Chevron Left
Voltar para Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.6
1,053 classificações
259 avaliações

Sobre o curso

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Melhores avaliações

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

PC

Mar 05, 2018

This course was alot more educational then I thought it would be but now I compare what has shaped me in in life to creep deformation. I especially loved the lecture " a play on good and evil".

Filtrar por:

226 — 250 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

por Dnyandeep M

Aug 26, 2017

This course is meant for every engineer and one should take this course. It is very salient to engineering fields and consist varied subjects brief but essential knowledge.

por Robert S M

May 21, 2018

Loved the course. Dr. Shackelford made the subject fun and interesting, but be sure to pay close attention to what he says!

por Jeet D

Feb 01, 2016

interesting . very good for engineering students specially in first year and beneficial for branches like mechanical, civil , structural , etc.

por NITESH S

Mar 13, 2016

good course for refreshing knowledge in material science ; should have been more elaborate

por Carlos C A

Jul 25, 2017

A useful course with interesting content. The professor teaches very well and one is able to understand the subjects easily.

por ARIVAZHAGAN S

May 05, 2019

nil

por Pavel K

Apr 01, 2019

Gives good general knowledge, but it might have more live examples and demonstrations

por Hemant R

Jun 17, 2019

The course conten

por Guillermo G S

Jun 30, 2019

Este curso me habría sido muy útil al momento que comencé a estudiar mi carrera, es una buena forma de comenzar a entender conceptos básicos acerca de distintos materiales en especial los metales.

por M S

Jun 30, 2019

Got clear ideas which helped in making my fundamentals strong !

por Kareem T K

Jul 14, 2019

Great course, I just wish the lectures showed a bit more details. I would definitely recommend it to others

por David S

Jul 30, 2019

Generally excellent overview of most topics but in some topics the presenter goes too deep too quickly in particular 'making things fast and slow' and 'semi-conductors'

por Adam B

Jan 04, 2019

Needs a lot more context! Why why why are we learning each topic. I love all the math and the depth, but just say why we are learning each thing first!

How about modeling each of the 10 things after a historical case study? Like the invention of carbonated steel, vulcanized rubber, or high temperature super conductors...? The historical case will put the abstract processes into context.

por Kishor D S

Mar 22, 2019

Though good but less content.

por muhamed m e

Jan 29, 2017

It's good but depend only save informations than understand it

por Marcin G

Aug 15, 2017

It was OK, I guess...

por Bryan H

Dec 19, 2016

Good use of figures and graphs. I like the input of historical references to help understand the material. Lectures can be disengaging at times, the professor uses a lot of pauses which makes it hard to follow. Overall, it's a good introduction and overview to material science.

por Frankie L

Oct 07, 2017

More in depth explanations w have was omitted.

por Bhaumik U P

Dec 12, 2017

I would say that the lectures delivered by the Prof. James were not loud and clear as he was taking so many pauses in between the speech. Else, the material data illustrated was good !

por Padraig C

Jul 15, 2017

Very informative course but professor Shackleford was quite sterile and unengaging. He also tended to brush over things without explaining them

por Samet G

Nov 27, 2017

This course consists of beneficial topics for all engineers. The topics are explained in briefly and the quizes contains the relavent terms about the topics. I hope to take the new courses about material science in Coursera.Thanks UC Davis and Mr James Shackelford.

por Anthony E S

Nov 19, 2017

Not what I thought, but a good introduction to the material.

por Shakeel A Q

Jan 23, 2017

Very much low details and the course instructor has very slow pace when he is teaching on the board that (aaaa,aaaa) is very irritating....

por Sampath K , R

Jun 27, 2016

I was disappointed with the treatment of the main concepts. They were cursorily dealt with. Examples from the real world and a more graphic explanation esp. of the crystal defects would have helped. Otherwise, all the main points were covered.

por Avril K

Dec 16, 2016

This course is not terrible, I learned a few things, but it is poorly designed.

Some things are explained as if to people who aren't familiar with the concepts at all, while others are explained as if to people who must already know a lot about the concepts. I often felt lost. The "quizzes" did not help, you could do well on them without actually understanding things (I remember one multiple-choice question where the options were something like (a) "Arrhenius's first law", (b) "Arrhenius's second law", (c) "Arrhenius's third law", and you didn't even have to look at the question or know what the law was to know the answer because only one of Arrhenius's laws had been mentioned in the course at all).

There are two types of videos in this course. In one type, the professor is in a lab or kitchen or classroom or something and is physically demonstrating things. These videos are useful and mostly understandable. The other type of videos are lecture-style things that appear to have literally been sliced out of some other more thorough set of videos - sometimes the professor refers back to "earlier" parts of the lecture that we haven't actually seen before. Concepts and variables are often introduced without even mentioning what they refer to.