Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.9
estrelas
4,639 classificações
917 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

SS
1 de Jul de 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS
16 de Set de 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 909 Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por Anshul P

17 de Out de 2016

The course gives good exposure to (mostly) English language political theories for the beginner level and also points to relevant texts for interested folks to pursue further. The interactive nature of the course (between prof. and two students) is nice and keeps the student engaged in the conversation.

por Camila A T L

21 de Abr de 2020

El curso me resultó sumamente completo y educativo. Me inspiró a seguir indagando acerca de ciertas problemáticas sociales actuales así como sobre el desarrollo de distintos autores allí nombrados. Muy recomendable. Me sirvió como introducción a mi segundo año de la Licenciatura en ciencias políticas.

por Kate N

29 de Mar de 2021

This is a fantastic course. I was engrossed throughout: challenged, and well supported by Professor Shapiro and his thoughtful students. I will be going back over the content regularly.

I particularly enjoyed the office hours at the end of some sessions. It's a generous, deeply thoughtful course.

por Zenne S L

27 de Out de 2020

Dr. Ian Shapiro was able to provide what is meant to be provided through his students. Throughout this course, I was able to grasp the fundamentals of moral politics. Deliberately and profoundly enough that the students and I, can comprehend. In essence, it was well-structured and organized.

por Bishwa N U

26 de Mai de 2020

I have taken around 10 courses on Coursera so far. But I found it to be the best of them all. Really appreciate the format of delivery. Participation of the 2 students made the lectures more engaging. I think all online courses should be made this way where you don't feel its one-way affair.

por Isha N

23 de Mai de 2021

This has been a fantastic journey, where I have learnt about the famous political thinkers and their philosophies. The Course has successfully encouraged me to make strong political arguments, while also analyzing the strength of others' arguments. This Course is unquestionably essential!

por Alimou D

15 de Jun de 2021

One of the best non academic course I have taken in my life. As a social scientist and an aspiring politician, I have acquired to requisite knowledge to inform public policy discourse within the political arena. The sterling professor was an inspiration for continued learning and growth.

por Ossom-Kabu J T

30 de Mar de 2021

Prof is a genius. i really enjoyed his class and his lectures. The two students were also very good. they asked very salient questions which produced explanations that made me understand and appreciate the course more. I will definitely recommend this course to anyone interested.

por Rebecca M

4 de Jul de 2020

not at all what i expected, but was AWESOME , i now have realized that there is so much i thought i knew about well marx and others was not complete at all and in some ways wrong, I will be continuing my studies of this all on my own, also found out i have a philosophical mind

por Danielle B

16 de Set de 2017

I really liked the course and felt that Professor Shapiro was very professional and also personal while explaining our coursework. I would recommend this class to anyone looking to learn more in depth politics, as well as some history into how politics came to be as they are now.

por Patrick W

14 de Jun de 2017

I loved this course. It was highly interesting, thorough, and relevant. Prof Shapiro takes abstruse philosophical content and boils it down to the bare bones. Also, the method of including the two students in the lectures made the online process more organic. Highly recommended!

por Kiran L

19 de Ago de 2019

Professor is nuanced and pays attention to all streams. Quizzes are not overly simple and test the understanding. I have immensely benefited from this course as it has provided me introduction to important readings about democracy and philosophies underlying government actions.

por Franco A M

21 de Set de 2017

very good overall view and the specific information with no to much of talking the argue the fundamentals of theories, in my perspective the only thing was missing was a view of morality of Aristotle and i think Thomas Aquinas is brightest figure to really argue about morality.

por Josh R

6 de Set de 2017

This is a mind opening course. Professor Shapiro explains the concepts clearly and simply. I've never taken a philosophy course or knew much about the thinkers talked about in this course, but he did a great job of giving me a primer to the minds that shaped our modern society.

por mae b b

23 de Jul de 2020

The setup of having a professor and some students is very helpful and really encourages learning. It makes me feel that I am in a real classroom. Professor Shapiro explained all the concepts well, and even a student with no background in political science can understand fully.

por Tang L

10 de Set de 2019

I was looking to learn more about international relations, before stumbling into this course. I think this course serves as a good foundation of moral philosophy and political science. I really like the discussion format of the videos as well, instead of just a lecture series.

por Jose A M B

30 de Ago de 2020

This course was an enlightening and delightful experience. Professor Shapiro explained the topics superbly and clearly, while the students provided a genuine feel to the course. I would definitely recommend this course to others as it has definitely been a wonderful journey.

por Hrishikesh V K

20 de Mai de 2020

Its was excelent learning experience and professor is very knowledgeable and very excellent in teaching.

Also whole course desgin is so excellent with course content and interactive learning by involving two students in video.

I am very much satisfied and enjoyed lots.

Thanks

por Natalia N

9 de Out de 2020

Professor Shapiro is an engaging and well-versed individual, and I enjoyed this course very much. He helps students deepen their understanding of current politics through analysing and explaining the Enlightenment theories, and he links them to current political issues.

por Syeda S

29 de Nov de 2018

This course was no doubt a great and full of knowledge course.Teaching method and especially the engaging method of professor Shiparo wad ausome.Before study of this course i had nothing knowledge about world politics especially interm of throries and their application.

por Azara E N

17 de Nov de 2016

A fascinating and well taught course... Would recommend it to my friends. The course has helped in further expanding my sociopolitical horizon and my circle of experiences and references. I was able to discover some missing links that were previously puzzling to me.

por Joseph P W

7 de Nov de 2019

This course was as engaging as it was informative. The format of the lectures made them easy to understand, and easy to follow. As I neared the end of the course, it was much like nearing the end of a good book. I was excited to finish, but I didn't want it to end.

por Dr J N c

8 de Out de 2019

This course is so powerful. I have learnt a lot of things to help in my political career as political philosopher.

I encourage every citizen to take this course so that we can have a good knowledge on politics and how these politicians behave when they are in power.

por Carlos A F

9 de Jan de 2017

Great course. Professor Shapiro's ability to digest philosophical arguments to then synthesize them in easier to comprehend terms is exceptional. I am extremely please with the content and the course dynamics that invites to develop a critical thinking perspective.

por Fabiana C

11 de Ago de 2019

What an amazing course: engaging, cohesive, well-structured and impeccably delivered by Professor Shapiro. The format of the course, in which Professor Shapiro interacts with two students, is superb. I learned, loved and highly recommend taking this course. Bravo!