Chevron Left
Voltar para Métodos de bioinformática I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Métodos de bioinformática I da instituição Universidade de Toronto

4.7
estrelas
963 classificações
220 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I (this one), deals with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. The second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, covers motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. Both provide an overview of the many different bioinformatic tools that are out there. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course. Bioinformatic Methods I is regularly updated, and was completely updated for January 2020....

Melhores avaliações

ED

Apr 27, 2017

Great course. All lectures provide a biological context for the tools you learn in the labs. The labs themselves provide a great introduction to the many tools available for bioinformatic analysis.

RG

Nov 05, 2017

I enjoyed doing the course. It is exciting to see how much one can learn from a few gene or protein sequences. Thank you for making the course understandable to a beginner in bioinformatics!

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Métodos de bioinformática I

por Ji-Young K

Oct 03, 2016

Awesome course. The lectures are good and the lab portion is great. The lab really helps understanding how to use online tools and resources.

por SHARON K

Apr 19, 2020

Excellent course for beginners. I have lot of experiments that now I can use it in my research. Very simply explained and interesting labs.

por Lerry D P S

May 25, 2020

It is awesome! I got a new knowledge in bioinformatic. I recommended this course for everyone just for to know the basic. Just explore it.

por Yafremau N

Mar 19, 2020

Excellent course to explore the basics and fundamentals for multiple bioinformatics data type analysis. Great job still updating it.

por Gonzalo V M

Oct 26, 2019

El curso me parecio bastante bueno, se entendió la mayoría de los conceptos, es un buen curso para introducirse en la bioinformatica

por Dmitri S

Jan 13, 2016

Good campaign for abolishing illiteracy.

It would be good to update answers for the final quiz (BLAST search and phylogenetic assay).

por Mohamed A E S S

Apr 04, 2019

It is a very great course that help me to learn more about that field of science and i hope to continue with more advanced levels

por Shamsunnahar M

Sep 17, 2019

I had a very basic knowledge but this course help me to understand the use of all parameters and what is the objective for this.

por Sael M A

Dec 05, 2017

Great course fro beginners, highly recommended for people who are going to have some bioinformatic aspects in their projects.

por Wambui K

Nov 14, 2018

The course was excellent. The labs give a practical feel of what Bioinformatics is. Great work. Looking forward to Part II.

por Roman P

Nov 04, 2018

bioinformatics guide for practical work, great observation of last common use programs and clear explanation of methods

por omar w

Aug 17, 2019

this course's lab is really amazing the only thing id recommend is to increase the number of questions in weekly tests

por Suhas G

Nov 06, 2016

A very well structured course with graded difficulty and accurate instructions. Throughly enjoyed being a part of it.

por Cristian V Z

Mar 14, 2016

Great and indepth introduction for those interested in learning bioinformatics. Next stop: Bioinformatic Methods II

por Ivana R

Jun 21, 2017

All lectures are well explained and in proper construction. Lab discussions help to internalize the material well.

por Roman S

Jan 08, 2017

It was a relevant course teaching basic bioinformatics. the course was well-structured and not hard-to follow

por Negar P

Sep 14, 2015

It is very useful and helpful. Thank you very much Coursera and special thanks to dear Dr. Nicholas Provart.

por Waseem A A

May 02, 2020

Vey well-designed, very informative, and interesting. One of the best online courses about Bioinformatics.

por Roberto I L C

Aug 18, 2019

Amazing and well explained course...Lot of themes and information, some easy/difficult quizzes questions.

por Muhammad Z M

Jun 29, 2018

thanku so much for this course really the mentor nicholas is a great teacher and i have enjoy the course.

por G. P

Jun 20, 2017

I can understand each and everything clearly, really a good course for basic learners in Bioinformatics.

por Mesut O

Oct 27, 2018

Assessments were stressful. I felt that I've learned the some fundamentals of Computational Biology

por Mim A

Jan 19, 2016

It was very well taught, I very much enjoyed taking this course and I appreciate producers efforts.

por Cindy

Oct 08, 2015

Set such a solid foundation for beginners to start their research career using bioinformatic tools!

por Premanand

Dec 22, 2017

Very useful beginner course for Biologists who want to use Bioinformatics tools in their research