Chevron Left
Voltar para Métodos de bioinformática I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Métodos de bioinformática I da instituição Universidade de Toronto

4.7
803 classificações
175 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I (this one), deals with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. The second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, covers motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. Both provide an overview of the many different bioinformatic tools that are out there. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course. Bioinformatic Methods I is regularly updated, and was last updated for January 2019....

Melhores avaliações

ED

Apr 27, 2017

Great course. All lectures provide a biological context for the tools you learn in the labs. The labs themselves provide a great introduction to the many tools available for bioinformatic analysis.

FJ

Feb 06, 2017

The videos were very clear on how to use various bioinformatic tools. I found no difficulty in understanding them. Really enjoyed the course. Looking forward to the next part of this course!

Filtrar por:

151 — 168 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Métodos de bioinformática I

por Carlos M G V

Mar 01, 2017

Nice course, useful to know the most common tools used to do Bioinformatics

por Nicolas S

Aug 31, 2015

As a biochemist, it is a nice refresher for me !

por Sourav P

Jul 11, 2017

It Was A Very Interesting Course For My First Introduction To Bioinformatics. It Changed My Views That Biological Discoveries Only Involves Working In A Laboratory With Chemicals And Biological Samples.

It Felt Really Interesting That Even In Biology We Can Use Computer Software's To Generate Results Which Are Of Immense Importance To Scientists & Researchers.

por Patrick O

Nov 29, 2017

Great course for learning about current analysis methods and wonderful way to discover the amount of information you can extract from a DNA or protein sequence. Good explaining and summarizing of important bioinformatic content for begginers

por PEEYUSH Y

Apr 08, 2017

It is a very nice course for beginners. I learnt a lot from it. Thank you!

por Rui W

Sep 21, 2018

Highly simplified introduction of bioinformatic methods which is easy to understand even for beginners.

por Carlos P L

Aug 01, 2018

Creo que es un curso interesante para introducirse y empezar a ver lo que es la bioinformática y la utilidad práctica que puede llegar a tener

por Guangyuan L

Jul 24, 2019

an introductory course, but if you wanna delve into detail, you need to spend way more time on it

por Teresa S A

Jul 10, 2019

Sometimes the information It's not that clear, they show basic information and then is hard to underestand everything to set it toghether. Any way, so usefull and interesting and a good way to get close to this tecniques that are becaming son important nowdays.

por Hitesh J

Jul 07, 2016

This course is nice but very lengthy videos and at one points i didn't understand some topics , quiz are pretty tough to solve .

por Kagning T E

Sep 10, 2016

Thanks to this course, i am now understanding the principle and methodology of phylogenetics

por Federico M

Nov 15, 2015

Ho seguito il corso molto volentieri... molto carino, ma nonsufficiente per acquisire determinate conoscenze.

La Bioinformatica è una scienza molto ampia.

Tutto sommato bello ;)

por Arif S

Jun 08, 2017

Lab inspection should be more clearer .Pictured instruction will be more helpful.

por Manal E

Jul 23, 2018

Good course but I didn't liked the videos. He spoke too slowly. I guess, it would be better if the course offers besides to the video script a written script (such as in week 1).

por Takeshi M

Aug 21, 2019

The course lecture is not updated for more than 5 years, but the tools the lecture use is updated because of outer software or internet site.

I couldn't manipulate the tools as the course indicated because of above reason some times.

por David U

Jun 15, 2017

Very light on details. For many of the assignments, the target web site tools had changed, or produced different results than expected for the answers. I would have liked a lot more written material over the lecture material.

por Mathias V

Apr 15, 2017

Course depends too much on multiple third-party sites to be as enlightening as I had hoped. I learned about some great resources, but that's about it.

por Jonathan G

Nov 23, 2015

Painful to watch and boring as hell!