Chevron Left
Voltar para Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.6
1,159 classificações
282 avaliações

Sobre o curso

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Melhores avaliações

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

PC

Mar 05, 2018

This course was alot more educational then I thought it would be but now I compare what has shaped me in in life to creep deformation. I especially loved the lecture " a play on good and evil".

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

por George A H

Jun 05, 2019

Helped me recall an overview image of the course I took in my 1st year in mechanical engineering.

por Dongming I

May 26, 2019

Excellent course to get a quick refresh on this subject.

por Christopher S

Feb 28, 2017

A short course, but I did come away with a better understanding of how materials behave at a molecular/atomic level. I already had some experience with semiconductor physics and some of the basic chemistry ideas. The deformation curve helped me cement how/why torque specs are developed and used. The eutectic and eutectoid explanations were also very helpful.

por Ishita B

Mar 09, 2016

Great course for refreshing your Materials Science knowledge and also for people trying to know if this is the right path of study for them....

por Beatriz S

Jan 28, 2019

Good overview of some basic things to take in account

por Ragab

Jan 18, 2019

very good presentation skills

very good materiel

thanks dr :James Shackelford

por Souryadeep B

Jan 31, 2019

Very useful course: can be finished in a short duration and gives valuable ready to use information.

por MOGULLURI V S

Feb 01, 2019

very good

por Raguraman K

Feb 22, 2019

A very concise course covering the essential concepts of materials science beautifully explained. I like the way Professor James negotiates through the topics.

por Sathyanarayanan J

Feb 23, 2019

It is a good course which provides a lot of knowledge.but i cant get my certificate after completion

por Sri N K

Feb 23, 2019

The explanation given in this course, even to the most confusing and commonly misconstrued of engineering phenomenons, is basic and self explanatory. I'd recommend this course to any engineer who's looking for a better introduction to material science!

por sabir h

Feb 25, 2019

excellent way of explanation...

por 付郁磊

Feb 14, 2019

pretty good, the professor deliver the lecture in a very vivid way and what really surprise me is that I can get so much knowledge from this short course.thank you, professor.

por Anwar U H

Feb 28, 2019

five star course!!

por Louis C

Mar 06, 2019

Very interesting choice of topics. An interesting mix of new material and things I had learned differently in various other disciplines (physics, chemistry, geology). Good course but not recommended if you haven't done high school and university chemistry unless you are very brave!

por Lucas F L d S

Mar 06, 2019

Great course! Awesome to review basic/intermediate knowledge of college classes.

por Liu J

Mar 14, 2019

thank you!

por Ernest R G

Mar 23, 2019

Very good course with lots of information well presented with practical examples in relevant contexts.

por Atta u h

Dec 05, 2018

improving my skills

por Dr. P P

Dec 26, 2018

Framed excellently to the beginners

por Pranshu A

Apr 07, 2019

This course was extremely helpful to me regarding the knowledge I gained. Moreover, I am very thankful that this course was provided to me under financial aid and I could avail such an experience which would not be possible otherwise.

por M.Natesh

Jul 19, 2018

It is easy to understand about material science for engineers.

por Talii M

Jul 29, 2017

Informative

por chery a m

Dec 11, 2015

nicely organized, clear explanations

por G S S A

May 31, 2017

very good