Chevron Left
Voltar para Métodos de bioinformática I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Métodos de bioinformática I da instituição Universidade de Toronto

4.7
804 classificações
175 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I (this one), deals with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. The second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, covers motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. Both provide an overview of the many different bioinformatic tools that are out there. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course. Bioinformatic Methods I is regularly updated, and was last updated for January 2019....

Melhores avaliações

ED

Apr 27, 2017

Great course. All lectures provide a biological context for the tools you learn in the labs. The labs themselves provide a great introduction to the many tools available for bioinformatic analysis.

RG

Nov 05, 2017

I enjoyed doing the course. It is exciting to see how much one can learn from a few gene or protein sequences. Thank you for making the course understandable to a beginner in bioinformatics!

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Métodos de bioinformática I

por Olena P

Dec 24, 2015

Really great course.

por Michael E L

Jul 28, 2017

Fantastic first intro course into Bioinformatics and greatly look forward to the second one.

por Bhupender S

Oct 28, 2016

One of the basic and efficient enough to get familiar with the world of bioinformatics. Must for the ones who wants to excel deeper in the field of bioinformatics.

por Shruthi K S

Jun 03, 2017

Nicely explained and the lab assignments are informative.

por Aram S

Nov 25, 2016

Excellent and informative course!

por Akanksha d

Feb 01, 2017

very useful

por Laura M

Jan 09, 2016

It was an excellent course! Very well explained and paced. Thank you, very much, Dr. Provart.

por Alexander K

Feb 05, 2017

The course is excellent, the lecturer is brilliant. Maybe it is a bit tough for students, also background in biology, chemistry and biochemistry is very helpful. Nevertheless I will recomend it to my advanced students because it absorbs and makes significant progress in understanding or the modern tools and techniques in bioinformatics. And the second part of the course is promised to be even more interesting.

por Jordan M

Aug 28, 2015

Great course. The lectures were very clear and informative. The labs were a very nice, easy way to get a hands on understanding of the tools being learned. Thank you!

por Bruno A T P

Dec 13, 2015

Very good and complete course. Even having some basic background with bioinformatics, this course was still valuable in order to further cement previously learned concepts, as well as learn some new concepts and tools.

por Luis P R

Jan 13, 2018

Great!!

por Guilherme A C

Jul 21, 2016

Very usefull!! Who want to learn the basic methods of bioinfo i recomend this course!

por Drashtiben N B

May 31, 2017

Quite informative!

por Maristela P P

Nov 09, 2015

I like the classes!

It was hard but it worth all your effort.

See you on the next class!

por Negar P

Sep 14, 2015

It is very useful and helpful. Thank you very much Coursera and special thanks to dear Dr. Nicholas Provart.

por Reem A

Oct 06, 2015

I like it

por saroj p

Mar 23, 2016

good but lengthy videos..

por yihua w

Apr 06, 2016

quiz questions are well explained so much that I could follow easily! Good examples for learning!

por Jerónimo C

Jun 08, 2017

Wonderfull course!

por Lucas E

Apr 13, 2018

A great course with great contents! You should take it!

por Cindy

Oct 08, 2015

Set such a solid foundation for beginners to start their research career using bioinformatic tools!

por Leah B

Dec 31, 2015

It's great that the course is self-paced, I could start the course immediately to learn things that I immediately need in my work and classes. The bioinformatics tools discussed in this course are very helpful and explained in a clear manner. The instructor provides a lot of useful tips. In all, this course touches upon each of the major fields of bioinformatics that any student entering the field should know. It is suitable for those who are knew to this field, and also fascinating for those who have some prior knowledge.

por Artur H B

Apr 23, 2017

I learned many concepts in molecular biology and also how to use some tools to run genetic data. I'm so thankful for the opportunity to have been engaged in this amazing course.

por Alejandra R S

Mar 04, 2016

Excellent course, I've learnt a lot. Maybe the labs are a little "do what I'm saying", but that is only if you are looking for the Certificate. If you dedicate enough time to read and "play" a little bit, it's a very complete course.

por Zhao Y

Oct 29, 2015

the instructor is really harsh, don't piss him off!