Chevron Left
Voltar para Métodos de bioinformática I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Métodos de bioinformática I da instituição Universidade de Toronto

4.7
804 classificações
175 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I (this one), deals with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. The second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, covers motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. Both provide an overview of the many different bioinformatic tools that are out there. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course. Bioinformatic Methods I is regularly updated, and was last updated for January 2019....

Melhores avaliações

ED

Apr 27, 2017

Great course. All lectures provide a biological context for the tools you learn in the labs. The labs themselves provide a great introduction to the many tools available for bioinformatic analysis.

RG

Nov 05, 2017

I enjoyed doing the course. It is exciting to see how much one can learn from a few gene or protein sequences. Thank you for making the course understandable to a beginner in bioinformatics!

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Métodos de bioinformática I

por Susan M

Jun 21, 2016

I am interested in RNA-seq data analysis and lecture 7 was superb. Thank you

por AK

Dec 18, 2017

Interesting and course, covers the basis of all modern bioinformatics methods and the labs are interesting as well. Looking forward to doing part II now.

por Sebastian M

Mar 19, 2017

Great course easy to follow highly recommend it. Thank you.

por 夏永振

Jan 07, 2016

it is a very good courses. I learnt a lot about how to build a phylogenetic tree here.

por Petra N

Oct 26, 2015

I really enjoyed this course. The hands-on laboratories were very helpful and fun.

por Learner

Aug 22, 2015

The step where traditional biology end, bioinformatics starts...There is no doubt in that.

por Ahmed A A s

Oct 05, 2017

Very useful for molecular biologists and easy to understand

por Christopher O

Nov 03, 2015

Amazing, Excellent and Awesome

por Bart S

Sep 07, 2016

repeat the class

por Bettina L

Sep 17, 2015

Excellent course! The course is enjoyable and thorough, and at the same time, it does not require any deeper molecular biology knowledge or extra computational skills.

por Ji-Young K

Oct 03, 2016

Awesome course. The lectures are good and the lab portion is great. The lab really helps understanding how to use online tools and resources.

por Jarel E M T

Oct 26, 2016

Awesome!

por sandeep K

Jun 30, 2018

Best course to learn basics of bioinformatics.

por Jaime E B D C

May 14, 2017

Excelente curso, muy recomendado.

por Mohamed A E S S

Apr 04, 2019

It is a very great course that help me to learn more about that field of science and i hope to continue with more advanced levels

por José B D

Mar 24, 2019

Thank you very much!!

por Eric T

Jul 11, 2019

This is a great course to learn about the variety of tools available in Bioinformatics. The lecture videos give a general overview of the topics for the upcoming lab. The lab handouts were detailed and clearly explained each lab instruction step by step. Unless you are using these tools everyday, it is easy to forget how to use them because the labs cover only the basics. I have already forgotten a lot of the details from the earlier labs, but I know that being exposed to these tools will help me in the future if I ever encounter them again. I would recommend this class as a good overview of Bioinformatic Methods.

por Amal A M

Jul 24, 2019

really excellent for beginners very simple very effective

por Shayan s

May 07, 2019

great

por omar w

Aug 17, 2019

this course's lab is really amazing the only thing id recommend is to increase the number of questions in weekly tests

por GLADYS A R B

Aug 17, 2019

GREAT COURSE, WELL EXPLAINED, DETAIL BY DETAIL!!! THANK YOU A LOT!!!

por Roberto I L C

Aug 18, 2019

Amazing and well explained course...Lot of themes and information, some easy/difficult quizzes questions.

por NAAMALA J

Aug 24, 2019

It was very helpful

por César C C A

Sep 14, 2019

Very good. I learn a lot. The labs and tests were very interesting.

por Gonzalo V M

Oct 26, 2019

El curso me parecio bastante bueno, se entendió la mayoría de los conceptos, es un buen curso para introducirse en la bioinformatica