Chevron Left
Voltar para Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.7
estrelas
3,078 classificações
787 avaliações

Sobre o curso

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Melhores avaliações

DK

Sep 24, 2020

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 779 Avaliações para o Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

por SriNikhil K

Feb 23, 2019

The explanation given in this course, even to the most confusing and commonly misconstrued of engineering phenomenons, is basic and self explanatory. I'd recommend this course to any engineer who's looking for a better introduction to material science!

por Vaibhavi V

Jun 28, 2020

Thankyou very much for this wonderful course. it has been interesting right from the first video until the end. the concepts have been explained in a very lucid manner. Quizzes were interesting too. All the essential topics have been covered very well

por SARASWATI

Sep 24, 2020

The course is very well structured and covered. I found the session more interactive due to lectures have taken in the laboratory and through field examples. Due to which I got the opportunity to seek the facilities available at UC Davis University.

por Shrikant B

Apr 30, 2020

THIS COURSE IS VERY USEFUL TO LEARN 10 THINGS WHICH ARE IMPORTANT TO KNOW MATERIAL BEHAVIOR. THE NEW THINGS WHICH I HAVE LEARNED FROM THIS COURSE ARE: USES ARREHENIUS RELATIONSHIP IN MATERIAL SCIENCE, THE MECHANISM OF DIFFERENT TYPES OF FAILURES.

por Archisha B

Jun 27, 2020

It was a wonderful learning experience. The concepts were greatly explained, with experiments and mathematical expressions. The teaching style was really easy to understand. Even the slightly newer and complicated topics were easy to understand.

por Pranshu A

Apr 07, 2019

This course was extremely helpful to me regarding the knowledge I gained. Moreover, I am very thankful that this course was provided to me under financial aid and I could avail such an experience which would not be possible otherwise.

por Tavone S

Feb 19, 2018

This course was very helpful, as a up-coming student for material engineer I gained a enormous amount of useful information to help me progress though me first year of college. Thanks for the basic understanding of Material Science.

por Sujoy S

May 31, 2020

Covers a lot of Material basics and helped give emphasis on a lot of small concepts which our colleges had skipped in classes. Quizzes were also fairly challenging and a good way to do well is taking down notes from time to time.

por Y S R R

May 15, 2020

very good explanation about all the fundamentals of the material science.Teaching will be a little bit fast what I felt.Experimental facilities whatever you have shown in the lectures gave a good understanding of the subject.

por Mahima D

Jun 22, 2020

I being a metallurgy and materials science graduate took those course for refreshing my basic knowledge. I would highly recommend this course to all engineers, especially those doing research in developing newer materials.

por ILAIYAVEL S

May 30, 2020

Thanks Professor for the wonderful presentation

It will help me this course to my college students

Dr.S.Ilaiyavel

Associate Professor Department of Mechanical Engineer

Sri Venkateswara College of Engineering

Sriprumbudur.

por Hussain D

Aug 07, 2017

I have to thank the course instructor he is a great scientist and great mind. He was so kind and have the ability to get through the boring things with an exciting way. I liked him so much and I am really thankful!!!

por Darlan V B

Nov 25, 2016

The course gives a lot of good informations that engineers should know in the everyday life. The professor James Shackelford explain the subjects in a very clear and objective way with a lot of practical examples.

por Muhammad A H

May 13, 2020

I'm really feeling lucky to do this course. And really thankful to our instructor Honorable Mr. James Shackelford , who has really an outstanding way to deliver things. Thanks a lot and a lot of respect for you.

por Navendra P S

May 03, 2020

Awesome Learning !!!

After completing the course, I really found that the course name is really meaningful.

Along with the content, style of teaching and content compilation was colorful and never felt monotonous.

por Sachin P

Apr 23, 2020

It's very interesting course and especially i learnt so many facts and deep knowledge of mainly six materials therefore i endorse to learners do at least one time. It will uplift your basic knowledge of material.

por Siddhesh C

Apr 29, 2018

This course is better for those who wants to learn basics of Material Science. It cleared all my concepts and I got knowledge about it. Thank you UC Davis and also thanks to Dr. James Shackelford for this course.

por Tamu S

Feb 22, 2016

I've done my Bachelor's in Mechanical Engineering in one of the best colleges in India, and yet this course makes me understand the roots of Material Science & Engg. better than my 4 years spent in college.

por Mohammad H S

Feb 10, 2016

I really thank to Coursera Community and University of California, Davis for organizing this useful course. I reccomend all the students who are studying Engineering majors.

Come on friends and join us.

por Deepak k

Sep 24, 2020

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

por Louie R

Sep 09, 2019

I have learned a lot! Thanks to this very comprehensive course. Very easy to follow lessons! The professor explained very well each section with great mastery of the subject matter. Thanks Prof JD.

por SURIYA V

Jun 18, 2020

A special thankd to Mr.James Shackelford, who guided me throughout this course journey. The way he explain all material science topic is fablous. I enjoyed this course and once again i thank you sir

por Osmar d S S

May 03, 2016

Excellent course to get the first contact with material science discipline.

PS.: Professor Shackelford is very didactic in his explanations.

Great professor.

Osmar Santos

Santa Branca-SP / BRAZIL.

por Merve Ö

Aug 18, 2019

I really liked the course. The instructor was very good. He defined the subjects very clearly and then gave interesting examples. I recommend this course, especially, for electronics engineers.

por Jobert J A A B

Jul 25, 2020

The professor is great and holds a lot of knowledge to what he is teaching. I also like the way he delivers the lesson and the thorough explanation of the subject matter partnered with graphs.