Chevron Left
Voltar para Métodos de bioinformática I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Métodos de bioinformática I da instituição Universidade de Toronto

4.7
804 classificações
175 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I (this one), deals with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. The second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, covers motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. Both provide an overview of the many different bioinformatic tools that are out there. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course. Bioinformatic Methods I is regularly updated, and was last updated for January 2019....

Melhores avaliações

ED

Apr 27, 2017

Great course. All lectures provide a biological context for the tools you learn in the labs. The labs themselves provide a great introduction to the many tools available for bioinformatic analysis.

RG

Nov 05, 2017

I enjoyed doing the course. It is exciting to see how much one can learn from a few gene or protein sequences. Thank you for making the course understandable to a beginner in bioinformatics!

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Métodos de bioinformática I

por Gaurav k

Aug 28, 2019

Very well tought

por Shamsunnahar M

Sep 17, 2019

I had a very basic knowledge but this course help me to understand the use of all parameters and what is the objective for this.

por Muhammad A K

Sep 02, 2019

Very informative, Excellent way of Teaching , I really enjoyed it.

por Sara R C M

Sep 26, 2019

I have learned a lot. All the lectures and laboratories are carefully explained and prepared. The course teaches how to use different bioiformatic methods, but also explais in a clear and simple way the background behind. It is the first course that I do, and I am sure I will do more (at least Bioinformatic Methods II).

I liked a lot that there were explained also some research proyects done in the field of bioinformatics (e.g. the examples in Lecture 5), as well as practical applications.

por Ambarisha S

Oct 28, 2019

It was very informative in terms of theoretical as well as practical knowledge.

por Chui B J

Nov 05, 2019

It is a good basic course for beginner.

por Carlos M H

Feb 05, 2019

It was easy to follow, although some answers to the tests were wrong due to updates in the databases were are suposed to use. I wish it was a litlle more challenging (optional), but it porvided me with the basic knowledge to start my own learning.

por Carlos P L

Aug 01, 2018

Creo que es un curso interesante para introducirse y empezar a ver lo que es la bioinformática y la utilidad práctica que puede llegar a tener

por Rui W

Sep 21, 2018

Highly simplified introduction of bioinformatic methods which is easy to understand even for beginners.

por PEEYUSH Y

Apr 08, 2017

It is a very nice course for beginners. I learnt a lot from it. Thank you!

por Andreia S

May 16, 2017

great!

por Willan M

Apr 03, 2016

Muy bueno para aprender las bases de la bioinformatica

por Katherine B

Oct 16, 2017

Was a great course for beginners and those wanting a refresher on bioinformatic concepts.

por Roberto P

Apr 20, 2017

Very nice, I would have liked to go deeper in NGS and RNA seq but is good as starter, I recommend it!

por Nour S

Oct 03, 2015

A thorough course for beginners with very interesting labs! I was pleasantly surprised with how much and how easily I learned bioinformatics skills with this course. Well done!

por Aniruddha V

Nov 02, 2016

A short and sweet, to-the-point course. This course helped me in getting a hang of some of the most widely used softwares and techniques required for bioinformatics. Only issue-some of the questions in certain quizzes have been assigned wrong choices as the answer, which led to a lot of confusion. They just wouldnt accept the right answer, so you are forced to mark the wrong ones and proceed.

por Anne-Karina P

Oct 13, 2015

There was a lot of stuff I could immediately use for my work. some of the other stuff was good to know to better understand what can be done behind the scene.

por Javier M C

Sep 05, 2016

A very interesting course and a great starting point towards bioinformatics

por Nicolas S

Aug 31, 2015

As a biochemist, it is a nice refresher for me !

por Apurva A M

Sep 19, 2017

It is a good beginners' course, but I think you must provide some reading materials for experimental techniques discussed during lectures.

por Daniel O

Jul 24, 2017

A nice introduction to bioinformatic methods. I learned some useful skills from this course that I'll be able to implement in my future research. I would recommend that people who take the course do some reading outside of the course material as sometimes the lectures skim over things with an expectation that you know it all.

por Carlos M G V

Mar 01, 2017

Nice course, useful to know the most common tools used to do Bioinformatics

por OKELLO E O

Nov 23, 2015

enjoying it and its helping alot in my unit

por Thomas B

Oct 10, 2016

Very good starting point or restarting point for working with sequence data as a compuational biologist. Very clear course with good lab sessions.

por Patrick O

Nov 29, 2017

Great course for learning about current analysis methods and wonderful way to discover the amount of information you can extract from a DNA or protein sequence. Good explaining and summarizing of important bioinformatic content for begginers