Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.8
estrelas
2,039 classificações
429 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

NK

Dec 30, 2015

The Course (Moral Foundations of Politics ) is an important subject for Politicains and the students of Political science. Prof. Ian Shapiro's lectureres have good information and most helpful.

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por Cristina A G

Mar 23, 2019

An excellent course with a perfectly sequence of ideas, the explaining of the professor is just suitable.

por Alan E

Aug 06, 2016

Ian Shapiro is a true master of the subject. The format of this course sets a high standard for Coursera.

por Arnaldo M

Aug 15, 2018

the clarity with which the teacher explains the topics makes the course engaging and very interesting!

por Bruna C

Dec 06, 2015

Lessons are very objective, while explanations are made clear by useful and easy to remember examples.

por Özgün K

Mar 03, 2020

It was a course where I got new information. The course was helped to me for my educational in Turkey

por Dominique D

Jul 12, 2018

This course was the most challenging and rewarding course that I have taken on the Coursera platform!

por Lori C

Sep 07, 2016

Wonderfully structures course, questions pose critical thinking that applies outside of coursework.

por Adam B

May 07, 2020

A great introduction to key political theories delivered in a relaxed and easy to follow manner.

por Benedito A d C

Nov 02, 2017

Excelent course. Clear questions and good didactic background. Good organanization of thoughts.

por Ruchira

Apr 30, 2020

The course is useful for beginners to clear doubts about the rudiments of political structure.

por Marjori P

Nov 27, 2018

I am utterly enjoying the content of this course. The best produced course in Coursera by far.

por Samuel G

Jan 13, 2017

I very much enjoyed this course. It gave me a fresh look at our current political situation.

por Mrs. A A K H

Nov 08, 2015

Comprehensive course encompassing multiple facets of historical and international relevance.

por Jovanny P G

Feb 14, 2020

Excelente dinámica la del profesor Ian!!! Bastante bien estructurado y ademas fundamentado.

por Steban N

Jul 21, 2017

Thanks Professor Shapiro, This World could be better if people read you. thank you so much.

por Vernon G

Sep 18, 2015

Very challenging particularly as the modules unfold but the lectures and readings are good.

por 柏佑 陳

Nov 25, 2015

This topic is overwhelmingly interested, and the professor also makes everything so clear.

por Andreas N

May 13, 2020

Very fruitful course for those who want to know about the role of philosophy in politics.

por Mario O

Feb 25, 2020

Excellente course, it helped me to refresh and gain new knowledge about the enlightenment

por Cynthia M

Sep 08, 2018

Helpful grounding in politics and philosophy, especially relevant in these chaotic times.

por Hadeel N

Feb 21, 2016

The Professor is absolutely magnificent. I am enjoying every minute of these discussions.

por Larry C M

May 26, 2020

Very interesting and engaging course. The modules were well constructed and organised.

por Arthur M

Jun 21, 2019

Enlightening course - this course allows me to appreciate the different value systems.

por Adriana A W

Nov 30, 2017

This is a very good course, I truly recommend it. Professor Shapiro is a great tutor.

por Mateo G B

May 05, 2020

Excelente curso, profesor muy didáctico a la hora de dar las clases. Mucha sabiduria