Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.9
estrelas
3,795 classificações
766 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

SS
1 de Jul de 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS
16 de Set de 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de 760 Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por Jonathan K

1 de Mar de 2017

Love the interview style format. Never felt rushed, but never felt redundant. Perfect pacing and gained many new insights and a respect for the political process.

por Razia M

9 de Out de 2017

I learned a lot from this course - I am still discussing points raised within it. May return to do it again for a certificate as soon as I am financially able.

por Rita E

14 de Mar de 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable. Easy to follow. I especially liked the question and answer sessions with the two students. Thanks Dr. Shapiro, for an excellent course.

por Anurag D

2 de Out de 2020

Excellent course. Provides a good understanding of different enlightenment and post-enlightenment philosophy including the foundations of democratic thinking.

por Ana S

26 de Jul de 2020

Great explanations and constant reviewing of past theory, which facilitates the comprehension of the evolution of the different political philosophy systems.

por Oscar A G V

19 de Set de 2019

Súper completo, digerible y muy útil para quienes buscan consolidar conocimientos en teorías básicas o clásicas, de gran ayuda para entender conceptos clave.

por Barry M

17 de Nov de 2017

Engaging professor, who taught what could be seen as complex concepts in a digestible way. Very much enjoyed the course, and hoping that there will be more!

por Maryna S S

3 de Abr de 2017

Enjoyed course from day one to last quiz!!! Highly recommend taking this course to anybody interested in politics. It was extremely interesting and valuable.

por Francisco J L S

7 de Dez de 2016

Exigente, completo, novedoso para los Hispanoamericanos para entender la perspectiva Americana en oposición a la Británica de la que se concibe a sí misma.

por Shakthy P

20 de Jan de 2016

A real eye opener on the basics of political theories and the fundamentals of their real life applications. Engaging Q&A sessions and a top shelf lecturer.

por Paulo C A S

14 de Mar de 2017

A very good course, with an excellent presentation by Professor Shapiro, in a suitable and current theme. I was very accomplished in having it completed.

por Gianluca P

17 de Mai de 2020

great course..it refreshed me a lot of knowledge i've gathered during my master degree on international relations.. professor Shapiro is simply amazing

por Anita D

13 de Abr de 2020

A must learn! Prof. Shapiro really explained the materials comprehensively in an organized way with examples. Interesting and thought-provoking topics!

por Carlos E R B

10 de Jul de 2017

great course. It opened my mind and interests about politic theories and democracy. Great professor too, I don´t have any doubt left about the lessons.

por Toh P Q

18 de Ago de 2020

Interesting and exciting course that challenge points of view and explores major theorists of morality politics and economics over the past centuries.

por Valorie H

28 de Ago de 2016

This is a thinking man/woman course. Extremely interesting and enlightening. Professor Shapiro explains everything very concisely. I learned a lot!

por Emilia A V B

20 de Abr de 2020

I feel in love with the history and the culture politics have. I wasn't sure if I would like these amazing topics but they turned to be interesting.

por Ga-Eun K

9 de Ago de 2020

It well structured that you can understand the basic thoughts of political arguments and thoughts even you have not learnt about this topic before.

por Ricardo G C

25 de Mai de 2020

Excelente curso, es comprensible completamente, aunque no se dicte en mi lengua materna. El profesor Shapiro muy claro en sus conceptos y ejemplos.

por Gethro O

28 de Abr de 2020

Awesome. Great instructor, and the intimate setting of the instructor and the two students makes me feel like I'm learning with them by their side

por Deleted A

1 de Out de 2019

Very interisting course to understand the roadmap of politics. This course can be taken by any person, even if you are not interested in politics.

por Konstantinos Z

11 de Dez de 2017

I have studied dozens of courses from engineering and physical sciences to economics and finance. This was one of the most interesting and insig

por Marllon S

18 de Out de 2015

Excellent course provided by Yale University. It helped me to better understand the foundations of our modern society. I definitely recommend it.

por Sylvestre N

18 de Jan de 2020

This program frankly is great. It will allow me to understand how moral foundation of Politics works and will strengthen my politics knowledge.

por Karolina M d O

9 de Nov de 2020

um curso muito bom para quem tem interesse em política, saber a teoria e os clássicos é essencial para adentrar no ambiente de estudo político