Chevron Left
Voltar para Métodos de bioinformática I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Métodos de bioinformática I da instituição Universidade de Toronto

4.7
estrelas
1,113 classificações
265 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I (this one), deals with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. The second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, covers motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. Both provide an overview of the many different bioinformatic tools that are out there. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course. Bioinformatic Methods I is regularly updated, and was completely updated for January 2020....

Melhores avaliações

SA

Jul 12, 2020

This course is very well organized, easy to understand, and explained everything steps by step which will help to grasp the concept easily. If you are a beginner like me, you should take this course.

ED

Apr 27, 2017

Great course. All lectures provide a biological context for the tools you learn in the labs. The labs themselves provide a great introduction to the many tools available for bioinformatic analysis.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 258 Avaliações para o Métodos de bioinformática I

por David U

Jun 15, 2017

Very light on details. For many of the assignments, the target web site tools had changed, or produced different results than expected for the answers. I would have liked a lot more written material over the lecture material.

por Stefano G

Sep 07, 2015

A good, interesting and attractive introduction to Bioinformatic methods. Professor Provart is able to make thing easy, whilst showing you how to exploit data and tools freely - well ... usually, they are for free - available on the Internet.

I suggest this course to everyone approaching the topic. Personally, I will also take Bioinformatic Method II to be initiated to elements of structural Bioinformatic methods.

The 5th star is missing because I would like to have some more insights about some underlying "reasons why". But, I reckon this as my own peculiarity.

Good job, Professor Provart! And thank you very much for this!

por Sanzida A A

Jul 12, 2020

This course is very well organized, easy to understand, and explained everything steps by step which will help to grasp the concept easily. If you are a beginner like me, you should take this course.

por Kawshik K P

May 02, 2020

I have two opinions about this course. POSITIVE OPINION: It is helpful because one can know about the online gene bank and solving problem using web access. NEGATIVE OPINION: The assignments or the quizzes of this course are not helpful. The questions are not that much clear and all the answers are not easy to find and the referred websites gives different results , so one can't understand whether he is right or wrong and one must apply trial and error sometimes. And the FINAL QUIZ is just a disaster, question is very unclear and lack of information and four out of that five question can't be answered without applying trial and error. In conclusion, I am grateful about the POSITIVE side, but I am very much dissatisfied of the NEGATIVE sides. Thank you.

por Takeshi M

Aug 21, 2019

The course lecture is not updated for more than 5 years, but the tools the lecture use is updated because of outer software or internet site.

I couldn't manipulate the tools as the course indicated because of above reason some times.

por Eric T

Jul 11, 2019

This is a great course to learn about the variety of tools available in Bioinformatics. The lecture videos give a general overview of the topics for the upcoming lab. The lab handouts were detailed and clearly explained each lab instruction step by step. Unless you are using these tools everyday, it is easy to forget how to use them because the labs cover only the basics. I have already forgotten a lot of the details from the earlier labs, but I know that being exposed to these tools will help me in the future if I ever encounter them again. I would recommend this class as a good overview of Bioinformatic Methods.

por Farah G

Nov 16, 2017

I've been on and off Bioinformatics beginner courses, without successfully completing any, until I took this course. Prof Provart gives the course in a way that is both challenging and inspiring, I was always looking forward to what I would study in the following course, so much so that sometimes I'd take two or three week's worth of courses in one! Thank you for making me believe I can traverse the intricacies of Bioinformatics with my purely biological training. I highly encourage absolute beginners to bioinformatics with no coding skills (like myself) to take this course. Many thanks Sir

por Adna A

Aug 15, 2017

The course is thought by an amazing instructor who was obviously giving his best to explain the basic concepts in bioinformatics to his audience! I would especially emphasize how useful labs were, as well as the quality of weekly quizzes and the final course assignment. I am recommending this course to beginners in bioinformatics with prior background in genetics, molecular biology, or at least in biology in general, as well as to everyone who would like to refresh their memory and develop bioinformatics-friendly way of thinking.

por Leah B

Dec 31, 2015

It's great that the course is self-paced, I could start the course immediately to learn things that I immediately need in my work and classes. The bioinformatics tools discussed in this course are very helpful and explained in a clear manner. The instructor provides a lot of useful tips. In all, this course touches upon each of the major fields of bioinformatics that any student entering the field should know. It is suitable for those who are knew to this field, and also fascinating for those who have some prior knowledge.

por Benson N M

Sep 05, 2016

This course is great! The materials provided are topnotch. In addition, the instructor was very active in the discussion forums during the period i enrolled; He was very helpful. As well as students who had enrolled at that period of time. (July to September 2016)

I think anyone with some background in molecular biology can handle this course. Plus, do most of the labs in Firefox or any other browser namely Opera, Safari as an example. Google chrome doesn't support the Java apps you'll use in this course.

por Sara R C M

Sep 26, 2019

I have learned a lot. All the lectures and laboratories are carefully explained and prepared. The course teaches how to use different bioiformatic methods, but also explais in a clear and simple way the background behind. It is the first course that I do, and I am sure I will do more (at least Bioinformatic Methods II).

