Chevron Left
Voltar para Ensine inglês agora! Princípios fundacionais

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ensine inglês agora! Princípios fundacionais da instituição Universidade do Estado do Arizona

4.9
estrelas
11,817 classificações

Sobre o curso

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
Destaques
Engaging instructors

(331 avaliações)

Interactive content

(104 avaliações)

Melhores avaliações

CR

12 de mai de 2020

Simply amazing. Loved every single minute of it. I feel myself a much better teacher, I’ve learnt how to see resources to give a better class as well as offer my students better practices of learning.

KK

9 de set de 2021

That was a great experience and im very grateful for all the information I have been taught. The professors leading this course are just so professional and it was really joyful to learn all the time.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 4,197 Avaliações para o Ensine inglês agora! Princípios fundacionais

por Carolin C

30 de nov de 2016

It is a recommended course for any teachers out there. Even though this course is focusing on teaching English language, I find that it is still helpful for teachers of any other subjects, even other languages! I thoroughly enjoy weekly assignment even though I have to admit that I didn't complete some by the end of the week. But, it is all on me because I am responsible for my own learning. Good luck to everyone who is taking this course and anyone who will be taking this course! Cheers!

por Jacqueline K

10 de ago de 2016

The Foundational Principles portion of this specialization is really comprehensive, but also not complex enough that a new learner can't complete and understand the material. There is a strong focus on teacher technique that I appreciated. There is a good combination of audio-visual material and reading material. I prefer to learn through reading so it was nice to intersperse articles and authentic research with the lessons. Would definitely recommend this to new and seasoned learners!

por IJEOMA D U

27 de set de 2020

It was an amazing experience! I must commend Dr. Shane Dixon's level of creativity in making the course interesting and very easy to comprehend. His ability to explain the most complex ideas in simple forms is quite incredible. I never thought that taking an online course will be so rewarding and educative, my experience has cleared all my doubts. I also appreciate Coursera's efforts in putting this wonderful courses together, and I look forward to taking my courses on this platform.

por Francis Y

19 de out de 2019

Although it was an introductory course, the foundational principles were very helpful, even as an experienced teacher. Because I did not have any formal training in education (i.e. did not major in the education field), the principles taught offered a lot of insights into why I have been doing what I did in the classroom and why I was trained in particular ways of teaching. This is a great course to start the TESOL certification process or to see if this is what you really want.

por Saida H

13 de jun de 2020

The course was very useful and gave me a lot of ideas that I didn't know as a future teacher and also it gave me the opportunity to discover more about the teaching field making it seem like an exciting journey to take. The tutors were very spontaneous and not strick at all, they are friendly and have a smooth message delivery way that the student understands what they are talking about immediatly. I really enjoyed the course and looking forward seeing you in real life. Thank you

por Ana L

9 de mai de 2022

Great course. The only thing I would change is the peer review process. It would be great to add another review question. Something that establishes if the answer is readable, looks plagerized, looks to be written by someone who doesn't have the language level needed to be in this course.

I am a very simpathetic reader/listener, and I don't look for accuracy or correct grammar. Even still, many of the assignments I reviewed showed huge gaps in comprehension and comprehensibilty.

por Eugenija V

7 de mai de 2022

That was an incredible experience! I got so much useful information, advices, examples and even practice in expressing myself while writing essays every week. And even more than that, I started to feel myself integrated in a global community of talented teachers and gained more confidence in my teaching practice. Sending my gratitude to Dr. Shane Dixon, Dr. Justin Shewell and Jessica Sinco for creating this beautiful course and to Coyrsera for giving us the opportunity to study.

por Натали Н

27 de jan de 2021

I enjoyed this course a lot! It has really meaningful and useful content, interesting video and thought-provoking assignments. Getting through this course I gained a great deal of knowledge and got to know teaching techniques and strategies. I can’t thank the creators of this fabulous course enough for the opportunity to participate in it and want to express sincere gratitude to all teachers who were behind the scene. I am looking forward to going in-depth of the next course.

por Mark A C C

27 de set de 2021

I am really grateful and thankful that I was able to join and have this course. I learned about how teaching English is, what are the methods, strategies and the principles. How teachers, students, and class are compared to some objects to emphasize and explain every thought in an understandable way. I am also thankful for the faculty and the Coursera itself for granting me the privilege to be one of their student in this course, which will be a great plus for me in the future.

por Brant T

23 de mai de 2017

Having both taken Barbara Oakley's coursera course about learning as well as reading her book, I was already familiar with the ideas about focused and diffuse learning modes. This course applied not only that information that I was aware (and quite fond) of to the idea of language learning, but also pulled in a number of other useful pedagogical resources and presented them in a coherent and cohesive manner. I am looking forward to the next course in the TOEFL specialization.

por Fernando B M

22 de nov de 2020

I took this course to learn how to teach myself better. I feel stuck in my english learning and I'm currently learning a third language, so this was a pretty nice oportunity. In the end... I actually feel motivated to get into teaching, and even better, what I learned here can translate (Pun intended) to any other topic, not only language teaching, something that will come very handy as a Software developer and musician... I don't know, after TOEFL, I might just go for TESOL.

por Rosa F

8 de set de 2020

I gave a 5 starts rate because i really like the way you presented the part 1: materials and videos was so precisely ant not too long, that study was not feel like taking a course but reviewing things that we may be achieved a long time ago but we had forgotten somehow. it has a personal approach to me as a person and as a teacher, in order to never forget how ridiculous we have to be while teaching to help our students to feel really comfy with their learning process.

