Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.9
estrelas
4,639 classificações
917 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

SS
1 de Jul de 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS
16 de Set de 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 909 Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por Terry B

23 de Mar de 2017

A fantastic course. Truly interesting and disseminated in such a novel and productive way. I've never actually ever studied political theory before and thus was a complete novice, but the course took you through everything with simple, but deep, lessons in a conversational style that made it less like lectures and more like a chat with friends.

por ERNESTO R

3 de Jul de 2020

Estoy muy conforme con el curso del Profesor Shapiro pues aporta a una mayor y mejor comprensión de la política a la luz de las ideas de pensadores notables, incluido el mismo, y de excelentes ejemplos. El curso es accesible y Shapiro, además de un eminente politólogo, es un gran guía educativo, gracias sus conocimientos y a sus perspectivas.

por Joanna G

13 de Dez de 2020

The best course I could have ever taken! I loved the pace, the reminders, patience it took for me to completed! I had a bad couple of months and this course helped me by distracting my mind. I love the interaction between Professor Shapiro and the students. I cannot believe that I took a Yale course, I am so proud and cannot wait to continue!

por Tanner H

14 de Mai de 2020

I loved the course. Professor Shapiro was great. The readings were quite challenging, which is what I wanted. I especially liked the dialogue nature of the course with the two students. As Professor Shapiro said in one of the "Office Hour" sessions, it makes the content come across much more naturally than just simply lecturing into a camera.

por Camilo A G M

9 de Jun de 2020

I loved it, and I have the feeling that I learned a lot. I think though that if you are a person who does not enjoy talking about theories and several different authors it might not be for you. Otherwise, I think it would be a really great journey. The topics about The Social Contract, Marxism and Democracy were the ones I enjoyed te most.

por Marcelo K T

19 de Fev de 2021

As explicações e a didática do professor Shapiro são sensacionais, permitir o acesso ao conhecimento através dessa plataforma é digno de um prêmio nobel, o mundo precisa disso, os países em desenvolvimento necessitam desse apoio, criar a cultura do conhecimento e do questionamento fará com que tenhamos uma sociedade mais justa e evoluída.

por Huang E

26 de Set de 2020

It is a very nice course. I am interested in politics and I like the course very much.

Although I don't agree with Professor on some topics discussed in the course, I am really thankful to him to give me such an opportunity to broaden my eyesight and bring me a lot of deep thoughts.

Really nice course, really worth the time I spend on it.

por Pamela C

18 de Jun de 2017

Very informative course and history. I did learn much about the moral foundations of politics and have more understanding about how these foundations came to be. I did like the interaction between the Sharpiro and the students and the questions and answers they asked and interaction, helped me to understand areas I didn't relate too.

por Louis S

10 de Jul de 2019

I found this course very interesting and I thought that Dr Shapiro's lectures were very engaging. I feel that my understanding of politics past and present has been deepened. My only criticism might be that the course content goes so deep into different names and details that I would sometimes forget my place in the overall course.

por Medha S

10 de Ago de 2018

Dr. Shapiro offers a bright clarity and a sobering view of the world, and its conundrums. I'm well into Week 2 so far, but going through the readings, the arrangement and structure of texts, the promise of enlarging our philosophical knowledge, has brought an intensity and energy into this course, and is thrilling to say the least.

por Sachin K

5 de Out de 2018

Good for people who want to under stand about various theory around human rights since the time we were born. Are we really independent? The only independence with us is our life. We cannot control our birth but death is always in our hand. Explore many theories about human independence, french revolution, marxism, democracy, etc.

por Quanchai K

25 de Mai de 2021

It is a very good political philosophy course I have never attended before. The lecture is very much engaging and lively. The course contents are rigorous and comprehensive. It is very appropriate for those who are new to political philosophy or political theory, and even for those who have previously studied this subject area.

por Hana S

17 de Out de 2017

A fantastic, thorough and meticulously organised course. Shapiro perfectly covers numerous topics, explains them in sufficient detail and arranges them in a logical order. His dialogues with students are helpful in clarifying potential misunderstandings and incorrect interpretations. The graded exams are extremely easy, though.

por Sujay B

23 de Fev de 2021

The course had a deep insight into various political theories from a practical point of view. The relevance that they have in the present times and how eventually some of them are destined to fail while some with necessary adjustments can make nations prosperous. A perfect blend of Polity, Economics, Law and Social Sciences.

por Yuraima R R

7 de Jun de 2020

EL PROFESOR ES EXTRAORDINARIO, ADMIRACIÓN CONOCE BIEN LOS DISTINTOS PENSADORES DE LA POLÍTICA, A PESAR DE SER UN CURSO, ES UNA HERRAMIENTA IMPORTANTE PARA SABER QUE DEBEMOS COMO PROFESIONALES EN EL AREA CONOCER SOBRE ESTOS FILÓSOFOS PARA TENER UNA MEJOR COMPRESIÓN DE POR QUÉ LOS HECHOS SE SUSCITAN DE UNA MANERA Y NO DE OTRA

por Evgeny K

5 de Fev de 2017

a loooot of readings. it's a very reep class, if you have time and desire to read all stuff. Prof. Shapiro is extremely knowledgeable, however, sometimes he is too polite (and boring as well) =). Don't try to watch it at night. Last several weeks require a lot of focused attention. Finally, my grade is 8.5 out of 10.

por Julia L

22 de Jan de 2017

This is one of the best MOOC courses I have attained. The interactions between the students and the professor are interesting to follow. The two students have asked a number of questions which I have thought about, while listening to the lectures. I like the fact that the professor commented the students' reflections.

por Ambika G

11 de Jun de 2020

I understood a number of possibly complicated concepts and theories with relative ease with the help of the facilitator's manner of structuring and teaching this course. The constant drawing of parallels between contemporary politics and political theories helped me understand current issues from fresh perspectives.

por Diane P

1 de Jul de 2021

This is a very, very engaging course. Dr. Shapiro presents the material in a way that is conducive to reflection about the various political ideas and concepts. The content is most helpful in expanding one's view about political systems and the role of government in the world today. Highly recommend this course.

por Gretta C

5 de Out de 2020

It was a truly enlightening course, with very interesting analogies to simplify theoretical concepts. It was sprinkled with a few graphs to explain the relation with political-economic ideas. Recollection of problems and examples at various points in the course aided better understanding and long-term retention.

por Despina A

21 de Fev de 2021

Having successfully completed the course I can confidently express my content for the way it was structured and presented by professor Ian Shapiro, and his highly engaging lectures as well as the very enlightening discussions of various political theories. I highly recommend it to anyone interested in politics.

por mdabdul a

25 de Jul de 2021

Absolutely fantastic course. Being an individual interested to learn moral foundation of politics without having any prior knowledge and probable future utility, completed the course and have assimilated quite a good elementary knowledge on the subject. thanks everyone involved. keep up the good work. Regards.

por Paulo E G d S

4 de Abr de 2019

O curso é muito abrangente, bem estruturado, elaborado e aplicado. A plataforma é pratica, simples e objetiva. O professor domina o assunto e incrementa as explicações com uma didática bastante focada no conteúdo e na finalidade de entendimento. Também trouxe um referencial teórico bastante amplo e pertinente.

por SUBASHAN A V

17 de Mai de 2020

The course was delivered in such an engaging and stimulating way for beginners, especially through the style of delivery which was based on a discussion between Ian Shapiro and 2 students. Have yet to encounter another course on Coursera that will match the vigour and standard set by Ian Shapiro and the team.