Chevron Left
Voltar para Ensine inglês agora! Princípios fundacionais

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ensine inglês agora! Princípios fundacionais da instituição Universidade do Estado do Arizona

4.9
estrelas
11,808 classificações

Sobre o curso

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
Destaques
Engaging instructors

(331 avaliações)

Interactive content

(104 avaliações)

Melhores avaliações

VM

9 de abr de 2020

Great course! Nice content and great presentation of the material. Useful not only for ESL teachers, but for all language teachers and even for teachers in general. Thank you for creating this course!

JG

17 de ago de 2018

This is a very useful course as I begin my studies to prepare to teach English abroad. ASU is a recognized university and the price is very reasonable. I look forward to the next course in the series.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 4,195 Avaliações para o Ensine inglês agora! Princípios fundacionais

por Ronald Y

12 de jun de 2020

This is a great course. I taught for 20 years in schools of Medicine without any instruction on how to teach. This course has opened my eyes to the possibilities of teaching language in multiple ways. The presentations are clear and concise and easily understood. The combination of videos and written information makes for an excellent teaching strategy. Finally, I really enjoyed taking the course and learning so much more about how to teach languages.

por Deborah A H

2 de nov de 2020

Thank you so much! Coursera is the best! I really enjoyed and learned a lot from all the well-explained and clearly demonstrated lectures that I am sure I can also apply in the near future. All the concepts were made simple and easy to remember. I also sincerely appreciate the metaphors and the Taxonomy at the end of the course. I will definitely remember all of them. Great work, Professors and Creators of Coursera. Salute and more power to you all!

por Christian P

11 de jun de 2021

This course authorized by Arizona State University and offered through Coursera is such a blessing for all of us who enrolled. This course made me love English language more. I have learned a lot when it comes to teaching English language. The instructors are so intelligent and passionate in what they are doing, which made every learner to be more diligent and dedicated to finish the course. Thank you so much to the instructors, ASU and coursera.

por LESLYN M

10 de set de 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. The content was well presented and the videos were very interesting and appropriate lengths. As a result, I was able to easily follow and retain the information and visualize how I will apply some of the new techniques I have learned. The peer assignments were thought provoking and it was beneficial to see what my peers in the class had to say. Thank you to all of the teachers, peers and wider production team.

por Heather L

22 de jun de 2020

Really great course to start my TOEFL journey. I have been out of college for over twenty years and this was a great way to get back into further learning. The content was interesting without being overwhelming and was presented in a simple way. Dr.Shane Dixon has great energy and is able to make the concepts relevant but also inspiring. In addition, I really enjoyed getting to interact with other learners as we reviewed each other’s submissions.

por Hemlata M

21 de jan de 2022

T​his is just amazing. thanks Coursera for providing this opportunity to complete the course in a better way. when I go through with this course i feel that my leanning ability has been inceresing day by day...and the most happiest thing is to see your grades and find your ability to see the achivements and leanring of concepts. in this pandemic online platform like Coursera make me whole in English langauge leanrning.Thank you coursera team.

por Assem A

21 de nov de 2021

This course was a wonderful refreshing journey. My learning was engaging as I could confront the assumptions and some of them are common myths. It was interactive as I could review other colleagues' works and give my feedback, which is the most exciting part of this learning. The taxonomy of language learning is an excellent example of designing a teaching philosophy which I take a model and draft my own. Thanks to ASU for this opportunity.

por Adalto F d G

22 de fev de 2016

The course is excellent! In fact, the professor, Dr. Shane Dixon is an expert able to capture and keep our attention.

More yet, the content and the approach used are really good! The way Dr. Shane conduct the course and explain how to become a better teacher make this course a must for future teachers.

I highly recommend, not just for english teachers, but those who wants to improve their abilities as professors at colleges and universities.

por Nadine E M K

24 de nov de 2020

My name is: Nadine Morrison, I am from Panama Republic of Panama. I am greatful for the opportunity you gave me to participate in this course. It was very helpful. I appreciated the way teacher presented the class. I have learn a lot of techniques and strategies I didn't know. I cann't afford the complite year, I know I learn someting in this course. Thank you so much for your time and effort.

Best Regards,

Nadine Elizabeth Morrison Knight

por Susan S G S

14 de nov de 2020

I am so thankful for having the opportunity to learn to teach English with this awesome team! Dr. Shane Dixon, Andrea Harawa, Justin Shewell and all their supporting team, and of course, The Arizona State University, I appreciate your professionalism, all the tips and guidance provided in this course. This course is a great option to improve our teaching strategies and build new skills and abilities to do a wonderful job a ESL teachers.

por Roohi R D

14 de out de 2019

I found the course particularly exceptional and exciting as the things that were taught and how they were taught, was the first of its kind in my experience of traditional learning. I believe second language is one of the most difficult things to teach. Our teachers in the course, by way of teaching the modules taught us techniques of HOW language should be taught. I'm looking forward to learning more from them in the following courses.

por Sujata S L

12 de jun de 2021

I was somewhat skeptical about this course but it turned out the other way. I am so glad that I joined the it. I never felt like a passive learner as our instructors Dr. Shane Dixon and Andrea Hathway left no stone unturned to make the sessions interesting. Everything was so interesting about this course, from content to presentation. Thank you so much everyone. I am going to get enrolled myself for the next part of this course.

