Chevron Left
Voltar para Moral Foundations of Politics

Moral Foundations of Politics , Yale University

4.8
1,210 classificações
244 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

por MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

por NK

Dec 30, 2015

The Course (Moral Foundations of Politics ) is an important subject for Politicains and the students of Political science. Prof. Ian Shapiro's lectureres have good information and most helpful.

Filtrar por:

241 avaliações

por Syeda Sakina

Nov 29, 2018

This course was no doubt a great and full of knowledge course.Teaching method and especially the engaging method of professor Shiparo wad ausome.Before study of this course i had nothing knowledge about world politics especially interm of throries and their application.

por Sanja Jovanovska

Nov 27, 2018

It is an excellent course. I personally recommend it for those who want to get an essential view on the topic. An interactive course, which for me is indispensable when e-learning.

por Marjori Pomarole

Nov 27, 2018

I am utterly enjoying the content of this course. The best produced course in Coursera by far.

por C. morgan

Nov 25, 2018

Professor spiritual manor provokes a high level of awareness of a higher motivation above “interests “ raising a possibility for a student to feel what they think and their actions can make a more understanding , accecpecting, and peaceful community.

por Amjad Mehdi

Nov 25, 2018

I learned a lot. The course has very much widened my understanding of the subject. The way Sir Ian Shapiro elaborates is fascinating. I just loved! I'm thankful to Professor Shapiro, Coursera and also to DLSEI.PK who offered this course for free. A lot of love.

por Jennifer Berry

Nov 12, 2018

This was a great course and the professor in particular was great! He was very engaging, I liked having the two students with him as he went through it; a large class would have not worked as well and I'm sure that having an instructor just stare at a camera or even just click through Power Point slides, would have been much less interesting. Overall, I think the course was awesome, very informative, well put together, and had a great natural flow, mostly do to the instructor's conversational style and his interactions with the students. I love to learn and I love politics so the class was a no-brainer but ended up being better than I had anticipated (this is my first course through Coursera). I highly recommend it!

por Chanmyae Thu

Oct 17, 2018

good lecture

por Yash Anil Pund

Oct 15, 2018

An excellent course which enthralled me to say the least .

por Sachin Kumar

Oct 05, 2018

Good for people who want to under stand about various theory around human rights since the time we were born. Are we really independent? The only independence with us is our life. We cannot control our birth but death is always in our hand. Explore many theories about human independence, french revolution, marxism, democracy, etc.

por Shah Faisal

Sep 27, 2018

The introduction was great! His pronunciation and method of teaching is matchless. I hope to learn a lot in the coming weeks