Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.8
1,627 classificações
328 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

NK

Dec 30, 2015

The Course (Moral Foundations of Politics ) is an important subject for Politicains and the students of Political science. Prof. Ian Shapiro's lectureres have good information and most helpful.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por Yochai W

Aug 11, 2017

Fantastic course. I felt I needed some basic introduction to political thinking, and this course is exactly what I needed.

por Dilshod M

Feb 04, 2016

Thank you very much

por Barry M

Nov 17, 2017

Engaging professor, who taught what could be seen as complex concepts in a digestible way. Very much enjoyed the course, and hoping that there will be more!

por caterina c

Nov 24, 2016

This is the course that helped me realise what it is that I am actually interested in, A brilliant overview of some of the most relevant discussions in the field. I did it during a busy time in high school but enjoyed every minute of it.

por 柏佑 陳

Nov 25, 2015

This topic is overwhelmingly interested, and the professor also makes everything so clear.

por Pablo B S

Oct 24, 2015

Excellent!

por Ronnie P

Jan 24, 2016

Very interesting, clearly presented, a definite eye opener.

por Qianhui S

Mar 06, 2016

My favourite course ever!

por Judith H

Nov 20, 2015

Almost without exception, the best courses of my life have been those that were built by an extremely knowledgeable professor bringing in diverse and original sources of material and organizing them in a unique way. This is one of those courses.

por Elena

May 29, 2017

This was a very interesting deep course. Thank you!

por Julien H J

Dec 30, 2015

Great dialogue to learn.

por James N

Feb 10, 2016

This course has been a great development in my law and human rights carreer

por Wanqing P

Jan 14, 2016

The course is really well-explained with a very clear logical structure and a lot of exemples. In fact, it starts with a real case - the Eichmann Case which is morally complicated. During the course, the professor raised many questions in order to guide the two students towards the established conclusion as well as who are watching and listening to him in front of their screen, so that we have a sort of interaction. So that's all these reasons mentioned earlier that explains my recommandation. Just take it and let's see how !

por Martijn S

Nov 02, 2016

excellent course, very high educational value and insight. Would definitly recommend it to others

-Martijn Spruijt

por Cristiano Z

May 30, 2016

Its been incredibly interesting!

por najma a h

Jan 25, 2017

perfect the

por Samuel G

Jan 13, 2017

I very much enjoyed this course. It gave me a fresh look at our current political situation.

por Jorge M C

Jun 01, 2017

Extraordinario curso, para quienes estén interesados en una guía para profundizar en el mundo de la filosofía política.

por Alexandr N

Mar 11, 2016

This course is really important to me because it is the first one I'm taking. So, the choice was just right as it made me literally addicted to Coursera. Thank a lot for this course to Coursera and Yale University! Prof. Shapiro is a great lecturer. Thumbs up

por NSENGIMANA S F

Feb 20, 2016

Great ideas

por Alan E

Aug 06, 2016

Ian Shapiro is a true master of the subject. The format of this course sets a high standard for Coursera.

por N B

Jan 07, 2017

Great course, strongly recommend to you guys to take

por 林京芮

Oct 25, 2017

Great! I'd cherish this experience for my whole life and apply the viewpoints of it to analyze current political problems

por Nadim A C

Aug 30, 2016

Excellent

por MARIA A M O

Mar 30, 2017

The vision of Enlightenment that Professor Shapiro offers is interesting to understand why Democracy comes in waves and the dynamics between Capitalism and Socialism