will study the use of metaphor and imagery, and demonstrate how clarity, grace, and inventiveness in word choice are imperative to a story’s success. Writers will emerge with the revision skills essential to all writers of good stories and good prose....

Melhores avaliações

MS

18 de abr de 2016

Great class for the content I needed. I audited this class and benefited from the theory discussion and practical exercises. The class guided me to improve my writing style which was my ultimate goal.

LJ

17 de dez de 2018

Lessons were well done, good mix of teaching and illuminating discussion between accomplished writers. Exercises are creative and well thought out. Feedback from classmates is generally helpful.

Filtrar por:

276 — 300 de 300 Avaliações para o Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

por Karl Z

23 de fev de 2017

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=1854329571516504&id=100008184375757

por Claretta T W

1 de mai de 2016

This course helped me in my writing. I enjoyed the feedback and the exercises.

por Keira O

30 de out de 2020

I think this a great course. Precise and full of "glamorous" recommendations.

por Jennifer

3 de jun de 2019

the idea are well presented and i think have made me a stronger writer.

por arya k s

1 de mai de 2018

Its a great course to learn the craft of language and how to use it.

por Sophie S

24 de ago de 2018

The exercises were really great. The lessons weren't very helpful.

por Ellen B G

14 de mai de 2016

I was helped by the lessons regarding choosing words carefully.

por Ravi K B

13 de mai de 2020

One of the challenging courses in this specialisation.

por Deleted A

22 de mar de 2017

Great, easy way to learn style. Highly recommend.

por Joseph A

30 de ago de 2018

A wealth of information.

por abrar a

24 de mar de 2018

challenging and engaging

por HEENA K

2 de nov de 2020

THANK YOU! SIR.

por jjay

18 de abr de 2016

great material

por Joseph S

29 de jun de 2022

As is true with the other courses offered in the Creative Writing specialization, the course itself is fine. The writing assignments are fun and sometimes challenging. The interviews with the visiting writers are interesting and the instructors for each course are well qualified. BUT - there are some major defects with the learning platform used by Coursera.

The most frustrating aspect of the learning platform is the peer feedback system. To be a good writer, one needs to hear critical feedback from readers that will help the writer hone their skills. In each of the four courses, the "feedback" was beyond weak, nearly non-existent. Most of the "peers" who reviewed my assignments would leave one word as their entire feedback. Or one dash sign, or one period or one comma. How is this helpful? It isn't and Coursera needs to address this major flaw in their platform.

In addition, some of the writing submissions that I received to read and provide feedback on were sometimes 5 years old. I understand that there may not be enough submitted assignments at any given time, but I would prefer to wait and receive fresh assignments so that my feedback might actually help the writer improve their skills. I'm sure that my feedback on a 5 year old assignment will never be viewed by the writer.

Unless and until Coursera addresses this annoying and frustrating weaknesses in their learning platform, these courses are practically useless and I cannot in good faith recommend them to anyone. It is for this reason that I am considering not completing the capstone writing assignment.

por Kristin L

5 de mar de 2017

The course information was great and the assignments were very helpful. What lost points for the course was not the content provided by Wesleyan, which was good, but the poor effort on the part of many of the fellow students to really work on constructive critiques. For each assignment I had at least one of the three peer reviews that was useless to me to improve my writing, sometimes more. There should be a way to rate critiques so that students can't move on if they don't do the work of critiquing well.

por Sayali V

25 de jun de 2020

The course is wonderful, but I have a complaint with peer graded assignments. A few students do not bother to write their own assignment and copy others' assignment. And it is very very disappointing when you get a review that you have copied someone's assignment, when actually someone else has copied yours. It was very disappointing to get such a peer review when I wrote my own assignment and someone else had copied it.

por Editha S

12 de fev de 2022

The exercises are really good. The lectures and discussions some what helpful. The so calld feed back from other students is terrible. Clearly a large number of students are getting credit and neither writing nor reviewing. It is extremely discouraging for the few of us really attempting to improve our writing skills.

por Duygu O Ç

2 de mai de 2020

This lecture helped me in some ways: I have now a clear idea of cutting a piece in a proper way or what do I need as the main subjects of a story. However, the guests speak so much that was really boring. Sometimes there was no meaning in it. Otherwise, the lecturer was fine and I like his style. Thank to him.

por Donald S P

24 de ago de 2018

Less focused than the other four. The focus on facts and things was helpful, but felt less like a revelation.

por harrisonyvette@yahoo.com

24 de out de 2017

It would be helpful to list what the learner should do in an assignment and exclude what they should not do.

por Robert H

8 de abr de 2020

the least effective of the 4. mainly because the assignment was too limited and the reviews were useless.

por No n

7 de dez de 2020

i was initially grateful to have something challenging to during covid. The peer reviews were somewhat helpful but for the most part, I expected some instructor review also. That would augment the learners ability to give appropriate feedback. As we hopefully improve and move along towards capstone, the necessity of having strong honest feedback is essential. When I realized it was not to be I was sorely disappointed.

The quality of the assignments was sad. Students are trying to succeed and need honesty. Most of them sucked, including myself, however, it is not my intent to rain on anyone’s parade. I do not feel the instructions were always clear or in depth enough ( on giving feedback; assignment submission). The videos were boring and a lot of unnecessary chit chat. When reviewing the notes, the written sentences had spelling mistakes and other flaws. It seemed as though written robotically.

Is there any actual human with any valid credentials actually looking at submission?

You are sponging off hopefuls who continue despite the fact that they should be told to keep their day job.

por Nysha c

3 de fev de 2018

It's ironic that Salvatore Scabona runs the course on economy when he seems unable to follow his own advice. There is an excessive amount of repetition, off topic quotes, lengthy videos about what's coming next and poorly thought through sentences that seem to be an effort to show off his knowledge, rather than impart it. It is stark against Brando's course which is so inspiring and motivating, that I find myself skipping huge sections of Salvatore's videos without losing any of the content. It is a shame, as the rest of the course and all the material is excellent.

por Megan L

25 de mai de 2017

The lectures were unclear as well as the instructions from the instructor I was disappointed.

por Bruce G

22 de jun de 2021

I got nothing from the student reviews I received.