Chevron Left
Voltar para Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.6
1,110 classificações
278 avaliações

Sobre o curso

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Melhores avaliações

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

PC

Mar 05, 2018

This course was alot more educational then I thought it would be but now I compare what has shaped me in in life to creep deformation. I especially loved the lecture " a play on good and evil".

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

por Firas C

Jul 13, 2019

Very Good summary of Material science , instructive and very coherent with a great way of delivering information.

por Abhilash D

Jul 17, 2019

Excellent

por Shanmuga p

Jul 27, 2019

Nice

por Mohamad D S

Aug 02, 2019

Top

por Manikandaprabu

Aug 08, 2019

Nice one and good one

por Seong E ( S

Aug 08, 2019

it is very practically good lectures for engineers to understand fundamental and practical concept in material engineering.

por Pravin

May 22, 2019

Great oppotunity to learn many thing at ease. Thank you very much for providing such a great platform

por Merve Ö

Aug 18, 2019

I really liked the course. The instructor was very good. He defined the subjects very clearly and then gave interesting examples. I recommend this course, especially, for electronics engineers.

por Louie R

Sep 09, 2019

I have learned a lot! Thanks to this very comprehensive course. Very easy to follow lessons! The professor explained very well each section with great mastery of the subject matter. Thanks Prof JD.

por Paulina C

Sep 11, 2019

Course is very clear, interesting and easy to follow. It was a great way to recall some of the information.

por MANIKANDAN.V

Sep 12, 2019

Very helpful for my studies

por Georg J

Aug 26, 2019

like it , is a very good course with a charismatic teacher...

por BO-JUN C

Sep 15, 2019

It is a useful course for everyone to engage in materials science, logically showing each detail.

por Vijay S K

Sep 17, 2019

This course gives a brief knowledge about structure-properties correlation about materials

por Hans D K

Sep 03, 2019

Excellent overview of primarily mechanical properties in metals which I found very useful to understand metal's value in use.

por Pablo A M P

Sep 29, 2019

very interesting course, gives you a different perspective of the surrounding thin

por muhammad a

Oct 12, 2019

very useful

por Whitney K

Oct 13, 2019

Great refresher regarding material engineering; remember structure leads to properties.

por Khajan C L

Feb 13, 2019

It was very great experience learning through coursera.

por Kaustav M

Sep 16, 2018

Thanks for explaining the subject in very simple manner.

por DEEPAK K P

Sep 16, 2018

A nice 'refreshing the knowledge' course if you have prior idea of the subject else it is very introductory, not at all for advanced learners.

por Simon L

Oct 01, 2018

I liked the course, good fundamental knowledge.

It lacked examples, but overall it was imperative to know as an engineer

por Karunanidhi R

Oct 23, 2018

Experimental videos and detailed explanation helped to understand the subject better way

por Khaled M A

Jan 14, 2017

Good course overall but I hoped to know more about polymers and advanced materials.

por Ricardo A B

Dec 28, 2015

Good introductory course. It could use a little bit more presence from the responsibles though.