Chevron Left
Voltar para Ensine inglês agora! Princípios fundacionais

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ensine inglês agora! Princípios fundacionais da instituição Universidade do Estado do Arizona

4.9
estrelas
11,808 classificações

Sobre o curso

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
Destaques
Engaging instructors

(331 avaliações)

Interactive content

(104 avaliações)

Melhores avaliações

VM

9 de abr de 2020

Great course! Nice content and great presentation of the material. Useful not only for ESL teachers, but for all language teachers and even for teachers in general. Thank you for creating this course!

JG

17 de ago de 2018

This is a very useful course as I begin my studies to prepare to teach English abroad. ASU is a recognized university and the price is very reasonable. I look forward to the next course in the series.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 4,195 Avaliações para o Ensine inglês agora! Princípios fundacionais

por Patricia T

18 de set de 2020

Very interesting class. I've taught for decades and learned principles I've never heard before. I enjoyed the professors enthusiasm and straightforwardness. Very key skills learned including the 80/20 rule, being myself, how to avoid burnout, how to make the meaning of words clear. I'm looking forward to digging in to the next course!

por Christina K

10 de set de 2021

T​hat was a great experience and im very grateful for all the information I have been taught. The professors leading this course are just so professional and it was really joyful to learn all the time.

por Lyka C A

7 de jan de 2021

I really love this trainibng, since it helps me to refresh my knowledge about my professional teaching.I also learned and related a lot from this. You inspire me to teach more effectively . God bless!

por Tracie H

22 de jul de 2016

Content is too basic, seems unresearched. Instructor is distracting in manner in which he presents information - overemphasizes acting over content.

por Jedd C

13 de fev de 2017

low-level content for people with no teaching background

por Angelica S B

2 de dez de 2015

Oh my goodness! I can't say enough about how great this course was for me. Dr. Shane Dixon did an excellent job of sharing the concepts in ways that were easily digested (more cake please). The course was set up better than any course I've taken online. The use of the metaphors truly helped me to easily recall what the class was about and I believe it will always be part of my teaching future. Thank you all for such a great course.

por ALAMURI S N

15 de mai de 2020

I am Sri Nidhi and I am from India. I am very happy with the course and the instructors - Dr. Shane and his partner. I am very new to the teaching profession and to be frank, I never gave a thought about the principles that I have been using since my first day in teaching language. I am so glad that I came across this course and definitely this course already started making difference in my performace in all zones. Much obliged !

por Gladys L

28 de nov de 2018

I highly recommend this course! It highlights teaching techniques language educators can use to ensure successful language teaching and learning in their classroom. Moreover, the modules are interesting and easy to understand. Every language teachers, novice and seasoned alike, must take this course. Kudos to Dr. Shane Dixon, Dr. Justin Shewell, Ms. Andrea Haraway from Arizona State University for such a wonderful online course!

por Kendria R J

6 de out de 2020

I really liked the casual yet professional set up of this course. Being a teacher coach in my private life, I understand ALL the information was good. I especially liked the part on Teacher Burnout (it's my specialty niche with mentoring teachers.) I understand WHY you put in as a module. I get that YOU GET IT!!! and thank you for your contribution. If you need any help or more testimonials I am available. www.iamkendria.com

por Sofia B

7 de fev de 2016

Amazing teachers, valuable information and top-quality materials! Thanks so much for making this course - I gained a lot from it, especially from giving and receiving feedback from fellow students. The only thing I didn't enjoy much are some questions in the tests because sometimes they seem a bit irrelevant. I would recommend making the tests a bit more to the point and reducing the amount of questions:) Thanks for your work!!!

por Andy A

6 de jul de 2021

I am totally impressed with this course in so many ways. The simple yet effective similes are what I will bring with me in my teaching because it summarizes so concisely the key knowledge. Moreover, Dr Dixon is so wonderful a teacher in imparting his knowledge in the most straightforward way possible. I highly recommend this course because it helps you envision your roles in a classroom in such a thoughtful and considerate way.

por Sandy A

13 de out de 2017

I want to say a huge thank you to Dr. Shane for making this course so fun and engaging. Also thanks to everyone else involved who put in endless hours to put this amazing course together - if I ever had any doubts about teaching, you certainly reassured me what a fantastic profession this is. My step father completed Tesol a few years back and tells me it was nothing like this and that I'm very lucky to have found this course!

por Md. D I

30 de mar de 2020

Taking this course, as a trainee teacher, I feel that more confident than ever before. Besides, based on the gained knowledge from the course, I have started writing about Teaching English in my local language Bangla using contextual references. I post them on my social media account, and I am receiving positive feedback. Many of the readers have even expressed their interest to pursue Professional TESOL certification.

por Dariana D M

5 de mai de 2020

This is a very helpful course. I had already gotten a TESOL certificate, but this one taught things that the other course I studied didn't. I thoroughly enjoyed it! I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn more about teaching or is new to the whole concept!

por Suba S

1 de nov de 2017

Fantastic course. We learn a lot without feeling overwhelmed in any way because the course has been structured beautifully to convey information in a clear and concise manner.

