Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.8
1,537 classificações
308 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

NK

Dec 30, 2015

The Course (Moral Foundations of Politics ) is an important subject for Politicains and the students of Political science. Prof. Ian Shapiro's lectureres have good information and most helpful.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por 柏佑 陳

Nov 25, 2015

This topic is overwhelmingly interested, and the professor also makes everything so clear.

por João M M L

Sep 02, 2015

Great course! I`ve been learning a lot from it. Many thanks Professor Shapiro.

por sirius d

Nov 10, 2015

Very Good! The course have given me a new angle of view to my country China.

por William M

Nov 08, 2017

This is an excellent course -- one of my favorites on Coursera. I learned much about the great political philosophers (Hobbes, Locke, Bentham, Mill, Marx, Rawls, Nozick, etc.) and Enlightenment theories (social contract theory, utilitarianism, Marxism). However, I would have preferred that the course be split in two parts, because it is a bit long.

por Andrew G

Nov 01, 2015

Excellent Course. Really enjoyed this and learnt a lot. Put a lot of areas I have read about in context for me and linked them together. Would really enjoy other MOOCs by Prof. Shapiro

por Mrs. A A K H

Nov 08, 2015

Comprehensive course encompassing multiple facets of historical and international relevance.

por Dylan R

Nov 09, 2015

Great breadth of detail. I learned a lot.

por NSENGIMANA S F

Feb 20, 2016

Great ideas

por Conor D

Feb 21, 2016

Excellent course. The material was very interesting and I felt that the lecture format of Professor Shapiro discussing the material with two students allowed for a more comprehensive exploration of the ideas presented than a standard lecture might have. This course also managed to avoid a problem I often have with online courses in that the assessment questions weren't too easy with obvious answers, they actually required a level of understanding to answer correctly. I would highly recommend this course to anyone with an interest in politics, political philosophy or political science.

por Alexandra-Andreea P

Dec 01, 2015

It is a wonderful course not only from the point of view of the content, but most especially from that of the format. You feel like you are in the classroom and the questions posed both by the professor and the students really make you stop and think for yourself instead of just expecting someone to explain everything for you. Overall, I think it was one of the most enlightening courses I ever attended, both online and offline. Thank you very much for this opportunity!

por Marllon S

Oct 18, 2015

Excellent course provided by Yale University. It helped me to better understand the foundations of our modern society. I definitely recommend it.

por daren a

Nov 27, 2015

It is a wonderful course and the professor is excellent.

I really learn too much and I hope to take another course about this topic

por Hana S

Oct 17, 2017

A fantastic, thorough and meticulously organised course. Shapiro perfectly covers numerous topics, explains them in sufficient detail and arranges them in a logical order. His dialogues with students are helpful in clarifying potential misunderstandings and incorrect interpretations. The graded exams are extremely easy, though.

por Zhaolin L

Apr 04, 2016

Absolutely brilliant course and Prof. Shapiro really helps me understand important aspects of politics, morality and influential ideologies from first principles. Thanks from Australia!

por Opara E C

Nov 23, 2015

very interesting and an interactive course

por Julien H J

Dec 30, 2015

Great dialogue to learn.

por Mohan C

Mar 16, 2016

Clear and thought-provoking

por Myeongjang J

Sep 16, 2015

so awesome class!!!!! I like this class, Even I can't well english

por Linus B

Jun 13, 2017

Very good

por Jan S

Feb 10, 2018

Great course,

por Miguelina R V

Jun 05, 2017

Very interesting course !! helped me a lot to know more about Politics !!! Thank you Professor Saphiro !!!

por MAURICIO W

Jun 30, 2016

Very insightful, deep, fascinating

por Yuri P

Sep 28, 2015

La forma en que el profesor Shappiro es capaz de hacer teoríapolítica desde la inferencia es n slo grandilocuente, además es movilizadora, didactica y un punto eterno de inflexión y reflexión de los tópicos a tratarse.

por Alexandr N

Mar 11, 2016

This course is really important to me because it is the first one I'm taking. So, the choice was just right as it made me literally addicted to Coursera. Thank a lot for this course to Coursera and Yale University! Prof. Shapiro is a great lecturer. Thumbs up

por Alan E

Aug 06, 2016

Ian Shapiro is a true master of the subject. The format of this course sets a high standard for Coursera.