Chevron Left
Voltar para Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Stanford Introduction to Food and Health da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.7
estrelas
15,008 classificações
4,481 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Melhores avaliações

VI

May 11, 2020

It was an interesting and informative, at a basis level, course. The information is easy to understand and the new gained knowledges tend to remain in your memory, due to short and interactive videos.

CS

Aug 27, 2019

Very informative and useful. I'm from India and I look forward to study more about nutritional values of different foods. This course gave me a head-start and information to pursue my goal. Thank You!

Filtrar por:

226 — 250 de 4,441 Avaliações para o Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

por Adriana M

Dec 20, 2016

Very interesting course! ;)

I sincerely recommend it to everyone, who would like to extend the knowledge about healthy eating and how to make wise changes and choices regards to diet. Everything was explained in very simple way and the lecturer has a perfect pronunciation (might be important for non-native speakers, as I am).

por Vivien T C Y

Jun 13, 2017

The course material is presented in an easy-to-understand and straightforward manner, which contributes to a smooth learning experience. The course material was also well-selected in the sense that it contained - in my opinion - some of the most practical suggestions and information about basic nutrition. Highly recommended!

por Alyson L P

May 17, 2020

This was such an interesting and thoughtful course! I really enjoyed how Dr. Mara Adam made the course material so accessible. Also, her conversations with Michael Pollan were incredibly insightful and supportive of the course content. This course has inspired me to continue my self study on food, nutrition, and health.

por Ximena A P L

Jun 11, 2019

It is an amazing course. You learn a lot of the basics important things to have a good guide in how to eat healthier. It also content the explication of "why" it is like that. It is a very undernstandable course and very clear. After this course I just want to continue learning about nutrition. Fascinating and adictive.

por shalaw r q

Sep 20, 2017

I found the course informative and very helpful to anyone beginning to take serious steps in understanding the relation between the food we eat and our health. I have studied nutrition as a subject before, and this was a quick and efficient revision of the basics.

I would like to thank all who helped prepare this course.

por Cleudiane P d A

Jul 01, 2020

Curso extremamente interessante. Eu sinto que o material e os vídeos foram muito fáceis de absorver e entender. Eu certamente recomendaria isso a qualquer pessoa interessada em comida e como isso afeta nossa saúde. Apesar de esperar algumas abordagens mais profundas, o curso é ideal para quem está iniciando nesta área.

por AIDE E P

May 08, 2020

The course was very informative, very explicit explaining different vocabulary. I love the way Doctor Pollan talks about how to to healthy can be fun, and also how to cook at home can help us to congregate the family and spend less money. I will never forget to start shopping form the Perimeter area of the supermarket!

por Aaron H

Jan 25, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, each lesson wasn't to time consuming, but was informative and easy to learn from. I will definitely walk away from this class feeling as though I have learned something, and hope to spread this information with friends and family that are striving to improve their diets and overall health.

por Larisa C

Aug 28, 2017

Прекрасный, очень полезный и познавательный курс. Он просто насыщен информацией, поданой в легкой для ознакомления форме. Отдельные слова благодарности ведущей его Мае Адам. Умная, красивая, современная женщина, успевающая и делать карьеру, и быть прекрасной матерью, как никто подходит для ведения этого курса. Спасибо!

por Sara N

Jun 08, 2020

This was a practical, well-balanced approach to healthy food. The course is easy to work into even a busy schedule and the resources are ones I'll be able to turn to and share with loved ones who are looking to start making better choices when it comes to nutrition. If you're curious about this course, just go for it.

por Luisa M

May 05, 2020

The food we eat gives our bodies the "information" and materials they need to function properly. If we don't get the right information, our metabolic processes suffer and our health declines. With this course I've gain a new set of skill that will equip me to improve the general knowledge of creating healthy habits.

