Chevron Left
Voltar para The Truth About Cats and Dogs

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Truth About Cats and Dogs da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.7
629 classificações
177 revisões

Sobre o curso

What is your cat revealing to you when she purrs? What is your dog expressing when he yawns or wags his tail? Understanding your cat and dog’s behaviour and the way they communicate with you, will enable you to better understand their needs and strengthen your relationship with them. This MOOC is divided into five topics, the appliance of science; behaviour and body language, senses and perception; challenges for the human-animal relationship, including pet problem behaviour; and how to improve the quality of life for cats and dogs in our care. At the start of the course we ask you to consider what you feel is important to your cat/dog and what your cat/dog means to you? We explore the world of cats and dogs and how our relationships with them vary around the world and have changed over time. We ask if we can really know what our animals are thinking or trying to communicate through their facial expressions and behaviours. From our beloved pets to street dogs, shelter dogs/cats and welfare challenges, we explore the world from their perspective and examine how their genetic make-up may influence their behavioural responses and choices. We dispel common behavioural myths by looking through a scientific lens, asking questions about the function and development of their behaviour.. We explore how their senses help them to interact with their world and how they communicate with each other and us! Finally, we ask whether we impose unrealistic expectations on our cats and dogs and how this affects their ability to live alongside us. We ask, what can we do to be more responsible pet owners and to ensure the welfare of all cats and dogs in society? This MOOC explores different scientifically validated methods that can help you to better understand your pet, to enrich their lives and help you to be a more educated and confident pet owner. We hope you enjoy the course!...

Melhores avaliações

CN

Mar 04, 2018

This is a very informative, interesting and well prepared on-line course with lots of documentation that one can read later on in order to get more knowledgeable about dogs and cats. Thanks!

XS

May 24, 2017

A quick stab at some base concerns of animal welfare issues nowadays focus on cats and dogs, good start point to view with objective and scientific measures for anyone that is interested.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o The Truth About Cats and Dogs

By Shannon S

Jul 06, 2018

This course was a great refresher on what I have already been taught and also full of new information to help me in my profession as an animal behaviour consultant and trainer. I was really impressed with the content and the professors were excellent. I am very impressed and hope they offer more MOOC's like this one.

By Kellie S

Jun 21, 2018

The audio levels vary greatly between videos. Some are so quiet that I have to put the subtitles on while others are way too loud. Some of the transcripts are written up nicely with correct time stamps and others are just a wall of text. Other than these technical issues the actual course content is interesting and covers all aspects from commonly known information to more professional levels.This is a great course and would recommend it to those who are interested in animal behaviour in our daily lives.

By E. J L

Sep 03, 2017

This course was well produced but very simple and repetitive. I was hoping for a much more in depth exploration of behaviour and maybe something that was new or exciting. I felt it was way too basic.

By Emmanuel G A

Jun 12, 2019

muy bueno

By Nicola J

Jun 02, 2019

A hugely enjoyable and informative course for anyone that owns a cat or dog, or is thinking of getting one. Even though I have been a pet owner for decades, I learnt many new things that will help me understand my pets even better. My thanks to the educators and course organisers.

By Guillem

May 17, 2019

Too many words to explains so little content.

By William A

May 03, 2019

Really great stuff, valuable material to scientifically support what 'gentle-trainers' have known all along!

By Prashant S S

May 03, 2019

Very nice and informative course

By Viacheslav B

Apr 24, 2019

Good

By Barrie M

Apr 03, 2019

v

e

r

y

I

n

f

o

r

m

a

t

I

v

e

a

n

d

e

a

s

y

t

o

f

o

l

l

o

w

c

o

u

r

s

e

By Ya H C L

Mar 24, 2019

I have great time while watching all the videos with very cute dogs / cats there, and surely i had 5 cats before, they were family, but i didn't know we should give each one food container and even spread apart, so now I learn and really very informative!

By Shiny R

Mar 23, 2019

i learn a lot from this online course and it really helpful

By Alexis F

Mar 22, 2019

I really did not enjoy this course and am so disappointed that I didn't. I wanted to learn something new about cats and dogs, but I feel like a lot of this was common knowledge. Maybe I am just more advance than I thought. I think this is a great course for a first time pet owner, but not someone who has had a pet for a few years. Also, I feel like the views shared here are sometimes extreme and I felt that having a brachycephalic dog, I was almost marked as a someone contributing to the problem of the breed.

By Ana B d F

Mar 19, 2019

Very nice course for people who have or plan on having a cat or dog. I wish everyone had to take this course before owning pets.

By Louise M

Mar 14, 2019

Loved this course, very interesting. I learned a lot about cats and dogs. Would recommend.

By Kerlley d S B

Mar 13, 2019

Curso maravilhoso com conteúdos que são de extrema importância para o meu desenvolvimento como bióloga.

Estou amando!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By Mina N

Mar 11, 2019

Useful

By luisa f r r

Mar 04, 2019

Things that every pet should know

By Emma G

Mar 01, 2019

Very much enjoyed the course. Thank you !

By Sally A

Feb 26, 2019

Useful overview of dog and cat communication, of their lifetime needs and rationale for reward based training.

By Samantha M

Feb 25, 2019

This course is especially helpful to anyone who is new to pet ownership, or even those who think they are experienced. It is full of the most up to date info on Cat and Dog behaviour and how we can help them live a good life with us. Although we love them, we might not always realize that what we are doing is perhaps not the best for them and could be done better - this course will make you think about this and find ways to improve their life with you.

By Hellas F

Feb 19, 2019

terrible

By Julia A G

Feb 17, 2019

I recommend this course to all cat and dogs lovers.

By Antonia A B

Feb 17, 2019

I loved this course! It's my favourite MOOC I've done on here so far! Very engaging and enjoyable, lovely instructors and the other students have been really nice on the forums! The content was excellent, I would absolutely recommend this to anyone interested in the area or even just a pet owner or animal lover :) Amazing course!

By Roslyn M

Feb 02, 2019

Some interesting information, but most of it was very basic.