Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução ao CSS3

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução ao CSS3 da instituição Universidade de Michigan

4.8
estrelas
5,449 classificações
1,095 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The web today is almost unrecognizable from the early days of white pages with lists of blue links. Now, sites are designed with complex layouts, unique fonts, and customized color schemes. This course will show you the basics of Cascading Style Sheets (CSS3). The emphasis will be on learning how to write CSS rules, how to test code, and how to establish good programming habits. When done correctly, the styling of a webpage can take enhance your page. When done incorrectly the result can be worse than no styling at all. To ensure that your sites do not put up barriers for people with cognitive and/or physical disabilities, you will learn how to evaluate pages using the standardized POUR accessibility guidelines. Upon completion of the course, learners will be able to sketch a design for a given HTML page. Using that design they will use CSS to implement the design by adding fonts, colors, and layouts. This is the second course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on adding interaction with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. It will be difficult to complete this course if you do not have access to a laptop or desktop computer for the homework....

Melhores avaliações

NP

May 19, 2020

Excellent course! Well paced and the course really builds skills in using CSS3! Highly recommend this course to anyone looking to get a good grounding in CSS or who wants to go over the basics again.

AF

Dec 26, 2015

Excellent course! Well paced and the course really builds skills in using CSS3! Highly recommend this course to anyone looking to get a good grounding in CSS or who wants to go over the basics again.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introdução ao CSS3

por Bas v G

Feb 13, 2019

tldr; Good course, but quite sloppy. Would easily get 5 stars if the mistakes in slides and code were cleaned up.

Pros: The lecturer is enthusiastic and good to follow. The material starts of easy and builds up pretty well.

Cons: The course structure leaves some things to be desired. The assignment from week 2 basically expects you to watch the lectures from week 3 and week 4.

The lecturer's code is too sloppy. There are various unfixed bits of code in the slides and in the codepen repository, despite remarks from students in the forum from 3(!) years ago. For example, for border radius, the compatibility options (-webkit, -moz) switch around the numbers. This is not correct! Luckily I found a forum post that helped me confirm this was an error.

por Abrar I

Mar 21, 2017

All thanks to Ma'am Colleen van Lent that now I can style a nice webpage even a whole website. The teaching method is marvelous. Assignments was also reasonable. Everything in this course teaches something and develops skills in us. I can feel the difference before and after completing this course. Recommend every Beginner to start this. It's Marvelous!

por Andrew F

Dec 26, 2015

Excellent course! Well paced and the course really builds skills in using CSS3! Highly recommend this course to anyone looking to get a good grounding in CSS or who wants to go over the basics again.

por Marshall W

Dec 07, 2016

Excellent for learning how to learn about styling webpages. I'm not very artistic when it comes to using pen and paper, but I've really learned how to express myself creatively through this course.

por Jayme K

Jul 12, 2017

Really great class! Once again the professor breaks down the material to better clarify concepts and she provides ample time to practice. One thing that I really liked was she intentionally made common mistakes (which incidentally I made) to show what would happen & how to fix it. I audited the course and only watched the videos so I'm sure it's even better when you do the quizzes & graded assignments.

por Bhavya S

May 20, 2020

CSS is wide but still this course is very precise and every concepts are explained very nicely.

Before this course I used to think designing with CSS is frustrating but after understanding the fundamentals designing a webpage seems fun.

I really enjoyed the last assignment and tried to apply as much style I can use. ;-p

I think every beginner must do this course for easy learning.

por Rebecca S

Mar 07, 2019

This course was a bit harder for me than HTML5 but still very valuable. I think I need to continue learning more about browser prefixes. That was confusing for me. Our instructor was so helpful and knowledgeable. These courses have been so much better than some of the online learning content I've seen in the past. I am already planning what I want to take next.

por Philip A

Aug 20, 2018

The lecturer is a marvellous person. She makes the course very engaging. It takes you through most of the challenges I shall encounter as I progress in the field. I shall continue to study with her.

por Michael S

Apr 12, 2018

I have learned SO much in this class. I am making web sites, writing code, making mistakes, and solving problems.

This is the most practical class I have taken on Coursera. I HIGHLY recommend it!

por Jobin J J

Dec 05, 2015

a very good, simple, effective serires

por Daniil T

Aug 15, 2016

Too long for learning so little. I have learned more while reading a book for 3 hours, than with this course for 4 weeks. But anyway, it was helpful, because the more tasks you complete, the better you get.

por David D

Dec 09, 2015

Course was great. I wish there was more coding and more examples as well as the videos showing more examples rather then slides with text of the properties.

por Xiaoxuan W

Jan 28, 2018

The instructor talks too much. If she talks less and make the video shorter that would be nice.

