Chevron Left
Voltar para Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.6
1,051 classificações
258 avaliações

Sobre o curso

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Melhores avaliações

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

PC

Mar 05, 2018

This course was alot more educational then I thought it would be but now I compare what has shaped me in in life to creep deformation. I especially loved the lecture " a play on good and evil".

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

por C. A K Y

Sep 11, 2018

got to learn many things. cleared my basics

por Carlos H R

Sep 26, 2018

it helps a lot

por Eric E

Sep 13, 2018

Good course to refresh what was learned in college

por Jitendra C

Aug 12, 2018

Good

por MORRISRAJA P

Aug 15, 2018

very useful course and detailed explanation are given.

por BERTHING J G B

Sep 04, 2018

brought me, some good general ideas about enginering materials

por John K

Oct 18, 2018

Great class on materials and how crystal and atomic bonds lead to material properties. The chapter on semiconductors was new material for me and very valuable to introduce me to valence and conduction bands. The other material was good review for me as a Mech. Eng.

por John F S

Oct 17, 2018

Dr. Shackelford has a knack for explaining engineering principles well. Thank you!

por Maria E X d S

Oct 27, 2018

Is a great course to review topics related to materials engineering. I recommend for new graduates or for those who want to start college.

por Karthikeyan B

Oct 27, 2018

Thank you for the very useful course !

A must for Engineers associated with materials.

por Md Z S

Oct 28, 2018

simply the best

por Tiwari S R

Nov 16, 2018

great learning

nicely explained in a very shot span

por M.Natesh

Jul 19, 2018

It is easy to understand about material science for engineers.

por HungHui C

Oct 12, 2018

learn more knowledge

por Venkatesh N

Sep 19, 2018

Good topic to learn for mechanical enginners

por JACOB O O

Aug 08, 2018

This is one of the best course I have taken on Material Science! Down to earth explanatory, indeed every Engineer should know these basics. Thank you.

por Sayan B

Mar 03, 2017

The technique with which Dr. James Shakelford has taught this course is amazing

por Tamu S

Feb 22, 2016

I've done my Bachelor's in Mechanical Engineering in one of the best colleges in India, and yet this course makes me understand the roots of Material Science & Engg. better than my 4 years spent in college.

por Rishikesh G R

Jun 23, 2017

Great course as an introduction to the subject and while revising as it goes though all the important points.

por Darlan V B

Nov 25, 2016

The course gives a lot of good informations that engineers should know in the everyday life. The professor James Shackelford explain the subjects in a very clear and objective way with a lot of practical examples.

por Moez B

Jul 12, 2016

Excellent course on the basics of properties of materials. It is a well-designed, well-delivered course on the essentials in materials science. Thanks for a fun course.

por Ferchichi Y

May 08, 2017

Thank you for this interesting and very well presented course!

por yesung k

Nov 13, 2016

Fantastic course! I do hope that I would be able to learn from Professor Shackelford later on.

por yashar k s

Jan 01, 2016

Best

por Zainul

Dec 10, 2015

Nice, this is by far my most exciting course, i am only 17 and in my country i don't learn a wide range of science in my syllabus. This helps me understood a lot.