Chevron Left
Voltar para Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.6
1,053 classificações
259 avaliações

Sobre o curso

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Melhores avaliações

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

PC

Mar 05, 2018

This course was alot more educational then I thought it would be but now I compare what has shaped me in in life to creep deformation. I especially loved the lecture " a play on good and evil".

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

por Zhou M

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

por Murilo P

Feb 22, 2017

This course was very useful to remind me the basic concepts of Material Properties and there usage on in modern engineering applications. I learnt the real meaning of the concept “structure leads to properties". All this knowledge acquired will be applicable in my day to day job duties in the automobilistic sector, giving me more base during a technical discussion. I recommend this course for any Product Design Engineer.

por Blair L

Oct 11, 2017

Loved the intuitive, ultra-concise approach. Professor Shackelford balances real-world testing, applications, and history with a minimalist overview of the mathematics. His segments on atomic-level mechanics help the student gain sight-unseen intuition for the phenomena that inform the math. A concise and memorable way to get a cursory understanding of the important concepts. His book is great too.

por Curtis B

Jul 12, 2017

well structured and intuitive.

por Lingyan J

Apr 05, 2016

Very useful for a Mechanical Engineer to know more about Material

por Mohammad H S

Feb 10, 2016

I really thank to Coursera Community and University of California, Davis for organizing this useful course. I reccomend all the students who are studying Engineering majors.

Come on friends and join us.

por Eduardo J M S

Nov 17, 2017

very interesting and educational. Nice

por Radhik R

Jan 18, 2017

Awesome course sir

por ZAKI A

Dec 08, 2016

Nice course, all related to engineering especially MECHANICAL ENGINEERING

por Christian C S

Jan 10, 2016

Great materials and a great instructor!

por Osmar d S S

May 03, 2016

Excellent course to get the first contact with material science discipline.

PS.: Professor Shackelford is very didactic in his explanations.

Great professor.

Osmar Santos

Santa Branca-SP / BRAZIL.

por Guillermo G T

Oct 22, 2016

Excelent content! Definitely a good explanation to refresh old concepts about material science.

por Anish H V

Oct 18, 2016

A MUST COURSE FOR BUDDING MATERIAL ENGINEERS/ MATERIAL SCIENTISTS!!

Professor Shackelford is so awesome!! The way he taught the course helped me grasp the fundamentals of material science better than that taught during my four year bachelor tenure in Material engineering.

por Aditya P B

Sep 09, 2017

A very useful and informative starting course for practicing engineer like myself. I would really like to thank Dr. James Shackelford and UC Davis course team.

por JOHN Q

Dec 20, 2015

What a wonderful course and wonderful review of stuff I hadn't reflected upon in years. Thanks so much

por Safdar K

Jan 17, 2016

awesome

por Fernando J d M

May 27, 2018

Interesting subject, clear explanations and a good professor.

por MOHD. F

Jun 19, 2017

A very basic but great way of teaching!

Looking more from you, Professor.

por Werner B

Apr 15, 2018

Good course with very useful content, definitely useful to help enrich development and problem solving programs at work.

por 洪崧貿

Apr 21, 2018

I'm an engineer with material science background. This course reminds me a lot of knowledge with simple way and make things clear. I hope that i can use these useful knowledge on my work.

por Darlan V B

Nov 25, 2016

The course gives a lot of good informations that engineers should know in the everyday life. The professor James Shackelford explain the subjects in a very clear and objective way with a lot of practical examples.

por Moez B

Jul 12, 2016

Excellent course on the basics of properties of materials. It is a well-designed, well-delivered course on the essentials in materials science. Thanks for a fun course.

por Ferchichi Y

May 08, 2017

Thank you for this interesting and very well presented course!

por yesung k

Nov 13, 2016

Fantastic course! I do hope that I would be able to learn from Professor Shackelford later on.

por PRAKRTHI A N

Dec 06, 2015

I am very excited to take this course