Chevron Left
Voltar para Métodos de bioinformática I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Métodos de bioinformática I da instituição Universidade de Toronto

4.7
804 classificações
175 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I (this one), deals with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. The second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, covers motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. Both provide an overview of the many different bioinformatic tools that are out there. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course. Bioinformatic Methods I is regularly updated, and was last updated for January 2019....

Melhores avaliações

ED

Apr 27, 2017

Great course. All lectures provide a biological context for the tools you learn in the labs. The labs themselves provide a great introduction to the many tools available for bioinformatic analysis.

RG

Nov 05, 2017

I enjoyed doing the course. It is exciting to see how much one can learn from a few gene or protein sequences. Thank you for making the course understandable to a beginner in bioinformatics!

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Métodos de bioinformática I

por Artur H B

Apr 23, 2017

I learned many concepts in molecular biology and also how to use some tools to run genetic data. I'm so thankful for the opportunity to have been engaged in this amazing course.

por Alejandra R S

Mar 04, 2016

Excellent course, I've learnt a lot. Maybe the labs are a little "do what I'm saying", but that is only if you are looking for the Certificate. If you dedicate enough time to read and "play" a little bit, it's a very complete course.

por Zhao Y

Oct 29, 2015

the instructor is really harsh, don't piss him off!

por Patrícia P

May 25, 2018

Great course!

por Rajeswara R E

Sep 04, 2017

This course gives good knowledge in Bioinformatics basics.

por Sara32Zgz

Mar 17, 2017

Es un curso muy útil y completo

por PEDRO M C

Sep 26, 2017

Great course

por Giovanny A

Nov 10, 2015

Excelente Curso, muy bueno, didactico y con excelentes aplicaciones

por Sam G

Dec 03, 2016

An excellent course that expands on previously known topics in life sciences.

por Adna A

Aug 15, 2017

The course is thought by an amazing instructor who was obviously giving his best to explain the basic concepts in bioinformatics to his audience! I would especially emphasize how useful labs were, as well as the quality of weekly quizzes and the final course assignment. I am recommending this course to beginners in bioinformatics with prior background in genetics, molecular biology, or at least in biology in general, as well as to everyone who would like to refresh their memory and develop bioinformatics-friendly way of thinking.

por José P C I

Aug 30, 2015

Excellent.

por Farbod E L

Sep 03, 2015

It was really useful for me.

por Lukas B

Jan 24, 2016

Very good course for beginners!

por Mim A

Jan 19, 2016

It was very well taught, I very much enjoyed taking this course and I appreciate producers efforts.

por Adrian B

Apr 30, 2016

Great Introduction to the topics and broad concepts of bioinformatics. If you are looking for a course that goes gives you a sense of the breadth of the field, this is the place to start. The learn-at-your-own-pace was also great for me, since time commitments and travel schedules make it difficult for me to block out a set time each week to complete each lesson-- so the flexibility was great!

por Saruar A

Dec 01, 2017

Thank you so much dear professor Provart , really this course was enjoyable and It helped me a lot to develop my foundation in bioinformatics.

por Elif K

Nov 23, 2015

It is really useful and informative course to learn the basis of bioinformatic methods.

por Hosain A

Sep 30, 2016

thank you

por Fiza A J

Feb 06, 2017

The videos were very clear on how to use various bioinformatic tools. I found no difficulty in understanding them. Really enjoyed the course. Looking forward to the next part of this course!

por kim t c

Sep 11, 2017

The course is very useful and practical, especially the lab and the lab discussion. The materials are very clear explained. I would like to thank the instructor for such an useful course!

por Arpan K B

Feb 02, 2018

Spectacular, just earned a degree in BioInfo 101. Thanks professor..

por Luis P R

Jan 13, 2018

Great!!

por osama k

Sep 11, 2017

a perfect course given by a perfect professor, thanks prof. Provart and thanks Coursera

por Mohammad K

May 16, 2018

very informative Course

por Padma S

Jul 09, 2017

A fully recommended course for those who wish to understand the basics and strengthen their skills in Bioinformatics. A well-designed and precise course. Thank you Dr. Nicholas Provart. :-)