Chevron Left
Voltar para Métodos de bioinformática I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Métodos de bioinformática I da instituição Universidade de Toronto

4.7
estrelas
1,499 classificações
342 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I (this one), deals with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. The second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, covers motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. Both provide an overview of the many different bioinformatic tools that are out there. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course. Bioinformatic Methods I is regularly updated, and was completely updated for January 2022....

Melhores avaliações

SA
11 de Jul de 2020

This course is very well organized, easy to understand, and explained everything steps by step which will help to grasp the concept easily. If you are a beginner like me, you should take this course.

BA
2 de Nov de 2021

Bioinformatics 1 was very interesting and enlightening for me. I learnt practical skills which I can now apply in to ace an impactful career. Thank you so much Coursera for this amazing opportunity!

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 335 Avaliações para o Métodos de bioinformática I

por Arslan T

16 de Ago de 2018

Well, the course is well organized, but I think somethings should be included e.g. algorithms of phylogenetic tree methods (UPGMA, Neighborjoing etc).

Thanks a lot.

por Eliot A

15 de Dez de 2019

I found this challenging but very interesting and thought-provoking. A lot has happened since I did my undergraduate degree. This has inspired me to learn far more.

por Bhupender S

28 de Out de 2016

One of the basic and efficient enough to get familiar with the world of bioinformatics. Must for the ones who wants to excel deeper in the field of bioinformatics.

por NARAYANA S K

16 de Mai de 2020

Excellent teaching. Explanation before and after the laboratory was great help. Lab discussion after the lab really help us to solve if we have any dounts.

por CAT’s B

24 de Out de 2021

This is one of the most exciting & knowledge providing course, I did. Professor Provart explained all the things in detail & the labs were well-illustrated.

por prasanna d

8 de Nov de 2021

Excellent course for beginner and intermediate level. Highly recommending for undergraduate and postgraduate student those who like to learn bioinformatics

por Ofir S

28 de Set de 2015

One of the better courses I've taken, the combination of the hands-on labs and the review videos helps to understand some of the more complicated concepts.

por TCHANOU T R

27 de Mai de 2020

Very informative and straight to the point, the course master is a professional and the course was structured in a manner which facilitates assimilation

por A K

18 de Dez de 2017

Interesting and course, covers the basis of all modern bioinformatics methods and the labs are interesting as well. Looking forward to doing part II now.

por MARIO C

17 de Jul de 2020

The best course I've attended on coursera, the Prof. Nick Provart is always available to answer your questions. I'm looking forward to start module 2.

por obasi r

18 de Jun de 2020

Wonderful course, wonderful experience, wonderful exposure and new skills learnt. A big thank you to the organisers and lecturers for putting this up.

por Romit B

3 de Jun de 2020

Very informative course, and Professor Nicholas has explained everything in such an easy manner, I had fun doing this course and also learned a lot

por Ravindra K

8 de Jan de 2019

A lot of hard work is needed to prepare such kind of courses and lot of reading is required.

Thank you for providing such courses to us thank you

por Fredy L V

29 de Jun de 2020

This was a high quality course with well organized information. I enyojed it, I am excited to apply all in my career. Thank you for sharing it

por Saruar A

1 de Dez de 2017

Thank you so much dear professor Provart , really this course was enjoyable and It helped me a lot to develop my foundation in bioinformatics.

por Manal A

22 de Jun de 2020

A very informative course and it was fun going through all the softwares. I got to learn many basic skills of bioinformatics in a simple way.

por Ji-Young K

2 de Out de 2016

Awesome course. The lectures are good and the lab portion is great. The lab really helps understanding how to use online tools and resources.

por SHARON K

19 de Abr de 2020

Excellent course for beginners. I have lot of experiments that now I can use it in my research. Very simply explained and interesting labs.

por Lerry D P S

25 de Mai de 2020

It is awesome! I got a new knowledge in bioinformatic. I recommended this course for everyone just for to know the basic. Just explore it.

por Dr. S S

18 de Jun de 2021

Excellent course with good assignments for learning, I loved the hands on training to use various websites and tools for data analysis.

por Sara L O

6 de Jul de 2020

I truly recommend this course because in the labs you can practice all the theory you have learn and I really like the methodology .

por Nicholas Y

19 de Mar de 2020

Excellent course to explore the basics and fundamentals for multiple bioinformatics data type analysis. Great job still updating it.

por Gonzalo V M

26 de Out de 2019

El curso me parecio bastante bueno, se entendió la mayoría de los conceptos, es un buen curso para introducirse en la bioinformatica

por D S

13 de Jan de 2016

Good campaign for abolishing illiteracy.

It would be good to update answers for the final quiz (BLAST search and phylogenetic assay).

por Mohamed A E S S

4 de Abr de 2019

It is a very great course that help me to learn more about that field of science and i hope to continue with more advanced levels