Chevron Left
Voltar para The Truth About Cats and Dogs

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Truth About Cats and Dogs da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.7
727 classificações
204 avaliações

Sobre o curso

What is your cat revealing to you when she purrs? What is your dog expressing when he yawns or wags his tail? Understanding your cat and dog’s behaviour and the way they communicate with you, will enable you to better understand their needs and strengthen your relationship with them. This MOOC is divided into five topics, the appliance of science; behaviour and body language, senses and perception; challenges for the human-animal relationship, including pet problem behaviour; and how to improve the quality of life for cats and dogs in our care. At the start of the course we ask you to consider what you feel is important to your cat/dog and what your cat/dog means to you? We explore the world of cats and dogs and how our relationships with them vary around the world and have changed over time. We ask if we can really know what our animals are thinking or trying to communicate through their facial expressions and behaviours. From our beloved pets to street dogs, shelter dogs/cats and welfare challenges, we explore the world from their perspective and examine how their genetic make-up may influence their behavioural responses and choices. We dispel common behavioural myths by looking through a scientific lens, asking questions about the function and development of their behaviour.. We explore how their senses help them to interact with their world and how they communicate with each other and us! Finally, we ask whether we impose unrealistic expectations on our cats and dogs and how this affects their ability to live alongside us. We ask, what can we do to be more responsible pet owners and to ensure the welfare of all cats and dogs in society? This MOOC explores different scientifically validated methods that can help you to better understand your pet, to enrich their lives and help you to be a more educated and confident pet owner. We hope you enjoy the course!...

Melhores avaliações

CN

Mar 04, 2018

This is a very informative, interesting and well prepared on-line course with lots of documentation that one can read later on in order to get more knowledgeable about dogs and cats. Thanks!

XS

May 24, 2017

A quick stab at some base concerns of animal welfare issues nowadays focus on cats and dogs, good start point to view with objective and scientific measures for anyone that is interested.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o The Truth About Cats and Dogs

por Mihika G

Jul 29, 2019

Solid basis and introductory information for learning about cat and dog behavior. However, I felt it was a bit shallow and repetitive at times, and I found myself wanting more information within the course and not just provided in additional resources. I enjoyed the parts of lessons most when the instructors went into depth about a particular behavior with examples and videos, and especially when research studies were cited to explain behavior. To me this felt like a good first unit of a 101 course, and I found myself wanting 200-level course information.

por E. J L

Sep 03, 2017

This course was well produced but very simple and repetitive. I was hoping for a much more in depth exploration of behaviour and maybe something that was new or exciting. I felt it was way too basic.

por Shannon S

Jul 06, 2018

This course was a great refresher on what I have already been taught and also full of new information to help me in my profession as an animal behaviour consultant and trainer. I was really impressed with the content and the professors were excellent. I am very impressed and hope they offer more MOOC's like this one.

por Antonia A B

Feb 17, 2019

I loved this course! It's my favourite MOOC I've done on here so far! Very engaging and enjoyable, lovely instructors and the other students have been really nice on the forums! The content was excellent, I would absolutely recommend this to anyone interested in the area or even just a pet owner or animal lover :) Amazing course!

por Ana B d F

Mar 19, 2019

Very nice course for people who have or plan on having a cat or dog. I wish everyone had to take this course before owning pets.

por Corrina S

Jul 18, 2019

I must say, I agree that there is more information on dogs than there is on cats in this course. However, I understand why. Dogs have been domesticated and studied for longer. So of course we have more information about them than cats. I myself am more of a cat person and I still think this course thoroughly covers information about cats as well. I think this course is essential for anyone who is caring for or wants to care for a cat or a dog in the future, and is a great course to start with if you're interested in working with animals as well. Overall, I have nothing but good things to say about this course.

por Kellie S

Jun 21, 2018

The audio levels vary greatly between videos. Some are so quiet that I have to put the subtitles on while others are way too loud. Some of the transcripts are written up nicely with correct time stamps and others are just a wall of text. Other than these technical issues the actual course content is interesting and covers all aspects from commonly known information to more professional levels.This is a great course and would recommend it to those who are interested in animal behaviour in our daily lives.

por Michelle P

Dec 12, 2018

I learned a lot. Thank you Coursera.

por Gabriel Y

Jan 20, 2019

Simply excellent. Lots of learning and so much fun!

por Carrie D V

Jan 09, 2019

I have a greater appreciation for dogs and what we as humans mean to them and what they mean to us.

por Sara j

Jan 11, 2019

A good basic introduction to the subject

por MARINE P

Jan 25, 2019

An interesting and challenging course!

por Julia A G

Feb 17, 2019

I recommend this course to all cat and dogs lovers.

por Samantha M

Feb 25, 2019

This course is especially helpful to anyone who is new to pet ownership, or even those who think they are experienced. It is full of the most up to date info on Cat and Dog behaviour and how we can help them live a good life with us. Although we love them, we might not always realize that what we are doing is perhaps not the best for them and could be done better - this course will make you think about this and find ways to improve their life with you.

por Sally A

Feb 26, 2019

Useful overview of dog and cat communication, of their lifetime needs and rationale for reward based training.

por Emma G

Mar 01, 2019

Very much enjoyed the course. Thank you !

por luisa f r r

Mar 04, 2019

Things that every pet should know

por Mina N

Mar 11, 2019

Useful

por Kerlley d S B

Mar 13, 2019

Curso maravilhoso com conteúdos que são de extrema importância para o meu desenvolvimento como bióloga.

Estou amando!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

por Louise M

Mar 14, 2019

Loved this course, very interesting. I learned a lot about cats and dogs. Would recommend.

por YIP Y J W

Aug 15, 2018

Wonderful, amazing and totally worth every minute of my time going through this course.

por Nguyễn T P L

Aug 22, 2018

Very useful

por Sarah P

Oct 16, 2018

Very informative and enjoyable, recommend it to all pet owners

por Theresa F

Sep 19, 2018

love it i learned a lot!!!!!!!!!

por Rebecca P

Oct 03, 2018

Very good and informative, well constructed videos.