por Зубченко М П

Apr 17, 2017

Thank you so much for this course! I enjoyed every minute of studying. The teaching was excellent, with hand-on "code together" videos which helped to ease in very quickly. I loved the idea of accessibility this entire specialization sticks with. So humane and beautiful! I learned how to style a plain HTML document with loads of cool stuff like fonts (custom fonts are highly important for any design), gradient, tables, background images and even some animation! CSS can do amazing things, that's what I've gleaned from supporting articles and additional readings which turned out to be splendid as well. So excited to learn more! Oh, and the support within the course was crazy. Even though it was tough sometimes, the tutor was reminding time and again that making great strides requires great fails! And that's how the whole process rolls. Thank you dear Coursera, Ms van Lent and University of Michigan! :)

por k i

Dec 18, 2015

Colleen van Lent is really great, the course is well put together, and the video quality was excellent (looking at other courses, I now see that this is not always the case). I went through the HTML5 and CSS3 course and found them to be well-structured and thorough. There was a lot of opportunity to put into practice the skills we were learning and lots of helpful resources to point students in the right direction for additional help. I didn't like peer reviewing at first, but it was actually a useful exercise. I realized that other people may come at a problem in a slightly different way, and looking at their code helped me gain some insight into that nuance. Thanks, Colleen!

por Nicolas S V

Apr 11, 2020

It is good for an introductory course to CSS3. There will be three peer review assignments. I honestly don't like peer review assignments since I like when I'm evaluated by the institution that created the course (a course which I paid for) and not by peers. They should implement a grader where the file is submitted and analyzed, with a parser that can be easily achieved since the points I had to evaluate were related to the presence or not of x property or properties in the hw1.css file. The teacher explains the subject really well.

por Yogesh P

May 22, 2020

I would like to express my utter gratitude to Coursera and University Of Michigan to offer me the opportunity to learn web design from two such respected organizations. Futhermore, this course (along with HTML5) packs a lot of potential so as to ignite a flare in one's mind to be able to recover from his/her fear of coding and walk all the way through the path of designing web pages with sheer ease.

In short words, this course is a boon for the people who have got a knack for creating interactive web pages using HTML5 and CSS3.

por Paul J M

Feb 02, 2016

A well-structured course that has finally broken the morbid fear of CSS that has haunted me for the last 15 years! This builds very nicely on the work done in Intro to HTML5 from the same instructor. It doesn't, of course, teach every possible option in CSS3--it would need to be a year long and a lot less interesting to do that--but it does give some tolls which are immediately useful.

I welcome the emphasis on standards compliance and accessibility which is all too often ignored.

por Beatriz C

Sep 12, 2016

I enrolled in this course after completing the html5 course. At the culmination of the CSS3 project, I feel ways more confident in my web development skills, although I am a far ways off being a web designer. The pace of the course is excellent, and the quizzes and projects allowed me to put in practice the theory I learned about. I also love how the professor discusses the material and organised this course.

I truly recommend this course to anyone at the beginner level.

por Melanie R

Oct 15, 2016

This was a very nice introduction to CSS3. I had no prior background whatsoever, but I managed to go through it easily thanks to the very progressive pace and the useful information provided. I really appreciated the slides and ressources made available (I spent time off course to get a bit further). Finally, I think Colleen's explanations are very clear and she's being supportive in her videos. I would definitely recommend this course to beginners.

por Carlos A G S E

Aug 03, 2017

Really good basic course. Gave it 5 stars as it was clearly defined as a begginers course. The content is provided through really quick sessions/videos but at the same time provides links, lectures and additional material for those who want to have a deeper understanding. The required exercises are simple and easy to complete, so in case you want to really master the coding, you'll have to practice a lot by yourself.

por Abdulfatai J

Aug 27, 2017

This is the second course I have taken in the Specialization Course. Colleen teaches the course's contents in a way every body can understand. I was entirely new to the web design space, but after taken the Introduction to HTML5 and Introduction to CSS3 courses, I can now design a web page to have a good look and feel. My plan is to take the next course so that I can add some interactivity to a web page via JavaScript.

por Kristina B

Apr 29, 2020

Really good course! I have been looking all over internet for a good course to learn web design, and this one is definitely the one I would recommend to everyone. The lecturer, Colleen van Lent, Ph.D., is great, she explains every little detail you need to know to work in CSS in a simple way. The assignments are perfect to practice what you have learned from previous lessons. Big thanks to Colleen van Lent, Ph.D!

por Abhishek A

May 10, 2016

I joined the course as an experienced web developer. My intention was to do a formal course in css as I only learnt on need to know basis so far. This course helped me learn about the amazing things that can be done with css, some of which I relied on javascript earlier.

Professor Colleen teaches in a very sweet way, at the same time putting lot of emphasis on playing with code rather merely listening to lecturers.

por Lucas V

May 22, 2018

A very interesting and easy to follow course on the basics of CSS3. The lecturer goes into all the expected topics in a simple manner, with clear language and a well structured approach.

The course also expects you to code along and experiment with the given knowledge. It is by no means a raw, expository course and instead takes the "learning by doing" approach, while providing all the guidance and resources.