I liked a lot that there were explained also some research proyects done in the field of bioinformatics (e.g. the examples in Lecture 5), as well as practical applications.

por Alexander K

Feb 05, 2017

The course is excellent, the lecturer is brilliant. Maybe it is a bit tough for students, also background in biology, chemistry and biochemistry is very helpful. Nevertheless I will recomend it to my advanced students because it absorbs and makes significant progress in understanding or the modern tools and techniques in bioinformatics. And the second part of the course is promised to be even more interesting.

por PRABHJEET K

May 08, 2020

Very good course to build skills in bioinformatics. doing lab and analyzing the results - good experience. Thanku professor Nicholas for making lab sessions easy to do by giving every detailed instruction , step by step performing on MEGA X to do multiple sequence alignment and generating phylogenetic tree. Discussion forums that are really helpful to clear your doubts and augment your knowledge . Thanku

por Adrian B

Apr 30, 2016

Great Introduction to the topics and broad concepts of bioinformatics. If you are looking for a course that goes gives you a sense of the breadth of the field, this is the place to start. The learn-at-your-own-pace was also great for me, since time commitments and travel schedules make it difficult for me to block out a set time each week to complete each lesson-- so the flexibility was great!

por Margarida M d C

Mar 11, 2016

I personally found the course very useful. It provides a good overview of some of the most widely used bioinformatic tools nowadays, without being too demanding. That labs are particularly good, and you are able to explore at your own pace but with the necessary guidance. I have a background in molecular and cell biology, so I found it very easy to follow.

por Md. S H

Jul 06, 2020

I am very happy and much more pleased to see this course. Thanks to Mr Nicholas, I would say what a wonderful man. Before taking this course I do not have any knowledge of bioinformatics. But after finishing this course I have learnt a lot. But I would be happy if there are more section to practice for ourselves.

por Debabrata S

Dec 11, 2019

I have been searching a basic course on Bioinformatics since many days. This course really help to get that . I have learned lot of new things from this course. I feel lab work is very useful. And if anyone solve the quizzes that given after each module, then you can explore more on bioinformatics.

Thanks Prof.

por Abdullah A J

Jul 11, 2020

This course is really interesting to me, I've practiced a lot with the lab practice modules that have given throughout the course. I would recommend this course, to learn basics of Bioinformatics and look forward to complete Bioinformatics methods II. Thanks to instructor, Dr. Nicholas J. Provart!

por Mahveesh K G

Jun 07, 2018

As a beginner I found this course really easy to learn with all the lecture materials provided, it gives you a clear picture as to what bioinformatics is all about. The labs and the lab vedios are very interesting and clearly explained. Can't wait to start my second course. Thank you

por Carlos A C d S

Jan 06, 2016

The best course ever ! Easy, well teached and breathtaking.

This course helped me a lot in my university in my undergraduation. You can get a good knowledge about bioinformatics enough to work with it, and these teachings is necessary to improve skills to get better in this area.

por Jacqueline B

Jul 15, 2020

Extremely informative and practically very helpful. I've learned to use the theoretical knowledge that I've studied in my grad and post-grad. I'm glad I decided to take this course because it really helped me and I would recommend this course to students studying biotechnology.

por Suzanne S

Aug 24, 2015

Very practical introduction to bioinformatics tools from a biological perspective. Labs were excellent, and the quizzes were mostly well-designed. Only downside is that some required software/web tools are difficult to run on Linux, but that's unavoidable given the field.

por Nergiz Ç

Apr 30, 2020

I really wanted to learn bioinformatics, thanks to this course, I am very pleased to have taken a course suitable for me at the beginner level. it gave me a lot of unbelievable things, and sometimes it was a lot of fun even though I had difficulty. thankful :)

por Yuliia M

Apr 17, 2020

I absolutely loved this course! All labs were perfectly explained and Dr. Nicholas Provart answered all my questions. I hope that this course will help me with my future research and I will probably enroll next part Bioinformatics Methods II ! ;-)

por Alejandra R S

Mar 04, 2016

Excellent course, I've learnt a lot. Maybe the labs are a little "do what I'm saying", but that is only if you are looking for the Certificate. If you dedicate enough time to read and "play" a little bit, it's a very complete course.