Chevron Left
Voltar para Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.6
1,053 classificações
259 avaliações

Sobre o curso

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Melhores avaliações

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

PC

Mar 05, 2018

This course was alot more educational then I thought it would be but now I compare what has shaped me in in life to creep deformation. I especially loved the lecture " a play on good and evil".

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

por Beatriz S

Jun 05, 2019

great course!!! the professor is very good explaining concepts and extrapolating this information into practical applications in the laboratory experiments

por Firas C

Jul 13, 2019

Very Good summary of Material science , instructive and very coherent with a great way of delivering information.

por Abhilash D

Jul 17, 2019

Excellent

por Shanmuga p

Jul 27, 2019

Nice

por Mohamad D S

Aug 02, 2019

Top

por Manikandaprabu

Aug 08, 2019

Nice one and good one

por Seong E ( S

Aug 08, 2019

it is very practically good lectures for engineers to understand fundamental and practical concept in material engineering.

por Merve Ö

Aug 18, 2019

I really liked the course. The instructor was very good. He defined the subjects very clearly and then gave interesting examples. I recommend this course, especially, for electronics engineers.

por Khajan C L

Feb 13, 2019

It was very great experience learning through coursera.

por Kaustav M

Sep 16, 2018

Thanks for explaining the subject in very simple manner.

por DEEPAK K P

Sep 16, 2018

A nice 'refreshing the knowledge' course if you have prior idea of the subject else it is very introductory, not at all for advanced learners.

por Simon L

Oct 01, 2018

I liked the course, good fundamental knowledge.

It lacked examples, but overall it was imperative to know as an engineer

por Karunanidhi R

Oct 23, 2018

Experimental videos and detailed explanation helped to understand the subject better way

por Khaled M A

Jan 14, 2017

Good course overall but I hoped to know more about polymers and advanced materials.

por Ricardo A B

Dec 28, 2015

Good introductory course. It could use a little bit more presence from the responsibles though.

por Hadar G

Apr 12, 2016

Basic course that give important information for every engineer. The course material is presented in a clear way.

por amit a

Jan 15, 2016

more elabration will make the couse more exciting.thanks

por Adrian E G C

Nov 13, 2016

Fue un excelente curso, abarca una amplia gama del comportamiento y propiedades de los materiales que ayudan a entender el comportamiento y funcionamiento de estos en relación de su entorno y uso.

por Ishita B

Mar 09, 2016

Great course for refreshing your Materials Science knowledge and also for people trying to know if this is the right path of study for them....

por Víctor P V

Dec 07, 2016

The course is agood review for engineers, I'll recomend you strongly

por Jan K

Feb 12, 2017

Very good overview of material science - lecturer did not get too deep inside each of the issues but he gave us an overview with hints for future studies.

por mostafa M M S

Sep 13, 2016

i did not like the subject at college and i enrolled in this course hoping to understands any thing

this course makes me love the subject really i liked it now but i did not like the last week and i still have trouble with phase diagram

this course is introductory to concept

it is not detailed course so i think it is perfect course for people like me

por HENRIQUE G R

Jan 28, 2018

The course was really good, but I think the last subject was a little bit confused.

por Abhishek T

Mar 16, 2016

Very Helpful Course

por Roy M

Mar 14, 2017

I took this course as a review. I took Intro. to Materials Science 26-years ago. We used Dr. Shackelford's textbook for that class. Mat