Highly recommend!

por Sayli T

29 de nov de 2018

The course is really helping me with strategies I can use in a diverse community. It is helping me understand my students better and encouraging me to take risks.

por Joshimar E d l R

22 de dez de 2018

Excelente curso aprendi mucho mas de lo que esperaba y perfeccione muchas tecnicas, muy recomendable para extender tu habilidades como maestro de ingles

por Jesús R S

25 de jul de 2020

very helpful and well explained

por Kristine K

14 de mar de 2016

I would give it 5 stars but , staff really needs to start reviewing assignments because there are a couple of bad apples copying the work of other students. We work hard and should not have our work plagiarized, but since it is peer review and not teacher graded, they get away with it.

por Cherie N

17 de nov de 2016

I would not refer anyone to this course. Although the content is well done, the tech piece of the course is sooooooo frustrating. At one point during the course I kept rating and rating my peersʻ assignments and the system would not accept it. I later found out there was some kind of tech issue. There was NO communication from Coursera whatsoever regarding this--no email, nothing to me or the class as a whole. So, we just had to keep checking and submitting ratings to see if it would finally be accepted. I find this bizarre, to say the least. Now, I am in the third course and the SAME thing is happening! I work full time, have a second job, go to school, raise two boys as a single parent and time is of the essence for me! I do not have time to waste! I keep wasting my time with tech issues. That is so disturbing. Somehow or another we should be kept abreast of tech platform problems. This is crazy.

por Jennifer L

30 de abr de 2022

Teaching style is too hokey and gimmicky to learn anything substantive. I could put up with it until the assignments, which are graded by other learners. In a class that tells you to be an effective teacher, half of the learners leave unconstructive feedback like, "You're wrong," without explaining what mistake they think you made. The other half of learners leave negative feedback just because they disagree with your opinion, failing to grasp the concept of grading you based on the cohesiveness of the argument. There are also a lot of non-native speakers of English "correcting" native speakers even though they are factually wrong on their "correction," which they also give with a ridiculous amount of ignorant arrogance. It's disturbing to think they are going to go out and teach English incorrectly to others after this course. This course borders on irresponsible and I withdrew.

por Emine v

10 de jul de 2021

This is the worts course I have ever taken!!!! I need to wait for other people to grade my work so that I can officially finish my course, how long do I have to wait? No one knows !!! And when there is no assignments for me to grade you dont mark it as completed and AGAIN I can not finish the course even if I finish all the lessons BECOUSE I HAVE TO WAİT FOR OTHER STUDENTS TO GRADE MY ASSINGMENTS. What is the logic behind it I need to get my certificate as soon as possible but right now I dont even know how lon it will take to finish the course that I already finished. I was planning on takin more courses from coursere but I changed my mind after this meaningless issue. What if no one will grade it do I have to wait for years ??????

por Benjamin L S

16 de dez de 2021

I can't seem to find a way to unenroll in this course.

por Belinda N E

21 de dez de 2016

I highly recommend this course for those who wish to learn and teach English as a Second Language. I am so grateful for the opportunity to be in this program where I have learned a great deal right from the very beginning of this course up to the last discussion of the topic... that I couldn't help but finished the course earlier than the usual scheduled date... and that I have to rate this course TEN (from 1-10 where ten is the highest). It was such a nice experience to learn something new, or even if some aspects I learned it before but I have gained a tremendous, in-depth knowledge and solid foundation about this course: like the use of metaphors, the Grasser's theory of intrinsic motivation, the Vygostky's scaffolding, Body Language and the teachers talk, the i+1 learning, the 80/20 rule, the diffuse mode and focused mode of learning and more!. And one thing that I really enjoyed more was the assumptions or the essential questions in the assignment which involved critical thinking. Thank you so much for this course, and to all the staff who created this language learning website, to the staff behind the scene and especially to Dr. Shane Dixon thank you for generously sharing your knowledge and expertise on this field. I salute you! Very impressive!!! Thank you!

por Hala L

11 de ago de 2019

Teachers should be aware of the basic language learning the understanding of basic techniques on how to make the meaning clear, how to help motivate students by improving teacher's talk, scaffolding and body talk. I like the use of metaphors all over the modules. New theories of learning like Vygotsky and Krashen of leaning zones and Glasser of intrinsic motivation. Teachers talk strategies of focusing on meaning using signpost expressions I learned a lot about acquisition versus learning and the two different modes of the focused and diffuse mode. I learned how to create and change the environment of learning. It was a good idea to talk about language as a stage with a relation of self-awareness and the affective filter . Good language learners of predicting using selective attention prepare, look ridiculous, practice, ask the question, take notes. learners need not just to learn, but how to learn. We faced the problem of time learning at schools. The importance of the role of teachers to empower students to go outside to the global community supported by successful teachers.The best expression for me when teachers represent the candle to enlight the learner's way.