Chevron Left
Voltar para Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.6
1,110 classificações
278 avaliações

Sobre o curso

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Melhores avaliações

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

PC

Mar 05, 2018

This course was alot more educational then I thought it would be but now I compare what has shaped me in in life to creep deformation. I especially loved the lecture " a play on good and evil".

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

por 洪崧貿

Apr 21, 2018

I'm an engineer with material science background. This course reminds me a lot of knowledge with simple way and make things clear. I hope that i can use these useful knowledge on my work.

por Zhou M

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

por Murilo P

Feb 22, 2017

This course was very useful to remind me the basic concepts of Material Properties and there usage on in modern engineering applications. I learnt the real meaning of the concept “structure leads to properties". All this knowledge acquired will be applicable in my day to day job duties in the automobilistic sector, giving me more base during a technical discussion. I recommend this course for any Product Design Engineer.

por Ángel A B

May 30, 2016

Great course to review the topic of materials. I am currently working as a mechanical engineer and it has helped me to refresh the fundamental concepts covered during my degree. The material is presented in a clear way and I think this is a good approach to the subject.

por Mikhail K

Jan 22, 2016

Excellent intro to Materials Science. The course covers the fundamental concepts such as yield stress, tensile strength, ductility and toughness without getting too involved in complex formulas. I have a background in mechanical engineering and found this course to be a good review of materials course I took in University.

por Lingyan J

Apr 05, 2016

Very useful for a Mechanical Engineer to know more about Material

por Mohammad H S

Feb 10, 2016

I really thank to Coursera Community and University of California, Davis for organizing this useful course. I reccomend all the students who are studying Engineering majors.

Come on friends and join us.

por Gao R

Jan 17, 2016

Very concentrative! The teacher demonstrates the basic concept and acknowledge that every engineer should know. Very impressive. Thanks!

por ManasSalunke

Jan 14, 2017

Helps you improve your knowledge about the metallurgical concepts.

por Eduardo J M S

Nov 17, 2017

very interesting and educational. Nice

por SHUBRAJIT B

Apr 25, 2016

It was a good learning experience.

por Radhik R

Jan 18, 2017

Awesome course sir

por Daya S D

Sep 16, 2016

Well designed . I especially like the way Prof is explaining stuffs with very ease.

por Navneet Y

Aug 28, 2016

I really enjoyed this course!! Thanks.

por ZAKI A

Dec 08, 2016

Nice course, all related to engineering especially MECHANICAL ENGINEERING

por Jamie S

Jul 11, 2017

An excellent short introduction to materials science for engineers. If you haven't already read Shackleford's textbook, this video lecture series would be an excellent primer.

If you have recently studied undergraduate materials science or engineering then you will not need this course as it doesn't have time to delve too deeply into the theory. However, if you are like me and a few years out of education, it's an excellent albeit brief recap of materials and failure modes. It's possible to binge at 2x speed and complete this series in a day.

por Christian C S

Jan 10, 2016

Great materials and a great instructor!

por Osmar d S S

May 03, 2016

Excellent course to get the first contact with material science discipline.

PS.: Professor Shackelford is very didactic in his explanations.

Great professor.

Osmar Santos

Santa Branca-SP / BRAZIL.

por Guillermo G T

Oct 22, 2016

Excelent content! Definitely a good explanation to refresh old concepts about material science.

por PRAKRTHI A N

Dec 06, 2015

I am very excited to take this course

por Jaikumar L

Jul 05, 2017

lucid explanations for complex concepts- enjoyed listening to the lectures

por Anish H V

Oct 18, 2016

A MUST COURSE FOR BUDDING MATERIAL ENGINEERS/ MATERIAL SCIENTISTS!!

Professor Shackelford is so awesome!! The way he taught the course helped me grasp the fundamentals of material science better than that taught during my four year bachelor tenure in Material engineering.

por Aditya P B

Sep 09, 2017

A very useful and informative starting course for practicing engineer like myself. I would really like to thank Dr. James Shackelford and UC Davis course team.

por Ethan R

Dec 02, 2016

This is a recap of the most important things taught in Materials lectures on an engineering course. It is quick, concise and highlights what should be kept in mind when working with different materials. The only new material for me was the last thing on semiconductors which I found very interesting.

The only thing that could be significantly improved is the section on alloy phases. It's is an important topic and I think more time could be spent on that subject to provide a more well rounded understanding of the topic. However 9/10 things done well and the other being a bit rushed is still 5 stars in my book.

por Sahil B

Sep 08, 2017

Except for the semiconductor part the complete course was easy to understand and concise