Chevron Left
Voltar para Métodos de bioinformática I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Métodos de bioinformática I da instituição Universidade de Toronto

4.7
721 classificações
158 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I (this one), deals with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. The second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, covers motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. Both provide an overview of the many different bioinformatic tools that are out there. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course. Bioinformatic Methods I is regularly updated, and was last updated for January 2019....

Melhores avaliações

ED

Apr 27, 2017

Great course. All lectures provide a biological context for the tools you learn in the labs. The labs themselves provide a great introduction to the many tools available for bioinformatic analysis.

FJ

Feb 06, 2017

The videos were very clear on how to use various bioinformatic tools. I found no difficulty in understanding them. Really enjoyed the course. Looking forward to the next part of this course!

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Métodos de bioinformática I

por Shayan s

May 07, 2019

great

por Mohamed A E S S

Apr 04, 2019

It is a very great course that help me to learn more about that field of science and i hope to continue with more advanced levels

por José B D

Mar 24, 2019

Thank you very much!!

por Anupam b

Mar 22, 2019

yeah its good for all students, i think everyone must do that .

por MUHAMMAD U A

Mar 15, 2019

very informative course for basic study of NCBI and phylogenetic studies

por 陈禹衡

Feb 19, 2019

这些软件在学习和研究中都很可能会用到,很实用

por Carlos M H

Feb 05, 2019

It was easy to follow, although some answers to the tests were wrong due to updates in the databases were are suposed to use. I wish it was a litlle more challenging (optional), but it porvided me with the basic knowledge to start my own learning.

por Pranav S G

Jan 22, 2019

This course is so accurate and useful to the bioinformatic students and the science students who needs help with the computational biology. I would recommend this course to everyone.

por Ravindra K

Jan 08, 2019

A lot of hard work is needed to prepare such kind of courses and lot of reading is required.

Thank you for providing such courses to us thank you

por Md. S H

Dec 13, 2018

Just wow! The speciality is the discussion forums

por Miguel Á P P

Nov 30, 2018

Considero este curso de enorme utilidad para aprender de forma eficaz diversos aspectos de la bioinformática. Muy didáctico y bien organizado, por lo que lo recomiendo totalmente.

por Ahmed H

Nov 19, 2018

Very comprehensive and equipped with all basic techniques.

por Fridah G W K

Nov 14, 2018

The course was excellent. The labs give a practical feel of what Bioinformatics is. Great work. Looking forward to Part II.

por Roman P

Nov 04, 2018

bioinformatics guide for practical work, great observation of last common use programs and clear explanation of methods

por Mesut O

Oct 27, 2018

Assessments were stressful. I felt that I've learned the some fundamentals of Computational Biology

por 周冰莹

Oct 25, 2018

深入浅出,每个Lab讲解非常详细,很喜欢

por fatima

Oct 06, 2018

it was very useful course . thank you

por Rui W

Sep 21, 2018

Highly simplified introduction of bioinformatic methods which is easy to understand even for beginners.

por Arslan T

Aug 16, 2018

Well, the course is well organized, but I think somethings should be included e.g. algorithms of phylogenetic tree methods (UPGMA, Neighborjoing etc).

Thanks a lot.

por Carlos P L

Aug 01, 2018

Creo que es un curso interesante para introducirse y empezar a ver lo que es la bioinformática y la utilidad práctica que puede llegar a tener

por Yarenci A G

Jul 27, 2018

Excelente curso, muy recomendable

por Manal E

Jul 23, 2018

Good course but I didn't liked the videos. He spoke too slowly. I guess, it would be better if the course offers besides to the video script a written script (such as in week 1).

por sandeep K

Jun 30, 2018

Best course to learn basics of bioinformatics.

por Muhammad Z M

Jun 29, 2018

thanku so much for this course really the mentor nicholas is a great teacher and i have enjoy the course.

por Abigail G S

Jun 26, 2018

Excellent course ,excellent teacher, excellent actitivites.