Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.8
1,407 classificações
279 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

NK

Dec 30, 2015

The Course (Moral Foundations of Politics ) is an important subject for Politicains and the students of Political science. Prof. Ian Shapiro's lectureres have good information and most helpful.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por Pablo A R T

May 13, 2019

Es un curso excelente, permite al interesado captar distintos puntos de vista políticos, puestos en contexto temporal.

por Arthur M

Jun 21, 2019

Enlightening course - this course allows me to appreciate the different value systems.

por ORTHION

Jun 21, 2019

PERFECT.

por Denisse S T

Jun 11, 2019

I have no prior knowledge of political science and I just took this course to have an idea about politics. I learned more than I expected! Kudos to Professor Ian Shapiro, his explanations were thorough and very easy to understand. The students he's talking to were also bright and I learned from them as well.

por Wan K J W

Jun 08, 2019

Good course

por Shivam P

Jun 05, 2019

Its explained well but gets a little boring towards the end.

por Ana L L

Jun 03, 2019

Excellent course, a great opportunity to learn about the main political theories and to reflect upon current political systems and practices in regards to their legitimacy. I recommend it

por GUSTAVO A J M

Jun 03, 2019

A very nice course. Highly recommended.

por Francois C

Jun 03, 2019

Great content with much reference material provided to allow you to deepen your understanding. I would prefer a more standard lecturing approach than the intimate discussion setting used.

por Bernard G

Jun 02, 2019

This course introduces you to the variety of philosophies and political ideologies. It has left me with a much better understanding of political arguments as well as the ability to analyze better interrupt many current issues.

por Anna L K

May 15, 2019

The content is relevant and interesting but could be more linked to today's time. The videos are not engaging which makes it very hard to follow the lectures. A changing style or more expert interviews would have been nice.

por Prashant S S

May 03, 2019

Very nice and informative course

por Wilhelmus C M L ( L

Apr 16, 2019

I like the course. It goes deep in the matter. the theories are explaind good and graphs are easaly understandable. Thanx for the course

por Zakaria G

Apr 05, 2019

loved the course, would have just loved more videos and discussions about democracy, where it fails and how to deal wit that

por Paulo E G d S

Apr 04, 2019

O curso é muito abrangente, bem estruturado, elaborado e aplicado. A plataforma é pratica, simples e objetiva. O professor domina o assunto e incrementa as explicações com uma didática bastante focada no conteúdo e na finalidade de entendimento. Também trouxe um referencial teórico bastante amplo e pertinente.

por Laxmi M H S

Apr 02, 2019

Very Good.

por SURESH G

Mar 31, 2019

This is one of the outstanding courses on Political Philosophy and Practice,and a best starter for beginer in the field.

por Aaron K

Mar 31, 2019

Fascinating and clear exposition of some of the deepest roots of the questions of morality inherent in politics.

por Cristina A G

Mar 23, 2019

An excellent course with a perfectly sequence of ideas, the explaining of the professor is just suitable.

por Jose C

Mar 22, 2019

Preeeeeetty good

por Natalia B

Mar 20, 2019

Thank you for your work!

This course made me think a lot, showed a new facet of philosophy. At first I didn't like the course, but now I think it is one of the best.

por Dante E L V

Mar 18, 2019

Good

por Gabriella F

Mar 18, 2019

This is such an interesting and useful course! It presents many possible paths to explore political philosophy and increase knowledge in the field. I am glad I had the chance to take it.

por Bhupendra S R

Mar 14, 2019

good course

por Paz O

Mar 12, 2019

Muy buen curso, me sirvió mucho para la reflexión y poder plantear mis inquietudes de mejor forma con mayor fundamento.