Thanks,

por Engaisi P

25 de ago de 2018

I loved and enjoyed the teaching style of this course. It modeled the way I should be teaching perfectly and so I was able to connect the content I was learning to the way the teacher was teaching. Lots of teacher talk and body language and scaffolding was modeled.

I also learned very useful information which I look forward in using in my own classes in the future.

All in all, spectacular. Keep it up and I hope those who come after me will enjoy it just as much.

And thank you!

por Hong L

19 de mar de 2022

Teaching English now! Lessons have created an unforgetable ​ life-long impact on my teaching with its solid, professional, theoretical and practical instructions. It has spread a complete new scene of teaching before my eyes and guided me in teaching successfully and in designing consecutive nation -wide certified teaching plans for the rest of years ever since I started the lessons in 2015. I admire the teachers with their profound knowledge and their beautiful smiles!

por Jose d C G M

28 de jun de 2021

It has been a great and inspirational experience from the teachers to the few peer's reviews readings from other tutors from different parts of the world. The teaching techniques used by this university teachers 'metaphors' very engaging and useful a great tool! It definitely helps me and I am planning to continue taking the next TESOL course in order to achieve a higher degree of certification. Thank you to all involved in producing this fine program. Gonzalo Manrique.

por Steven D J

29 de set de 2019

Thank you for this help on teacher/student relations; sharing the importance of practice, helping students feel smart, relating teaching experiences to others, and stressing how hard it is to perform something new. This class has helped me with my teaching practice, to make certain my classroom is more of a co-op with students. Dr. Dixon is so engaging as a teacher and mentor, I'm now going to search for his books to further learn his techniques to help develop mine.

por Rakhmonova M

18 de set de 2020

I love teaching. But sometimes I feel that my students do not want to learn English. And I always ask myself: "Why are they lazy? Why aren't they doing anything?" And I found the answer. Because I did not give them enough chance to practise. Almost all of my lessons were organized by lecturing. I used to teach only grammar rules. I can't remember using body language during my lessons. After taking part in this course I learned many things. Thank you all very much!!!

por Maryam A

20 de mai de 2020

I absolutely loved this course. It was fun and with a great structure. I learned a lot easily and it was so fun I didn't wanted it to finish. Time passes so quickly with Teach English Now. I want to thank Dr. Dixon for his wonderful teaching and all the Teach English Now team for making this amazing course. I also want to thank Coursera team for letting me take this course and giving me this wonderful opportunity.

I don't know how to thank you enough.

Thanks a lot

Maryam

por Kirsten K

15 de nov de 2019

The videos are very well done and the course material was a good start to learning Teaching English as a Second Language theory and foundations. There is some delays in waiting for peer reviews and to be able to review others work which can affect your timeline and goals, and peer reviews can be unfair and there seems to be no recourse to challenge them, but the assignments are simple and you can just re-do them and get different peers to grade you which worked fine.

por Lorain B

17 de abr de 2017

This course is essential for anyone who wants to be a language teacher. I have taken an online advance TESOL certificate but unlike it, TEACH ENGLISH NOW! Foundation Principles course is what I needed: the video lectures, the readings were all presented clearly and the tasks are reasonable. It's refreshing for those who have been teaching English for a long time who might be thinking of giving up or who might be very tired by now, this course is just invigorating !

por Daniel N Z

2 de mar de 2022

The course was nothing short of spectacular. Not only was the content carefully curated to have the most impact on my views on language learning and teaching, but it also managed to make learning incredibly fun. What really impressed me was just how much the instructors practised what they preached. I do have a few suggestions: (i) Add supplementary readings to further our understanding of what is discussed in class; (ii) Make the quizzes a bit more challenging.

por Oluwatoyin O E

24 de abr de 2018

I knew this course would be great and worth it, what I did not expect was to be wowed. The modules are sooo rich, so easy to comprehend and very applicable to everyday life. I'm not a teacher yet but I'm already applying these principles. I have a nephew who is having troubles learning a second language and I found myself giving him tips from what I learned here. I can't wait to begin the rest of the courses. A big thank you to the instructors. Thanks you!

por Yulia N M

25 de out de 2016

It's very useful though theoretical course,there are many advice how to teach; methods,approuches and devices.It's a ineresting view with metaphors and psychological articals,learning strategies and recommendation how to keep professional without burning out but being bright candle with appealing fire .Not only burning to teach but ignite this fire in your students! I appreciate for this course and I hope it will be better and interesting in further parts.

por Cesar A A A

17 de abr de 2021

Amazing course!!! The videos and articles and concise and clear. Analogies to explain the course content are great, we I could understand much better by them tan by using complex concepts. And the process to check little by little every topic and at the end summarize the information is an stunning way to learn. Immediately I remember the complete examples and characteristics explained during the course. I have amazingly enjoyed it!!! Thank you so much!!!

por Richard R

17 de out de 2016

ASU has done a great job of putting together materials to present the ideas needed to teach English as a second language. It's far and away the most well organized and presented class I've taken through Coursera. I am auditing the class so I can't speak to the response times and response quality of the instructors but the forums seem active and I did get responses to my questions within a week. I look forward to enrolling for the certificate next year.