Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.8
1,623 classificações
328 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

NK

Dec 30, 2015

The Course (Moral Foundations of Politics ) is an important subject for Politicains and the students of Political science. Prof. Ian Shapiro's lectureres have good information and most helpful.

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por Minisha T

Jun 17, 2016

very good class

por Samuel K O

Aug 14, 2015

Excellent Course , Phenomenal exposure to Contemporary Debates and theories !

por Justin D

Nov 30, 2016

It's a great course. You'll wish that you could take a course from Shapiro on anyone of these traditions to go deeper.

por Tom T

Apr 10, 2017

I enjoyed this course. The information was presented in an interesting way, and the student dialogues reinforced the knowledge.

por Yaakov H

Nov 09, 2015

It's very well organized

por Mohamed H D S

Jun 16, 2018

one of the most compelling courses about politics that you can ever find online.

por daren a

Nov 27, 2015

It is a wonderful course and the professor is excellent.

I really learn too much and I hope to take another course about this topic

por Hana S

Oct 17, 2017

A fantastic, thorough and meticulously organised course. Shapiro perfectly covers numerous topics, explains them in sufficient detail and arranges them in a logical order. His dialogues with students are helpful in clarifying potential misunderstandings and incorrect interpretations. The graded exams are extremely easy, though.

por Zhaolin L

Apr 04, 2016

Absolutely brilliant course and Prof. Shapiro really helps me understand important aspects of politics, morality and influential ideologies from first principles. Thanks from Australia!

por Opara E C

Nov 23, 2015

very interesting and an interactive course

por Linus B

Jun 13, 2017

Very good

por Jan S

Feb 10, 2018

Great course,

por Conor D

Feb 21, 2016

Excellent course. The material was very interesting and I felt that the lecture format of Professor Shapiro discussing the material with two students allowed for a more comprehensive exploration of the ideas presented than a standard lecture might have. This course also managed to avoid a problem I often have with online courses in that the assessment questions weren't too easy with obvious answers, they actually required a level of understanding to answer correctly. I would highly recommend this course to anyone with an interest in politics, political philosophy or political science.

por Alexandra-Andreea P

Dec 01, 2015

It is a wonderful course not only from the point of view of the content, but most especially from that of the format. You feel like you are in the classroom and the questions posed both by the professor and the students really make you stop and think for yourself instead of just expecting someone to explain everything for you. Overall, I think it was one of the most enlightening courses I ever attended, both online and offline. Thank you very much for this opportunity!

por Marllon S

Oct 18, 2015

Excellent course provided by Yale University. It helped me to better understand the foundations of our modern society. I definitely recommend it.

por Raj S S

May 03, 2016

I am from a non liberal arts background, trying to learn more about philosophy and politics. I was a little apprehensive about taking this course because I feared I will not understand much but the way Professor Shapiro teaches, I have barely enjoyed studying the way I have enjoyed this course, the fact that I am finishing this course a month in advance is a testament to it.

Cheers!

por Marcelo A

Nov 11, 2015

extremamente enriquecedor !

por Himmat S

May 01, 2017

The course gives an excellent insight into the topic of a legitimate government.The examples which are discussed before every theory provide thought provoking dialogue and knowledge thus its equally entertaining and intriguing.

por Hans G

May 17, 2016

Excellent course for deepening the knowledge of politics. Maybe too much emphasis on the economic sides in a time of rising identitypolitics. Nevertheless I enjoyed the colleges of professor Shapiro very much. For me, working as a journalist and political columnist in Dutch politics, it was a surprise that mr. Shapiro gives preference to the anglosaxon two-partysystem above our system of proportional representation. The advantage of the latter is that so far we have no vetocracy here as Fukuyama described the deadlock in the American Congress - although the democratic system is undere pressure everywhere in the western word, no matter what system. The argument of professor Shapiro that a first past the pole-system filters out populist appeals is now contradicted by Trump's campaign. Thanks so much for the inspiring colleges, Hans Goslinga, The Hague, the Netherlands

por Andrea

Jun 22, 2017

Love this course. Getting through the first couple lectures gets you hooked on the sharp insights of Prof. Shapiro and takes you though the intricacies of politics, economics and justice. Very interesting. Very stimulating.

por Lyubomira V

Aug 22, 2016

I really enjoyed this course. Prof. Shapiro has done a great job - clear explanations with a lot of examples. The lecture format of the course with two students have made it very pleasant to follow the content, at least for me. It really reminded me of being back again to the actual student desk at university when we hadn't always had the answer to everything. I really like I was able to concentrate on each separate lecture.

por Florian L

Jul 27, 2016

Really excellent. Thank you for outstanding lectures :-)

por Roderick M

Apr 05, 2017

Great Course Thanks for the Education

por Konstantinos Z

Dec 11, 2017

I have studied dozens of courses from engineering and physical sciences to economics and finance. This was one of the most interesting and insig

por Peter L

Oct 08, 2016

Really good. Prof. Shapiro, thanks a lot for a very clear communication, very good structure and perfect lessions. I can really recommend this way of online courses and I´m very happy with having taken it.