Chevron Left
Voltar para Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.6
1,135 classificações
279 avaliações

Sobre o curso

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Melhores avaliações

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

PC

Mar 05, 2018

This course was alot more educational then I thought it would be but now I compare what has shaped me in in life to creep deformation. I especially loved the lecture " a play on good and evil".

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

por Neha D

Jul 24, 2017

Great explanation of all the concepts!

por sanjeev k

Apr 11, 2017

course content was very good.It is a very good platform to learn about materials.

por Paolo M

May 31, 2017

It has been a good opportunity to refresh and reorganize items studied at university. Well clear lessons allowed me to understand every word, although subtitles were not always correct. I suggest this course to everyone who wants to refresh his knowledges in material science.

por Mahmoud S K

Mar 29, 2018

I think it will be better if you get deep in the content

but the course is very good and the instructor is very simple

por Anil K

May 16, 2018

great course

por Ritu T

Jun 16, 2018

Great course content , the professor has done a great job . Thank u

por Ismail H B

May 30, 2017

The general contents of the course are very satisfying. The connections between units (i.e. things) are very good and consecutive. Each topic has a connection with at least another one. Everything starts with Arrhenius and ends with Arrhenius. I appreciate Prof. James Shackelford for establishing such a connection throughout the course which makes whole subject fully understandable. However there were some numerical problems on some quiz of things (units). These numerical problems are so simple but there were not any example that shows the method how to interpret these problems to solve though. The trainee is supposed to solve these problems from the given equations. But it is sometimes hard to realize how to use the formula practically if one is not directly working on this specific subject. The other thing is about the semiconductor subject in where the n doped extrinsic semiconductors and the donor electrons with the energy level close to the conduction band are explained very good. Whereas there is no information about the p doped extrinsic sc's and acceptor holes with the energy level close to the valance band. Of course this course is about the material science and does not contain the electronics subject which is related with the electron flow under certain electric field. But I wish I saw the p-n junction with associated Fermi diagrams and how it shows the valve characteristics to the electrons under certain conditions of electric field. But anyway I got so many things that I need and I appreciate for these.

por Diego C

Jun 08, 2017

Fue un exelente curso se ha sido de mucha ayuda en mi carrera gracias.

por Darragh M

Sep 03, 2017

Good overall refresher on Materials Science for a Mech Engineer

por SHREYAS P

Apr 15, 2018

A very good course to learn the basics of material science

por Akshay T

Nov 11, 2017

An overall a good learning experience with great explaination.

por Ashish P

Jun 24, 2018

Beautiful course. Helped me a lot in the selection of materials for our rocketry team. I'll be sure to suggest this course to my fellow teammates. A big thumbs-up to UCDAVIS for this course.

por Emilio A G A

Jul 05, 2017

muy buen curso

por jason j p

Dec 05, 2016

Really great course to know about the basics of material science

por Ioannis Z

May 27, 2017

Robust course delivery!

por Danial T

Feb 18, 2018

Great for aspiring materials engineers to brush up on their basics

por Dean A A

Jun 23, 2017

Professor Shackelford has good and clear explanation about this course. Outstanding in presentation delivery. Please keep posting new course.

por Fabian P

Mar 05, 2018

Excellent introductory course! Full of interesting topics that would lead you to investigate further into this topic. Thanks Professor Shackelford!

por Anibal N

Dec 07, 2016

ESTE CURSO ME PARECIÓ DE LO MAS COMPLETO Y ENRIQUECERSE MI CONOCIMIENTO ACERCA DE LA INGENIERA DE MATERIALES

por Stavros D

Mar 15, 2016

It's been a great ride so far. I wish I was able to do a lab and experiment with the material we learn.

por Gavin H

Dec 08, 2016

As and organic chemist working in a materials company, mainly adhesives, I found this course to be an excellent introduction to material testing and material science in ge

por Kaleru s

Jan 28, 2017

OK

por Annamalai S

Jul 31, 2017

Really interesting and easy to understanding

por Erin M

Sep 15, 2017

This is a good refresher of mechanics of materials, but goes into the atomic level and semiconductors.

por Muhammad J A

Jan 23, 2016

The Course is designed so well by the UC Davis and Coursera. And the discussion forum is also really helpful for me while studying this course. It's really a great experience.