Chevron Left
Voltar para The Truth About Cats and Dogs

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Truth About Cats and Dogs da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.8
estrelas
1,348 classificações
398 avaliações

Sobre o curso

What is your cat revealing to you when she purrs? What is your dog expressing when he yawns or wags his tail? Understanding your cat and dog’s behaviour and the way they communicate with you, will enable you to better understand their needs and strengthen your relationship with them. This MOOC is divided into five topics, the appliance of science; behaviour and body language, senses and perception; challenges for the human-animal relationship, including pet problem behaviour; and how to improve the quality of life for cats and dogs in our care. At the start of the course we ask you to consider what you feel is important to your cat/dog and what your cat/dog means to you? We explore the world of cats and dogs and how our relationships with them vary around the world and have changed over time. We ask if we can really know what our animals are thinking or trying to communicate through their facial expressions and behaviours. From our beloved pets to street dogs, shelter dogs/cats and welfare challenges, we explore the world from their perspective and examine how their genetic make-up may influence their behavioural responses and choices. We dispel common behavioural myths by looking through a scientific lens, asking questions about the function and development of their behaviour.. We explore how their senses help them to interact with their world and how they communicate with each other and us! Finally, we ask whether we impose unrealistic expectations on our cats and dogs and how this affects their ability to live alongside us. We ask, what can we do to be more responsible pet owners and to ensure the welfare of all cats and dogs in society? This MOOC explores different scientifically validated methods that can help you to better understand your pet, to enrich their lives and help you to be a more educated and confident pet owner. We hope you enjoy the course!...

Melhores avaliações

HR

Mar 27, 2020

I learned so much about how to decrease stress for my pets and increase their happiness. I also learned how to better communicate with them. Thank you for helping improve my pets quality of life!

JJ

May 02, 2020

I have had a variety of animal companions throughout my life, but this course has taught me that I could always benefit by staying up-to-date on the latest information related to animal welfare.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 392 Avaliações para o The Truth About Cats and Dogs

por Bettina S

Jul 30, 2019

Thanks a lot for that interesting course! As a cat owner I knew quite a lot already, but there were some very interesting insights and findings. Learning more about dog behaviour was also very helpful.

por Ulf H K

Apr 26, 2020

Very useful,many new insights about cats and allowing me to get rid of many wrong and overcome ideas about dogs! Interesting and gripping, almost effortless for me because of the fun I had! Thanks!

por Heather R

Mar 27, 2020

I learned so much about how to decrease stress for my pets and increase their happiness. I also learned how to better communicate with them. Thank you for helping improve my pets quality of life!

por Louisa D

Apr 06, 2020

I really enjoyed taking this course. The lectures were very informative and I learned a lot from this course. I definitely recommend this course for anyone who is interested in dogs and cats. :)

por Mary B

Dec 07, 2019

I am enjoying this course and am learning quite a bit. Behavior is one of my main interests as a trainer as I think understanding it helps to design training and living programs for the animal.

por Ashley S

Jun 23, 2020

This was a very informative course and had a lot of ways to destress pets but it can get repetitive after a few videos. All things considered, I did enjoy taking this course and what I learned.

por Kimberly S

Apr 09, 2020

The course was very informative and taught in a way that those not familiar with cats and/or dogs would understand. They offered real solutions to antiquated ways of addressing behavior issues.

por Cristina N

Mar 04, 2018

This is a very informative, interesting and well prepared on-line course with lots of documentation that one can read later on in order to get more knowledgeable about dogs and cats. Thanks!

por Yingqi M

Jun 02, 2020

I think the course is very informative and definitely delivers the main message to pet owners: consider the welfare of pets and see things via their perspectives. Thank you for the course!

por Xin S

May 24, 2017

A quick stab at some base concerns of animal welfare issues nowadays focus on cats and dogs, good start point to view with objective and scientific measures for anyone that is interested.

por Melinda M

Jul 03, 2019

This course was informative on many street and pet dogs and cats. I do want to know more about the shelter element of how these animals can be better suited in a shelter environment.

por Julia K

Oct 15, 2017

Thank you! I do enjoyed this course. I got a lot of new information about cats stress, dogs and cats welfare. I will use this knowledge with my pets and in my dogtraining practice.

por Sharon H I

Nov 29, 2017

I think this course should be a requirement for anyone thinking of adopting a pet. I've been around animals all my life and I still learnt a number of new things from this course!

por Somya A

May 16, 2020

I enjoyed every reading every video. I love pets and i want to know everything about them and teachers help me to know about them. I am thankful to whole team of this MOOC.

por Larisa R

Feb 28, 2018

I am happy that studied this course. I got lots of important information about cats and dogs. As a owner of cat, I found this course is very useful. Thank you so much!

por Jeanne A C

Jun 25, 2017

I loved this course and only wish more people could take it and learn about the different characteristics and needs of dogs and cats before they rush out and get one.

por Halan J G

May 19, 2020

We need more courses like this, to have the opportunity to understand more about our companions, our pets, to enhance they welfare and our relationships. Thank you!

por Sara F F J G

May 02, 2020

Thank you. The course exceeded my expectations, I really liked your approaches to various problems, I learned a lot and solidified other knowledge. Congratulations!

por Susthira A

Jun 09, 2017

this course is very helpful to encourage me as a vet and as an pet owner to more understand my patients and my dogs' behaviour and their acts. thank you so much!

por Melania G

Jun 05, 2017

This was such an intersting and owner-friendly course. I an a vet and I highly recommend it to allvpet lovers, pet owners or people that work with cats and dogs.

por Liew W Y

Jun 11, 2020

The course programme is nicely paced and covers the fundamentals which are definitely helpful for anyone who are interested in basic knowledge of cats and dogs.

por Sabita R

Apr 09, 2020

The emphasis is on wellbeing of the pets, changing our views as human 'masters', and I appreciate that! It's not about us humans, its about them cats and dogs!

por Kirsten L

Jun 15, 2020

Such an informative and interesting course, I really enjoyed it and can't wait to apply it to my further plans of working with animals (mainly cats and dogs).

por Harish.A

May 25, 2020

THIS COURSE IS VERY NICE AND INFORMATIVE AND IT IS TAKEN NATURALY WITH THE ANIMALS IN SCENE WHICH MAKES THE VIDEO LECTURE TO LOOK LIKE A LIVE CONVERSATION

por Elisabeth H

May 20, 2017

Very interesting and engaging. Fully recommend to anyone interested in learning more about understanding the needs, happiness, and welfare of their pets.