Chevron Left
Voltar para Ensine inglês agora! Princípios fundacionais

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ensine inglês agora! Princípios fundacionais da instituição Universidade do Estado do Arizona

4.9
estrelas
11,808 classificações

Sobre o curso

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
Destaques
Engaging instructors

(331 avaliações)

Interactive content

(104 avaliações)

Melhores avaliações

VM

9 de abr de 2020

Great course! Nice content and great presentation of the material. Useful not only for ESL teachers, but for all language teachers and even for teachers in general. Thank you for creating this course!

JG

17 de ago de 2018

This is a very useful course as I begin my studies to prepare to teach English abroad. ASU is a recognized university and the price is very reasonable. I look forward to the next course in the series.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 4,195 Avaliações para o Ensine inglês agora! Princípios fundacionais

por Shaimaa E

7 de mai de 2020

I learnt a lot of things from This Course, It was very useful for me, Thanks to everyone who participated in preparing and presenting this course.

I'm grateful for everything that I learnt in this amazing course, no matter how hard I try to say how am I very thankful for everyone of you it won't be enough to describe how I feel, So thank you so much.

Special Thanks to Dr. Dixson you are the best teacher I ever have and I wish one day I could attend a live lecture with you, I learnt a lot from you and from first lesson to the last one of this course, there's a huge difference in my level as a teacher :) thank You

por Sruthi V

11 de ago de 2021

I am thoroughly grateful for this course. It has opened up different techniques and methods that I can adopt in my classes. It also helped me to understand what I could do to instill confidence and enhance learning in my students. I was also able to analyze few of the methods I adopt and make required changes. Wonderful presentations from Prof. Shane Dixon and Prof, Jessica Cinco. I really enjoyed Professor Shane's presentation on Audio Lingual Approach and Comprehension Approach and all the "Ängel" - "Devil" debates. Thanks to all working hands behind this course. You all indeed do a great service!

por Omar T

14 de fev de 2020

First of all, I would like to express my full gratitude to the professors who made this course. It was very insightful and interesting. I would recommend it to everyone who is willing to expand his or her knowledge about the profession of teaching a English. Second, I want to thank all of my classmates who helped me with a lot of ideas and didn't hesistate to share everything they know. Also, for reviewing my assignments. Finally, I want to say that I am very happy for completing this course, and I can't wait to complete the other courses related to the specialization of teaching English. Thank you!

por Egunjobi M T

16 de abr de 2020

Teach English Now is filled with a lot of needful contents and techniques for better language learning acquisition. And lessons under it are not, at all, limited to teaching language alone; it extends to every aspect of teaching subjects. It exposes a teacher to better strategies for teaching , that would make students feel engaged and interesting about the contents. With adequate understanding of this course, teachers can produce confident and competent graduates who are as proficient at speaking, writing, reading and listening as native English speakers. I was fortunate to have taken this course.

por jujuyuan

18 de nov de 2016

I love the course and it is so useful.

The Lecturers are so wonderful even thougth all the lessons are on the video but I really can feel their efforts to make the course more approachable and easier to catch up.

The principles and techniques introduced about language learning are really pratical and scientific.

Besides, reading other learners' assignment is also beneficial to me!

Love it soooooooo much!

I will keep on learning as soon as I've got spare time!

Hope I can get the final certificate!

Thank you all who have made contribution to making this course! You guys are just awesome!

por SAFFANA A S

23 de abr de 2021

Greetings to all teachers and founders of this very useful and thoughtful course in all its steps.

I had a lot of fun during this session and lamented a lot because I haven't had this experience in a long time.

I really took all the principles of this course and started using them with my students immediately. I started to feel like a different teacher after this.

Very valuable information that I did not know so clearly before, I will be grateful to you all for life.

