Chevron Left
Voltar para The Truth About Cats and Dogs

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Truth About Cats and Dogs da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.8
estrelas
1,737 classificações
504 avaliações

Sobre o curso

What is your cat revealing to you when she purrs? What is your dog expressing when he yawns or wags his tail? Understanding your cat and dog’s behaviour and the way they communicate with you, will enable you to better understand their needs and strengthen your relationship with them. This MOOC is divided into five topics, the appliance of science; behaviour and body language, senses and perception; challenges for the human-animal relationship, including pet problem behaviour; and how to improve the quality of life for cats and dogs in our care. At the start of the course we ask you to consider what you feel is important to your cat/dog and what your cat/dog means to you? We explore the world of cats and dogs and how our relationships with them vary around the world and have changed over time. We ask if we can really know what our animals are thinking or trying to communicate through their facial expressions and behaviours. From our beloved pets to street dogs, shelter dogs/cats and welfare challenges, we explore the world from their perspective and examine how their genetic make-up may influence their behavioural responses and choices. We dispel common behavioural myths by looking through a scientific lens, asking questions about the function and development of their behaviour.. We explore how their senses help them to interact with their world and how they communicate with each other and us! Finally, we ask whether we impose unrealistic expectations on our cats and dogs and how this affects their ability to live alongside us. We ask, what can we do to be more responsible pet owners and to ensure the welfare of all cats and dogs in society? This MOOC explores different scientifically validated methods that can help you to better understand your pet, to enrich their lives and help you to be a more educated and confident pet owner. We hope you enjoy the course!...

Melhores avaliações

HR
26 de Mar de 2020

I learned so much about how to decrease stress for my pets and increase their happiness. I also learned how to better communicate with them. Thank you for helping improve my pets quality of life!

AG
7 de Out de 2020

This course is a very good overview for people beginning their studies of dogs and cats. Pertinent videos and additional resource suggestions provide further opportunities to study more details.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 498 Avaliações para o The Truth About Cats and Dogs

por Tanushree T

27 de Dez de 2020

I LOVED IT SOO MUCH. I HAVE LEARNED SO MUCH ABOUT MY DOGS AND ABOUT CATS ALSO. IT WOULD HAVE BEEN REALLY GREAT IF YOU HAVE MADE THE COURSE A LITTLE MORE INTERESTING. ANYWAYS I HAD A GREAT TIME.

por Ashley S

23 de Jun de 2020

This was a very informative course and had a lot of ways to destress pets but it can get repetitive after a few videos. All things considered, I did enjoy taking this course and what I learned.

por Kimberly S

8 de Abr de 2020

The course was very informative and taught in a way that those not familiar with cats and/or dogs would understand. They offered real solutions to antiquated ways of addressing behavior issues.

por Cristina N

4 de Mar de 2018

This is a very informative, interesting and well prepared on-line course with lots of documentation that one can read later on in order to get more knowledgeable about dogs and cats. Thanks!

por Yingqi M

2 de Jun de 2020

I think the course is very informative and definitely delivers the main message to pet owners: consider the welfare of pets and see things via their perspectives. Thank you for the course!

por Kiran M

24 de Ago de 2020

After going through the course, I am able to better recognise the behaviour of my pet and able to understand what they feel. This is definitely going to help better communicate with them.

por Xin S

24 de Mai de 2017

A quick stab at some base concerns of animal welfare issues nowadays focus on cats and dogs, good start point to view with objective and scientific measures for anyone that is interested.

por Li S H A

22 de Nov de 2020

The course is very informative, and for pet owners, or people planning to have a pet in the future, this course would be very useful. The videos are short and suitable for beginners :)

por Melinda M

2 de Jul de 2019

This course was informative on many street and pet dogs and cats. I do want to know more about the shelter element of how these animals can be better suited in a shelter environment.

por Monika R

31 de Out de 2020

Thank you for this course. I helped me to extend my knowledge on cats and dogs in a very nice and friendly way. I will recommend it to any English-speaking cat or dog owner I know.

por Maria E G S

17 de Out de 2020

Thank you Coursera and University of Edinburgh for this course! I really appreciated all the efforts everyone made to make this course enjoyable. I've learned a lot as a pet owner.

por Julia K

15 de Out de 2017

Thank you! I do enjoyed this course. I got a lot of new information about cats stress, dogs and cats welfare. I will use this knowledge with my pets and in my dogtraining practice.

por Sharon H I

29 de Nov de 2017

I think this course should be a requirement for anyone thinking of adopting a pet. I've been around animals all my life and I still learnt a number of new things from this course!

por NADINE M S

19 de Set de 2020

Excellent content. Full of scientifically-based advice for those who really care about their pets. This course should be compulsory for all prospective and current pet owners.

por ANA K C L

10 de Set de 2020

Es un curso muy básico, sin embargo aprendes mucho y te ayuda a entender más a los animales y saber como tratarlos y corregirlos de una manera correcta preservando su bienestar

por Somya A

16 de Mai de 2020

I enjoyed every reading every video. I love pets and i want to know everything about them and teachers help me to know about them. I am thankful to whole team of this MOOC.

por Fahim Z

11 de Jan de 2021

This was quite an eye-opening experience! I will definitely recommend this course to others. The course instructors were really great as well in conveying their message.

por Larisa R

28 de Fev de 2018

I am happy that studied this course. I got lots of important information about cats and dogs. As a owner of cat, I found this course is very useful. Thank you so much!

por Jeanne A C

25 de Jun de 2017

I loved this course and only wish more people could take it and learn about the different characteristics and needs of dogs and cats before they rush out and get one.

por Halan J G

19 de Mai de 2020

We need more courses like this, to have the opportunity to understand more about our companions, our pets, to enhance they welfare and our relationships. Thank you!

por Sara F F J G

2 de Mai de 2020

Thank you. The course exceeded my expectations, I really liked your approaches to various problems, I learned a lot and solidified other knowledge. Congratulations!

por Inês M M M

25 de Set de 2020

Super informative, simple and trully important information! To all pet owners and specially to all the pet owners to be in the world! I liked it a lot. Recommend!

por Susthira A

9 de Jun de 2017

this course is very helpful to encourage me as a vet and as an pet owner to more understand my patients and my dogs' behaviour and their acts. thank you so much!

por Melania G

5 de Jun de 2017

This was such an intersting and owner-friendly course. I an a vet and I highly recommend it to allvpet lovers, pet owners or people that work with cats and dogs.