Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.9
estrelas
4,125 classificações
816 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

SS
1 de Jul de 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS
16 de Set de 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 809 Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por Sachin K

5 de Out de 2018

Good for people who want to under stand about various theory around human rights since the time we were born. Are we really independent? The only independence with us is our life. We cannot control our birth but death is always in our hand. Explore many theories about human independence, french revolution, marxism, democracy, etc.

por Hana S

17 de Out de 2017

A fantastic, thorough and meticulously organised course. Shapiro perfectly covers numerous topics, explains them in sufficient detail and arranges them in a logical order. His dialogues with students are helpful in clarifying potential misunderstandings and incorrect interpretations. The graded exams are extremely easy, though.

por Yuraima R R

7 de Jun de 2020

EL PROFESOR ES EXTRAORDINARIO, ADMIRACIÓN CONOCE BIEN LOS DISTINTOS PENSADORES DE LA POLÍTICA, A PESAR DE SER UN CURSO, ES UNA HERRAMIENTA IMPORTANTE PARA SABER QUE DEBEMOS COMO PROFESIONALES EN EL AREA CONOCER SOBRE ESTOS FILÓSOFOS PARA TENER UNA MEJOR COMPRESIÓN DE POR QUÉ LOS HECHOS SE SUSCITAN DE UNA MANERA Y NO DE OTRA

por Evgeny K

5 de Fev de 2017

a loooot of readings. it's a very reep class, if you have time and desire to read all stuff. Prof. Shapiro is extremely knowledgeable, however, sometimes he is too polite (and boring as well) =). Don't try to watch it at night. Last several weeks require a lot of focused attention. Finally, my grade is 8.5 out of 10.

por Julia L

22 de Jan de 2017

This is one of the best MOOC courses I have attained. The interactions between the students and the professor are interesting to follow. The two students have asked a number of questions which I have thought about, while listening to the lectures. I like the fact that the professor commented the students' reflections.

por Ambika G

11 de Jun de 2020

I understood a number of possibly complicated concepts and theories with relative ease with the help of the facilitator's manner of structuring and teaching this course. The constant drawing of parallels between contemporary politics and political theories helped me understand current issues from fresh perspectives.

por Gretta C

5 de Out de 2020

It was a truly enlightening course, with very interesting analogies to simplify theoretical concepts. It was sprinkled with a few graphs to explain the relation with political-economic ideas. Recollection of problems and examples at various points in the course aided better understanding and long-term retention.

por Paulo E G d S

4 de Abr de 2019

O curso é muito abrangente, bem estruturado, elaborado e aplicado. A plataforma é pratica, simples e objetiva. O professor domina o assunto e incrementa as explicações com uma didática bastante focada no conteúdo e na finalidade de entendimento. Também trouxe um referencial teórico bastante amplo e pertinente.

por SUBASHAN A V

17 de Mai de 2020

The course was delivered in such an engaging and stimulating way for beginners, especially through the style of delivery which was based on a discussion between Ian Shapiro and 2 students. Have yet to encounter another course on Coursera that will match the vigour and standard set by Ian Shapiro and the team.

por Anshul P

17 de Out de 2016

The course gives good exposure to (mostly) English language political theories for the beginner level and also points to relevant texts for interested folks to pursue further. The interactive nature of the course (between prof. and two students) is nice and keeps the student engaged in the conversation.

por Camila A T L

21 de Abr de 2020

El curso me resultó sumamente completo y educativo. Me inspiró a seguir indagando acerca de ciertas problemáticas sociales actuales así como sobre el desarrollo de distintos autores allí nombrados. Muy recomendable. Me sirvió como introducción a mi segundo año de la Licenciatura en ciencias políticas.

por Zenne S L

27 de Out de 2020

Dr. Ian Shapiro was able to provide what is meant to be provided through his students. Throughout this course, I was able to grasp the fundamentals of moral politics. Deliberately and profoundly enough that the students and I, can comprehend. In essence, it was well-structured and organized.

por Bishwa N U

26 de Mai de 2020

I have taken around 10 courses on Coursera so far. But I found it to be the best of them all. Really appreciate the format of delivery. Participation of the 2 students made the lectures more engaging. I think all online courses should be made this way where you don't feel its one-way affair.

por Rebecca M

4 de Jul de 2020

not at all what i expected, but was AWESOME , i now have realized that there is so much i thought i knew about well marx and others was not complete at all and in some ways wrong, I will be continuing my studies of this all on my own, also found out i have a philosophical mind

por Danielle B

16 de Set de 2017

I really liked the course and felt that Professor Shapiro was very professional and also personal while explaining our coursework. I would recommend this class to anyone looking to learn more in depth politics, as well as some history into how politics came to be as they are now.

por Patrick W

14 de Jun de 2017

I loved this course. It was highly interesting, thorough, and relevant. Prof Shapiro takes abstruse philosophical content and boils it down to the bare bones. Also, the method of including the two students in the lectures made the online process more organic. Highly recommended!

por Kiran L

19 de Ago de 2019

Professor is nuanced and pays attention to all streams. Quizzes are not overly simple and test the understanding. I have immensely benefited from this course as it has provided me introduction to important readings about democracy and philosophies underlying government actions.

por Franco A M

21 de Set de 2017

very good overall view and the specific information with no to much of talking the argue the fundamentals of theories, in my perspective the only thing was missing was a view of morality of Aristotle and i think Thomas Aquinas is brightest figure to really argue about morality.

por Josh R

6 de Set de 2017

This is a mind opening course. Professor Shapiro explains the concepts clearly and simply. I've never taken a philosophy course or knew much about the thinkers talked about in this course, but he did a great job of giving me a primer to the minds that shaped our modern society.

por mae b b

23 de Jul de 2020

The setup of having a professor and some students is very helpful and really encourages learning. It makes me feel that I am in a real classroom. Professor Shapiro explained all the concepts well, and even a student with no background in political science can understand fully.

por Tang L

10 de Set de 2019

I was looking to learn more about international relations, before stumbling into this course. I think this course serves as a good foundation of moral philosophy and political science. I really like the discussion format of the videos as well, instead of just a lecture series.

por Jose A M B

30 de Ago de 2020

This course was an enlightening and delightful experience. Professor Shapiro explained the topics superbly and clearly, while the students provided a genuine feel to the course. I would definitely recommend this course to others as it has definitely been a wonderful journey.

por Hrishikesh V K

20 de Mai de 2020

Its was excelent learning experience and professor is very knowledgeable and very excellent in teaching.

Also whole course desgin is so excellent with course content and interactive learning by involving two students in video.

I am very much satisfied and enjoyed lots.

Thanks

por Natalia N

9 de Out de 2020

Professor Shapiro is an engaging and well-versed individual, and I enjoyed this course very much. He helps students deepen their understanding of current politics through analysing and explaining the Enlightenment theories, and he links them to current political issues.