Thanks

por Alexandra P

10 de jul de 2018

This course is amazing, I've got a lot of new useful information in really concentrated form and it didn't take a lot of time. In my school and university there was a huge amount of useless information, and it was very hard to isolate important parts from the whole, and in this Coursera course I see absolutely opposite situation. Everything I read and saw in this course will be useful in my further work.Thank you.Kindest regards, Alex

por Nomindari B

20 de ago de 2020

First of all, thank you so much for empowering me and building me up through so many interesting lessons and reading materials. it is very helpful and it is absolutely one of the best courses. I'm so grateful for the professors and teachers who taught this course and prepared this course for us on behalf of the teachers all over the world. I am willing to use methods I have learnt from this course to my students at GMIT, Mongolia:-)

por Dildora N K

4 de nov de 2021

Teach English Now! Fundamental Principals course was great impact for me to make progress in my career and teaching method. It was very interesting and unforgatable. I liked Dr Dixon's way of teaching. Every activity was very fruitful and exciting. All moduls made me think and learn something useful for my teaching experience. Thank you so much dear teachers fro giving such brilliant teaching strategies about learning languages.

por Azizeh A

31 de mai de 2021

Hi, I newly completed this interesting course and I believe that it would be helpful for me. I enjoyed the course because it was well presented and using metaphors to explain the points made the topics more imaginable and easy to understand. Definitely I will enroll in part two of this course.

At the end. I would like to express my gratitude to all the ones who has prepared this course.

With best wishes,

Azizeh Atapur

por Halima N

5 de ago de 2020

I enjoyed the lessons. The class was pretty good I actually think I have learned a lot from this class. This was my first online class and I thought your homework and tests really made me think critically and search for the answers making me learn more especially peer assessments. And through watching videos i have learned how i can speak confidently while making my point clear e.t.c. Great thanks to my teachers.

por Rosario D R

13 de jul de 2021

Your way of teaching may be slow for a native speaker, but I think it's a very effective way of instilling in your students, the importance of the Foundation Principles. After all, an effective leaning is not how fast you finished a course, but how well you understood. A well-understood foundation is the corner stone of an effective and fun language learning. Thank you very much for helping me understand that.

por Behnaz S

25 de jun de 2020

Starting this course, I was so hopeful and optimistic about all the things I needed to learn about foundational principles of teaching, and to be honest, I wasn't disappointed. I enjoyed every second of the videos and every word of the readings. took many notes and wrote many comments. met great ideas from different people.It was an amazing experience. Thanks you Coursera and thanks you Arizona State University.

por Shoon L W P

1 de nov de 2021

This course could help me a lot for my career. The instructors also clearly explained the techniques we can follow in our teaching. I understand more what language is by discussing the metaphors with the peers and feedbacks for assignments by the peers are really helpful to me. So , if you are a prospective or experienced language teacher, I am sure that joining this course can help you more than you think.

por Carlos G H C

24 de fev de 2019

I learned a lot about the theories behind language acquisition from Krashen.

Dr. Dixon enthusiastically explains the concepts fo "teacher talk", "elaboration" and more, in the context of teaching languages.

The course checkpoints aren't tedious like in other courses, they just check for the essential parts and the elaborations are left for assumptions about language learning explained in videos as assignments.

por Jasson G C

6 de jul de 2018

This course has given me new insights into teaching English effectively to non-native speakers. The theories have widened my understanding of the concerns, issues and trends in teaching English to foreign students. In addition to that, the Dr. Dixon and Dr. Haraway are very engaging with their delivery of the lessons. I have enjoyed every moment that I have spent for this online course. Well done, Coursera!

por Aya K

12 de jun de 2019

This course was by far the most engaging introduction to teaching ESL that I’ve ever come across. The structure (short lectures interspersed with assessments) meant that information was provided at the optimal level or ‘sweet spot’, and Dr Dixon’s humorous anecdotes made the course fun. The two aspects motivated me to complete the course - in flying colours to boot! I can’t wait to start the next subject!

por sinan k

5 de fev de 2017

thanks to all teachers and students i am so happy to being here with you. this course help me to see my skills level and teach me to how can i improve them. i am a students of English language teaching and i am the one of the future teacher with this course i will be a good teacher and i will guide my students according to what i learned here. it is very useful for future teachers. thanks for everything.

por Andrêssa d S

4 de jun de 2021

Finally an online course I truly enjoyed taking! I caught myself smiling while watching every single video! I've learned so much from this course, not only as a teacher but also as a language learner myself. I found myself more passionate about teaching than I was before and I will definitely keep on improving my teaching abilities with this amazing team of selfless people! Gratidão e amor, from Brazil.