I hope to complete the next session with you and keep abreast of all new things you have in the future

Thank you so much.

por Van A N T

30 de out de 2021

My cordial thanks go to Susan Edrington, Executive Director, Global Launch at ASU, for organizing such a magnificent Professional Certificate on TESOL. I offer my special thanks and gratitude to DrShane Dixon and Ms. GL Jessica Cinco for taking us on some incredible adventures. My heartiest thanks also go to DrJustin Shewell for designing the curriculum more engaging and effective. Finally, I must thank and express my gratitude to my peers for guiding me with formative reviews throughout the journey.I now consider myself honored and lucky to be a member of the TEN family.

por Aedrian A

20 de jan de 2021

This is an extremely engaging, enjoyable, whole-rounded and well-prepared course, perhaps one of the best MOOCs I have taken. While this course (and the Coursera Specializations and Professional Certificate where it belongs) is geared towards TESOL, the takeaways from this course can perhaps be applied in any teaching-learning/pedagogical setting since, ultimately, all educational efforts should draw from maximizing the participants' urge and faculties to learn and practice. I am looking forward to complete the whole Professional Certificate in the foreseeable future.

por Iryna K

28 de fev de 2018

Thank you very much for this course! It was very useful and interesting!

I've already started to implement all the knowledge I got here and I feel that my lessons became better and the students' result became higher as well! I am going to pass all the courses and capstones because the more we do something the easier it becomes!

Now I am an undergraduate student; however, in future I am planning to obtain my Master's Degree in the USA. So, if I succeed, I will definitely try to meet all the team of the course, because you are awesome professionals!

All the best to you!

por Jayakumar K

4 de jan de 2019

Was quite useful in setting the ground for the teachers to take a deeper look into the theoretical foundations of language teaching and their practical applications.

The course infact gave insights into how teachers should handle their classes as well as to what extent to shoulder their responsibilities as teachers.

In fact, I was a bit surprised when the Dixon advised not to assume too much responsibilities, but then got to understand how doing that affects teachers in the long run, and results in burn outs.

Thanks to the instructors of the course.

por Zerrin C

12 de dez de 2020

Hello! I really enjoy while I am taking the course. The information I have comes back. Dr. Shane is so good that We can understand the metaphors easily. Videos, readings, summaries are too clear to understand the subjects. I really wrote the assignments with the help of these contents. I had these lessons during my High school and university years. But it makes me feel happy remember again. I especially liked the lessons Dr. Shane acted like on the stage with costumes. In the beginning I didn’t think it will be so organised and clear. Thanks a lot.

por Camila J G

13 de dez de 2015

This was a very interesting module, other than giving out imporant information to question ourselves as language teacher it encouraged us to think again and review how is it that we are really performing as teachers, are we asking the right questions? are we thinking of the best ways to enroll our students on leargning languages? are we wnjoying our labour?

All of the lessons provided not only gave information to improve our classes but gave us the opportunity to wonder what can we do better and how can we be better as teachers.

Thank you!

por Eduardo E

27 de out de 2020

The course has been an excellent resource of information and change of mine. It feeds the soul of teaching that makes me see my classes from different perspectives and the many things that I can do with them to make my students acquire the language. I was reborn with new methods and creativity to be in front of the classroom again. Indeed, I also see that my methods and techniques of teaching aren’t worthless as I thought. I thank you to all that make this course possible and the people that give me the opportunity to take this course.

por Thomas P M

22 de jun de 2021

This course is awesome! I learned so much in the first section that I am anxious to keep going. I have already signed up for the second course and ready to learn.

This is a great class for someone who hasn't been in college in a while or has never been. I got my Bachelors in 2009 and coming back to school for this has a breeze so far. These instructors know exactly what their doing and don't go overboard with useless information and they tie everything together perfectly. I know I will have the cert from ASU at some point this summer.

por A. P

16 de nov de 2019

Teach English Now! Foundational Principles is a great informative course. The self-paced style allowed time to focus on content where I needed to gain more skills. The instructors are pleasant and enjoyable to watch. The readings are fun and interesting. The constructive feedback I received from my classmates has improved my writing skills. The required reviews prepared me for grading students' work in the classroom setting. I highly recommend this course to anyone considering the ESL / TEFL / TESOL Teaching profession.

por mohamed h

9 de fev de 2016

Course is fun, easy, enjoyable and beneficial. Prof. Shane is a very talented presenter and managed to pull me into the lectures. My only concerns are: The length of the course was too short and it was not very deep. In other words In my opinion they could have easily added another course worth of material to this course without it becoming overbearing. It made me feel that their stretching the number of courses you have to take to finish the specialization.