por Brandi B

Mar 31, 2020

Very easily digestible (no pun intended) material. It is a great overview of a nutrition class for everyday people. I was also able to finish the course in less than two hours. I would recommend this course to anyone who is looking to change their lifestyle around eating habits but not wanting to join into a fad diet.

por Stephanie L L

Aug 01, 2018

This is a great course for people who want to learn more about nutrition and food preparations. I allowed me to add to my knowledge and skills in building better, healthier meals, smart shopping, and more in depth looks at nutrients. I highly recommend participating even if you have some experience with healthy foods.

por Svetlana L

Aug 30, 2019

It seems you know all recommendation how to eat and what to eat but for some reason you don't follow it. This course explains it in a way it changes your mind and attitude to food so you start changing your habits. Now, I cook almost every day and do enjoy home food more than lunch boxes I bough before from catering.

por Nick R

Jun 12, 2018

Very straightforward and helpful. Designed with practical simplicity in lieu of academic rigor or depth. This course does not push the envelope or engage with the front lines of contemporary nutritional philosophies. Rather, it is a helpful guide to nutritional basics and welcome reminder on everyday healthy eating.

por Bharatee G

Jun 17, 2016

This course really helped me to be aware of packaged foods which are highly processed,thus less nutritious contributing to obesity and diabetics.It was very detailed which also put a lot of emphasis about the need to be health conscious.I really appreciate it and became more knowledgeable about food.Thank you a lot.

por Mayu Y

Apr 25, 2020

The courses were easy to follow and the videos were very logical, straightforward, and understandable, even for a high school student. Although I expected the content to be very challenging (since it's from a prestigious university), I was able to complete it with any stress. Thank you so much for this opportunity.

por Olga V

Jul 31, 2019

A really good evidence-based course for general population as well as for nutritionists and other healthcare professionals. In simple words it gives the best info there is about food and food behaviour.

I would recommend to everyone. Thanks a lot, you have inspired many students to open their own nutrition schools!

por Pattamadai S

Apr 02, 2017

This was an excellent course; My sincere thanks to the instructors - Maya Adam and Michael Pollan who made the course so insightful, interesting and easy to understand / apply in our daily lives. I will surely think about food and cooking very differently and positively after this course. Thank you very very much!!

por Amanda M L

Jul 01, 2019

While focusing on bettering my health and nutrition these last few months I have learned a lot, this course helped to capitalize on some of those lessons. From this specific course I took away a few insightful ways to manage what my family eats, how we eat, when we eat and ways to keep enjoying the foods we love.

por dboskma

Nov 05, 2016

This has been quite an interesting course for me. I have had an interest in health and nutrition for quite some years. This was for me basically a refresher. This course was really good for that as it was complete and compact. All the info needed to learn in 4 lessons that were easy to follow. Highly recommended.

por Juliana G L

Jan 18, 2019

Un curso espectacular, lleno de herramientas, tips y explicaciones alrededor del tema de la nutrición y la salud que resultan muy fáciles y rápidas de entender.

Además proporciona un conocimiento que puede ser aplicado a la vida diaria, ayudando a mejorar la toma de decisiones al momento de alimentarse y mercar.

por Lori S

May 11, 2020

Very informative course on healthy eating! A variety of formats used in the teaching, including lectures, interviews, workshops, makes it easy and fun to follow. The Content is Practical and useful. I enjoyed it very much. Highly recommended for anyone who is interested in establishing healthy eating habits.

por Luann T

Feb 10, 2019

This course is a very basic course on nutrients and nutrition, with the added bonus of a number of easy to fix recipes and guidelines on how to shop in a grocery store. It is an overview only, but one that provides easy to understand explanations. I would recommend this to anyone starting out in this subject.

por Redfella

Jan 29, 2019

Really good presentation dealing with our attitude towards food. Provides a very digestible overview of the science and practical tips on shopping, preparation and making good food choices. Helps to destroy myths about food that are often used as excuses for not taking responsibility for one's choices. In sh