Other wise its a good course. Great instructor and good content!

por Karimzada G V

13 de fev de 2020

This course is just awesome. It will be very helpful to the ones who are at the beginning of the profession. The topics covered solutions for many of my struggles about teaching ways, the importance of practice, how to manage time in class, understanding my students' views etc. It also improved my analyzing skills with the assessment questions which were really food for thought. The best thing is all lessons are explained in a very simple way. I am very grateful to all Arizona University and Coursera team. Thank you!!!

por Phuong N

10 de mai de 2020

I have learned a lot of interesting knowledge from this Foundation Principles course. Sometimes you seem to know it a lot but when you update you will see what you know is only the top of the iceberg. Everything need to be acquired with good instructors. Thank for the course's beloved teachers, I burn lightly with my teaching job again. I recommend this course for all teachers of language. If they feel bored with teaching, want to leave your profession, this will help them to find best themselves and core value again.

por sangeetha

21 de mai de 2017

This was an excellent course! I love how everything is taught in the form of metaphors. I particularly liked the simplicity of the course and the way it was presented in the form of short modules. I loved Shane Dixon's way of talking and his expressions made the course a lot of fun. I enjoyed all the assignment questions as they really helped me apply everything I learnt through each module. I will definitely recommend this course, and hope to move to the next level with it. Thank you for such an amazing experience!

por Edward L

7 de dez de 2020

I've been teaching for over 20 years and hold a Masters in Adult Education, but lost my licensure due to an out of state move during the Covid-19 crisis. This course reflects teaching skills and knowledge that I wish was presented to me on day one of my teaching and that all teachers should definitely have. It is also well presented and provides opportunities for learners to express their own ideas. I would highly recommend the course to just about anyone who wants to become a skillful student centered educator.

por Cynthia P L

11 de nov de 2020

It was really interesting, joyful and inspiring. Although I am a teacher myself, sometimes we have assumptions and beliefs that are wrong. I really loved this course and I believe it would help me to change students' view on learning a language and also my approach on how to reach to them. Lastly, also remember that because we want to give the best to our students does not mean to neglect ourselves. Balancing our personal life and teaching will surely have positive effects for both the learners and teachers.

por Joe S

13 de mai de 2018

Outstanding! I love the enthusiasm Dr. Dixon brings to this MOOC. This course is taught by people who really understand how to teach at the most basic level, which has made taking this course so informative. Not only did I learn the foundational principles of EFL instruction, but simply watching HOW this whole course was setup, executed, and designed has been a learning experience in and of itself. I highly recommend this course to anyone who is or is thinking of teaching English as a foreign language.

por Andres F M D A

26 de set de 2016

Thanks, this course is an evidence of the advantages of a mooc and a good use of the technology, i learned a lot and i'll keep in mind all your advice. I want to go through all the courses of the specialization, even though i don't have the $$ to purchase for the courses certification, the important thing is that i'm learning a lot and my future first students will be the real certification and rectification of what i have leaned, giving my best self to teach them. Teachers. You are awesome. thanks

por Daniela C

25 de jan de 2020

I enjoyed the video lessons. I found the system of rating my classmates and my classmates rating me an interesting and stimulating activity. It was interesting to read other peoples' opinions, rate them and give feedback. I became aware that my feedback improved and was more constructive over the duration of the course and I hope that it was a bit helpful to the classmates that I rated. It gave me a sense of practicing something that will be part of what I do when teaching a language. Although,

.

por Hakan A

30 de jan de 2020

The course combines theory with practice in an organized and effective way. After a quick and understandable information about the teaching principles, course teachers really illustrate how we can apply these theoratical information into our classroom environment. The course also handles every aspect of teaching process: Methodologies, Learning Strategies, Students Autonomy and even Teacher Burnout. Really useful course for all language teachers. Thank You Coursera and Arizona State University.